A high of 85 degrees in Dallas today

18 Mar

I got no clue what it’s gonna do where the rest of you live, but I hope it’s decent.
As for me, I’m breaking out my shorts for the summer.

Bonus photo of me on the computer conversing in a chat room.

Have a great day and I hope ya get laid.

95 Responses to “A high of 85 degrees in Dallas today”

  1. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    Carin, that sucks that you won’t get anything for his ride.
    I’ve calmed down a little. Did you know they don’t put your license plate number on your insurance verification card here anymore? I had to go pull the last vehicle registration renewal to get it for the police report last night.
    Dick, if you see a 2002 F-250, white, with a Greenlee box in the back driving in Irving, call me.

  2. roamingfirehydrant March 18, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    **whispers “it’s Dick in the flannel shirt”

  3. Car in March 18, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    We’ve got to go pull the license plat from our car. We should have done it yesterday.

  4. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    How the hell did I know this would be a post from dick? Was it the mention of Dallas? Or the implied contempt of cold weather? Or, just maybe, was it the in-your-face pic of the tan dude in a banana hammock?

    Hmmmmmm……

  5. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    You know, I kind of like Haley Barbour.

    And you know what? I kind of don’t like Haley Barbour.

    You know what I don’t like more than I kind-of-don’t-like Haley Barbor?

    Beltway-itis.

    Bill Kristol showed some plumage recently regarding Barbour. Barbour’s son Sterling responded, and I thought he did a pretty nice job.

    http://tinyurl.com/6c9ph25

  6. roamingfirehydrant March 18, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Hi Jazz, I usually don’t get to chat with you. I’m home, waiting for the A/C guy to show up. (Kids are home, so don’t start with the “bow chicka bow wow”.)

  7. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Hi, Romy! I’m working on a project. I’ll be in and out. No, we don’t chat often, but I love your comments, insight, and humor. I can’t think of a time I’ve ever been left with a poor impression from one of your comments! I don’t share your appreciation of guys, but I can overlook that. 🙂

    I was telling someone about your Alabama winter experience recently. He was an Louisiana boy I was talking to. Had some funny comments, and I was sure you’d commiserate.

  8. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Chevy Volt – The Car From Atlas Shrugged 25 Federal Agents Write Letter Outlining Scandals http://tinyurl.com/6zrcta6

  9. roamingfirehydrant March 18, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    **bouquet of flowers and a Thermos of hot coffee to Jazz for the nice compliments.

    Just saw one of my contractors on Fox News. A little company in FL is sending radiation suits to Japan. Good for them!

    http://tinyurl.com/458zzcb

  10. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Good morning, y’all.

    Kids are wanting to go to the zoo today. Momma is letting them sleep in to preserve her sanity.

  11. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    I thought you ran a zoo at home, Aggie. Why the field trip? 😛

  12. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Jazz, I think that’s the wrong link for the Chevy Volt 🙂

  13. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    I thought you ran a zoo at home, Aggie.

    So I can hone better parenting skilz 😉

  14. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    **bouquet of flowers and a Thermos of hot coffee to Jazz for the nice compliments.

    I gotta find me a sweet Catholic mothering-type chick like Romy, who’s a hottie hispanic like Aggie, with some commons sense like TiFW, cake skills like beasn, an ass and motivation to work off those elbows (lbs) like Carin, and PA’s beauty and compassion.

    /All these lovely ladies are pulchritudinous, BTW. I just picked the obvious traits that fit this particular narrative. 🙂

  15. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Chevy Volt – The Car From Atlas Shrugged, Take Deux

    http://tinyurl.com/45oeobq

    Go back and check the prior link, too, Aggie. I renamed it. It’s still a good link.

  16. Car in March 18, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    GRRR. But but but, it’s the CAR OF THE YEAR!!!!!!

    We are living in dangerous times. Propaganda everywhere.

  17. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Sorry I noticed your ass, Carin. 😉

  18. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I did, Jazz. Great links 😉

    The Chevy Volt is indeed the new Edsel. As for the ATF, they should be totally disbanded.

  19. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Jeff Sessions beats the hell out of Heather Higginbottom, nominee for Deputy Director of OMB.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muXovEBakag

  20. Sox March 18, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    JUST WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?? KILL A CAR WEEK??/ Sox Jr.TOTALED my Jag XK8. The car is in better shape than he will be when I get home from Louisiana. Gotta run…

  21. Car in March 18, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Just in case people didn’t read to the second page – this little nugget:

    Consequently, and soon after his appointment, Immelt announced that GE will buy 50,000 Volts in the next two years, or half the total produced. Assuming the corporation qualifies for the same tax credit, we (you and me) just shelled out $375,000,000 to a company to buy cars that no one else wants so that GM will not tank and produce even more cars that no one wants. And this guy is the chair of Obama’s Economic Advisory Board?

    Sorry, but this was just too important to not quote here.

  22. Car in March 18, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Bummer. Sorry Sox.

    Bad week for driving/cars around here.

  23. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I don’t particularly like Ann Althouse, but she’s got an interesting video here. She interviews a college student about the Wisconsin Supreme Court election here, and Althouse’s patience and restraint is something to behold. She did a very nice job. And the student is stupid, stupid, stupid – the cognitive dissonance makes one wish for deafness.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVcFvLcftM8

  24. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Damn, Sox! You other UPers better watch your cars and drivers! Good to see you, Sox. Come back when you can.

    Jazz, it will be fun watching the other guys try to come off as smooth as you now 🙂 (and good links).

    Roamy, I hope you get to rest a few days before going back to work.

    Aggie, daughter and SIL are taking grandkids to botanical gardens today. They’ve done something local everyday this week. Took them to that new Mars cartoon movie yesterday; GKs loved it.

    Where the hell are the rest of the hot mens?

  25. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    That Rebecca Brown “Friday” song is hilarious. It’s awful and fun. Gosh, it was good – rough, but good – to be her age. I hope she enjoys her fame and can dismiss the awful attacks on her – youngsters aren’t exactly the best equipped to deal with the naked, cruel criticism of the intarwebs.

  26. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Karen, I read all of it. Damn good thing the Government’s not in the business of running businesses. /S

  27. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    And on the other article, why the hell do we pay to staff the Whistleblowers act when we don’t enforce it??

  28. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    This is how pollsters get the answers they want!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3gMcZic1d4U

  29. roamingfirehydrant March 18, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Glad I made it home in one piece, after all the driving this past week.

  30. clintbird March 18, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Obama voters in action:

    http://is.gd/bIwnB4

  31. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Sox, you better thank Sox Jr. for trashing that car. You’re free to get a sweet fucking XJ-12 now. The kid done gave you a beautiful gift, and all you can do is pitch a fit? 🙂

  32. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Jazz, it will be fun watching the other guys try to come off as smooth as you now

    I’m smooth like chocolate chip cookie batter. 🙂

  33. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Jazz, my daughter was wondering who she was, and I told her about the video. Her response to the cruelty was thus:

    “Holy cow, I had no idea people could display envy so well.”

    Sorry to hear about your car, Sox!! *runs fingers through Sox’s fur* (SYWM!!)

    Carin that was the money shot of that article.

    PattyAnn, hope you are feeling a wee bit better today!

    Roamy is off to deal with the A/C by now….

  34. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    I have few uses for Megan Fox, but I have to say, this pic speaks to me. She has gorgeous curves. The girl is put together with panache. Too bad that head is so empty.

    http://tinyurl.com/5sas3u4

  35. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Meeting time.

  36. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Maybe it’s my decided bitchiness, but Megan Fox ins’t all that.

  37. roamingfirehydrant March 18, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    PattyAnn, I am sort of resting today. I can’t do any laundry because of the A/C being installed (same room, and I’m keeping the hell out of their way).

    There was a party Wednesday night hosted by one of the baseball parents who rented a condo seven doors down from the hotel the team and parents were staying at. I walked on the beach to the party – it was maybe a quarter to a third of a mile. I’m pretty happy I was able to walk there and back.

  38. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    CB, that link made my eyes hurt 😛

  39. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Jazz, I stole that poll video and put it on FB (with a h/t to you).

    Aggie, I’m better, but if John sees his truck today, I think there will be an accidental murder.

    Clint, I’m surprised the person who owns the tree isn’t charging for admission or something hahaha.

  40. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    That’s wonderful, Roamy!! I’m glad you are doing a wee bit better 🙂

  41. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Aggie, I would love to see all the Hollywoodies without plastic surgery, personal trainers and botox.

    That reminds me of that PBS special on musical acts of the 60s–those people had TALENT.

  42. PattyAnn March 18, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    That’s progress, Roamy! Glad to hear it.

  43. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 18, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Have a great day and I hope ya get laid.

    *looks at calendar*
    Nope. It isn’t my birthday, and there is no millenial celestial event waiting to happen.

    I can’t think of a time I’ve ever been left with a poor impression from one of your comments!

    Damn. Either I’m not trying hard enough, or you’ve missed an awful lot.

    Sox, I weep for you. An XK8.
    *sobs*

  44. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 18, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I have few uses for Megan Fox, but I have to say, this pic speaks to me. She has gorgeous curves. The girl is put together with panache. Too bad that head is so empty.

    More proof of God’s infinite sense of humor, and a test for the faithful.

    Do you want to be stacked, wealthy, and adored, or would you rather get the joke (and anything else worth understanding)?

  45. clintbird March 18, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Not everyone knows it, BUT Megan Fox is actually a zombie.

  46. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Do you want to be stacked, wealthy, and adored, or would you rather get the joke (and anything else worth understanding)?

    Glad to be the latter 😉

    PattyAnn, I would pay money to see those starlets without benefits 😉

  47. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Maybe it’s my decided bitchiness, but Megan Fox ins’t all that.

    Oh, I agree, Aggie. I’d much rather ogle an Hispanic MILF. Seriously. 😛

  48. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Damn. Either I’m not trying hard enough, or you’ve missed an awful lot.

    Oh, you’re trying, all right. Very, very trying. 😀

  49. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Jazz, I stole that poll video and put it on FB (with a h/t to you).

    Hahahahaha! Thanks, PA! There was no need to h/t me, but I’ll take the props you’ve offered, for sure. When talking sweet, sugar’s got nothing on you, PA. 🙂

  50. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I’d much rather ogle an Hispanic MILF. Seriously

    *checks her creds*

    Ok 😀

  51. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Don’t know if you’ve been following the threats against blogress Ann Althouse. Here are the first two:

    http://tinyurl.com/4urwf9n
    http://tinyurl.com/4q3nkn9

    Dan Riehl interviewed the author of the threats at Big Government.

    http://tinyurl.com/4cwtu2v

  52. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I have been, Jazz. Nice of the fucktards to put it in writing, don’t you think?? 😉

  53. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    I was surprised the douchebag author consented to an interview. He sounds Alvin Green-ish, without the motivation.

  54. roamingfirehydrant March 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    History Channel is showing how blue agave tequila is made.

  55. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    He is thriving on the publicity, be it negative or positive. That was his goal, I’m sure.

  56. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    History Channel is showing how blue agave tequila is made.

    I’ve been to Tequila, Mexico. It’s really cool how they go through the process.

    But let’s face it: it’s still cactus juice. Fred Flintstone lives 😀

  57. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Dang, Sox, that sux – but at least Cat Jr. is OK; in the end, that’s all that matters, right?

    Oh, and you know when I said that I am a researcher and you don’t want to get on my bad side? Well, using information from eddiebear’s post over at H2, I was able to find the mother of the guy who wrote that threatening e-mail to Ann and Meade Althouse.

    So I sent her a very nice e-mail (seriously – I’m a mom, too), and attached a copy of the e-mail he sent the Althouses. She and her husband need to know about that, right? Especially since her job could potentially be in jeopardy if news of this leaks out before she is aware of what he has done. I also told her that I wouldn’t release her information and that her son might want to remove mention of her from his sites, at least temporarily – I wouldn’t want her to get in trouble.

    Incidentally, his mom is the DEAN of a small, Catholic liberal arts college…..

  58. Dick March 18, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    I’m home kids! I hope this house isn’t wreck and all your homework is done!

  59. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    *sweeps bones and dead hookers under the rug*

    *burns bloody clothing*

    Howdy, Dick!!!

  60. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Teresa, you were kind to alert the mom, but something tells me the nut didn’t fall far from the tree.

  61. Dick March 18, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Hi Aggie.

    I got to tell a nice architect today that if he ever touched my work again after I finished a job that I’d kill him all nice and dead, then cut up his body and feed it to the hogs.
    He understood.

  62. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    TiFW, Althouse’s commenters identified Shanklin’s mother in the first threat thread. They were industrious li’l squirrels! I’m betting the lady is just trying to lay low at this point – and I’m sure she has words for her little troglodyte.

  63. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    hahaha! Architects think that because they can design, they can implement, too. They’re like Lou Costello trying to wear Bud Abbott’s trousers.

  64. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I got to tell a nice architect today that if he ever touched my work again after I finished a job that I’d kill him all nice and dead, then cut up his body and feed it to the hogs.

    Javelinas eat bones, too 😉

  65. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Dick, I don’t think so – I looked her up on Bing, and from some of her writings in her capacity as the Dean of her college, she is a STAUNCH Catholic. My guess is that she is mortified by his behavior; she may just sic some nuns with rulers on him….

  66. Dick March 18, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Started early, now I’m ready for some relaxation.
    I bought some of Cuervo’s cheap ‘cactus juice’ to make Kelly margaritas tonight. Maybe I can get her clothes to fly off.

  67. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Teresa, Catholics nowadays can be pretty liberal.

  68. Dick March 18, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Just find the little shit and impose retroactive birth control of ’em.

  69. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Maybe I can get her clothes to fly off.

    Dude, you’re SuperDick. You should just be able to zap them off with laserbeam eyes or something.

  70. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Maybe I can get her clothes to fly off.

    Everyone needs a goal to work towards – it’s good to know that yours are so noble! 😉

  71. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Doesn’t sound like Mom is very liberal:

    http://www.ncregister.com/site/article/benedictine_college_embraces_mandatum/

  72. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Oh, Benedictine??

    That makes a difference 😀

  73. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 18, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Isn’t that brandy?

  74. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Isn’t that brandy?

    No, but it is mixed with brandy, and referred to “B&B” 😉

  75. LC Aggie Sith March 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    ZOO TIME!!!!

    For what it’s worth, I think you were kind to send that email, Teresa. And if it had been my kid, and I were a liberal wacko, I would still want to know what my kid was doing.

    Also, I agree that her job could have been jeopardized. DiT may have a strong argument against that, but political correctness tends to cloud things really well, so it is a valid fear.

    Don’t let the bastards get you down!!!

  76. Dick March 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Normally, I ignore President Douchebag, but he’s about to speak on Lybia so in this case I’ll make the exception.

  77. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Don’t let the bastards get you down!!!

    Oh, I’m not – they raised valid points (I am a wee bit impulsive….).

    Here’s what I sent her:

    Dear Dr. Shankman,
    I don’t know if you are aware of this or not, but your son sent a rather threatening letter to a blogger and her husband regarding the Wisconsin protests. As a mom myself, I wanted to make you aware of this, as this is all over the Internet right now; I have kids of my own who are away at college, and I don’t always know what they are doing.

    This could potentially get very serious. I don’t think that the Althouses are vindictive people; Ms. Althouse is a professor at a College herself, and I believe she has grown children as well.

    I found you through your son’s Facebook page, in case you were wondering. I will not give out your contact information, as I don’t want you to get into trouble with your College over this. As I said, I have kids in college myself, and I know that sometimes they get overly zealous. They certainly don’t think about the fact that when they put things out for their friends to see, that sometimes other people see it as well.

    You may want to ask your son to “Hide” your information on his FB page for a while, until things settle down.

    I’m not trying to invade your privacy; I’m deleting all of your information after I send this e-mail. I just thought you might need to get “in front” of all of this.

    Here’s a link to the letter that he sent:
    http://www.scribd.com/doc/50869881/Op-countertroll-Vs-Althouse-and-Meade

    I don’t think that SOUNDS at all threatening, but then again, I’m a conservative….

  78. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Normally, I ignore President Douchebag, but he’s about to speak on Lybia so in this case I’ll make the exception.

    Gee, you threaten a dictator with strong action, and he backs down – whodathunkit?

    No doubt, Barky will take credit for the whole thing….

  79. Dick March 18, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Hmm… Interesting speech.

    To summarize for you guys: “We’re not in charge but instead just going along with the crowd.”

  80. MCPO Airdale March 18, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Megan Fox’s bath water tastes of vanity and greed.

  81. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    I think I’m allergic to my granddog….

  82. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    To summarize for you guys: “We’re not in charge but instead just going along with the crowd I’m voting “Present” again.”

    FTFY

  83. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Megan Fox’s bath water tastes of vanity and greed.

    That’s beautiful in its imagery, clarity, and succinctness, Chief. 🙂

  84. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Well, that’s a relief:

    I really do appreciate your email. My son certainly went overboard and when I read his post I was disturbed on a number of levels. Several people have emailed me about this (most of them anonymously and none as nice as you; I really very much appreciate your thoughtfulness). My son is a grown man (he’s almost 27 and married), so I am not really able to do much about this. I am so grateful to you for your suggestion about his “hiding” his family relationships on facebook. I will ask him to do that–I’m really worried that his younger brother, who is only 15, will start getting some grief because of his brother’s actions.
    Thanks again for your very kind note

  85. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Sweet death threats to James O’Keefe.

    http://tinyurl.com/5sjxo4s

  86. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 18, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Every now and then, there are acts of genuine concern and kindness that humble and surprise me.

    To see that concern and kindness acknowledged in kind, rather than in defensive condemnation or sarcasm is truely astonishing.

    TiFW, thank you for reminding me that such effort is not always wasted, and to the errant hippie’s mother, thank you for a measured and considerate response.

  87. Dick March 18, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I still say to simply eradicate the lil’ shit.

  88. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    TiFW, you have my admiration and applause today. I echo BiW’s exceedingly well-spoken comment.

  89. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    *blushes*

    Awww shucks, BiW and Jazz – thanks!

  90. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I just have to say it again, TiFW – well done. God makes and protects souls like yours for a reason. 🙂

    And then there’s dick and me.

  91. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 18, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    And then there’s dick and me.

    There’s no dick in me, so I have that to be thankful for.
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    I don’t have to play the “glad game” as long as I can continue to recognize that it can ALWAYS be worse. Probably the only thing I can thank Voltaire for.

  92. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 18, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    And then there’s dick and me.

    God sends souls like yours and Dick’s to carry out his protecting down here on Earth. Lord knows, I stumble into hornets’ nests all the time – wherever they may be – and am constantly needing to be rescued from myself!

    But you and Dick (and all of the other miscreants on this here blog) are worth your weight in gold; I hope you all know how much I love you guys…..

  93. Jazz March 18, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    GO TO THE NEW POAT.

  94. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 18, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    YOU’RE NOT MY REAL MOM!!!!
    *
    *
    *
    *
    *
    Her beard is much thicker than yours.

Comments are closed.