Medical Emergencies…

15 Jan

Why must they suck so much?

I have been away from the office for the last 2 days because I had the misfortune of getting to watch our little 6lb. dog get mauled by a 70lb. German Shepherd mix.  I had to hurdle a 5′ fence and kick the dog off mine and then scoop my little guy up and get back over the fence.  My son and I were in my truck and to the emergency vet within 15 minutes of the attack and the dr. said that probably saved his life. Having suffered 3 broken ribs, a punctured and collapsed lung, Vito is very lucky to still be with us. My wife is just a wreck around emergency situations and as much as I want to recoil and reject, I have to remain calm and take care of every little situation that comes along.  The human emergencies we’ve endured over the years have certainly been more important, but when it happens to something so helpless it seems so much more painful.

Or, maybe I should be a little bit less of a wuss.

But, Vito.

katy and vito

15 Responses to “Medical Emergencies…”

  1. GMLand January 15, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    follow me on twitter – @140wordsofthemostimportantshityou’lleverread

  2. LC Aggie Sith January 15, 2014 at 3:47 pm #

    POOR VITO!!! I pray he heals fast and is running around tripping you up soon!

  3. GMLand January 15, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    I can trip on my own, thank you very much.

    And, thank you very much.

  4. beasn January 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    Aww heck, I’m sorry you had to see that Guy, but glad you were able to save him.
    I’m usually the ‘better’ one in the emergencies – but lose it later.
    Yep, pets can rip your heart right out. Feel better Vito, you little dickens.

  5. Reiuxcat January 15, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

    It’s good you were able to act so fast Guy. Give Vito some TLC and a scratch on the head for me.

  6. Car in January 16, 2014 at 6:46 am #

    I had a little dog attack my shepherd. It was a mistake.

  7. GMLand January 16, 2014 at 9:30 am #

    Vito was just at the fence talking when the other one suddenly lunged, got him by the head and yanked him through the fence and then tried to eat him. It was weirdly unprovoked and so fast it was hard to process. Vito’s screams were horrific to hear, never heard him like that before and seeing him get shook and thrown so violently when knowing he doesn’t have a mean bone in him was really shocking to see. He finally ate some solid food last night and is walking around just a little, but the doc says he has at least 2 more weeks before he should be allowed to move around freely. Didn’t mean to harsh anyone’s melllow with the poat, I just didn’t have any ideas for a new one and Aggie has abandoned her post without permission.

    *mauls Aggie*

  8. LC Aggie Sith January 16, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    That poor doggie 😦

    Still, two weeks of TLC will spoil him completely. That is, if he isn’t already!

    *throws GML a Milk Bone*

  9. GMLand January 16, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

    *throws Aggie a bone bone*

  10. LC Aggie Sith January 16, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

    *does not fall for bait*

  11. GMLand January 16, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

    *rebaits bone*

  12. beasn January 16, 2014 at 10:34 pm #

    Does the shepherd’s owners know what it did?

  13. GMLand January 16, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Yes, the owner has already been given the vet bills and told the check better be on my porch by Friday at 5 or he will hear from Jughead at Dewey Cheatham and Howe come Monday.

  14. mrfixitou812 January 18, 2014 at 7:41 am #

    Damn. Glad that you were able to get him to the vet so quick and that he is on the mend. Bravo on being able to respond so quickly. Prayers for a speedy and full recovery for Vito.

  15. GMLand January 18, 2014 at 12:44 pm #

    Thank you so much, he is on his way to a full recovery, Thank God.

Comments are closed.

