Bitter Pills

7 Nov

Last night proved that people are content to wear chains, no matter how much they scream about slavery in our past. They are content to take what isn’t theirs, no matter how much they scream about thievery. They are content to be followers, no matter how much they scream about being led.

But you know what I learned last night?

They cannot break my spirit. No matter how hard they try, they cannot break that which makes us unique in the world.

They can’t break what makes us AMERICAN.

So, if they think they have won, they have another thing coming, because I, and many, many like me, will never, ever give up.

So, on behalf of my children, who now bear the burden of their policies….

May God have mercy on them, for I will not.

Update:

31 Responses to “Bitter Pills”

  1. LC Aggie Sith November 7, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Just FYI, I have never used those tags. Ever.

  2. LC Aggie Sith November 7, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Teresa, I think it’s too late to go Galt. I think it’s time to go Hank Rearden.

  3. Jay in Ames November 7, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    I have no words. Well, I do have a couple at my place.

    I never wanted to hear TiFW say that. I never wanted aggie to use those tags. There’s many thing I never wanted.

    Just add to the list.

  4. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 7, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    My spirits are pretty crushed today.
    I know that they will get better, but it’s hard to see past the end of my nose today.

    My give-a-damn’s busted.

    Great Depression 2.0, here we come.

  5. Jay in Ames November 7, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Pretty much, TiFW. Pretty much.

    Thank God I still have a job.

  6. LC Aggie Sith November 7, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I can’t afford to get a job now. IRONY!!!

  7. David Navarre November 7, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Sign we have our Romney-Ryan sign in the yard, other people walking their dogs in our neighborhood felt comfortable sharing how disappointed they are this morning as well. So, the one good thing to come from this is that now I know it’s not just 3 or 4 of us in the neighborhood who wish to be defiant, it’s a few dozen.

  8. Jay in Ames November 7, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Update added.

    Well, that’s a good thing, David. Too bad it had to be this way that you found out.

  9. LC Aggie Sith November 7, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Thanks for the update, J’Ames.

  10. LC Aggie Sith November 7, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Oh, I just had the most interesting conversation with three high schoolers. Seems they are none too happy about Obama. One young lady, 17 and couldn’t vote, was downright angry. In her words, “They just fucked everything up. And I’m supposed to work for them??

    I’m hoping they will rise against the despotism.

  11. Jay in Ames November 7, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    The college kiddies couldn’t be any happier with Obama. If they passed pot legalization, they’d be ecstatic.

  12. Jay in Ames November 8, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    My old high school made it to state tournament in 8 man football. My mom just called me on the way to the semifinal game. My nephew plays on the team.

    They were down 30-7 at the half last game, and came back to win.

    Go Exira – EHK Scarlets!

  13. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 8, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Fingers crossed, Jay!

  14. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 8, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    Looks like that Smart Diplomacy is really starting to pay off:

    http://news.msn.com/world/obama-victory-infuriates-pakistani-drone-victims-6

    They just LOVE us in all of Obama’s “Favored Nations”……

  15. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 8, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    Heh.

    http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2012/11/08/15017071-man-admits-election-day-burglary-of-nancy-pelosi-house-cops-say

    The kicker is that this is the SECOND time that he has burgled her house…..

  16. Jay in Ames November 8, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Heh, they are supposed to start about now, but there’s 6 minutes left in the game ahead of them.

    The score?

    70-70

  17. LC Aggie Sith November 8, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Hm…seems that Iran fired on a US drone over international air space on November 1st.

    Wonder why we are hearing about this now…

  18. Jay in Ames November 8, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Also, Yahoo ran a story about Social Security running out of money.

  19. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 10, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    The new James Bond movie is most excellent –
    The new “Q” is a sexy nerdy little boy.
    I could hurt him.

    http://is.gd/HXI492

    • LC Aggie Sith November 10, 2012 at 11:03 am #

      Too young for my blood, but a cutie!

      • Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 10, 2012 at 11:09 am #

        He’s (technically) young enough to be my son.
        The actor reportedly plays for the “other” team.

        But, oh my, the CHARACTER he plays is charming and endearing (in a geeky way).

        He’s gonna be fun to watch – 😛

        • LC Aggie Sith November 10, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

          The other team? He’s dead to me.

  20. Jay in Ames November 10, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Whoa, A&M taking the Crimson Tide to the woodshed!

  21. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 10, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    GIG ‘EM AGGIES!

    WHOOP!!!!!!!!

  22. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 10, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    The Dixie Chicken is gonna be a wild(er) place tonight…..

  23. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 10, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Thanks to TGSG for this one:

  24. LC Aggie Sith November 10, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    ‘Bama is on suicide watch, I’m sure 😉

  25. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX November 10, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    Since I was sure Bama was gonna eat our lunch, this was a very happy surprise.

    After Tuesday, I sure did need this……
    I can’t wipe the grin off of my face 😛

  26. clintbird November 10, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    At which point does a poot officially become a fart? I’m asking for a friend.

    • LC Aggie Sith November 11, 2012 at 8:47 am #

      I think this one passed that point a loooong time ago….

Comments are closed.

