Ever Read a Story Without Any Words?

8 Oct























Happy Monday!

13 Responses to “Ever Read a Story Without Any Words?”

  1. clintbird October 8, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    I have chills. This was OUTSTANDING. Thanks for making my day waaaaay better.

  2. Jay in Ames October 8, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Thanks. I got this in an email, and it seemed perfect.

    I had seen stories about this, but not told this way. This is quite a lady, to stand by this hero this way.

  3. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 8, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    This needs to come with a hanky alert…..

  4. MCPO Airdale October 8, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Very moving. Two heroes there.

  5. The Queen October 8, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    I agree with TiFW- the tears are rolling….

  6. LC Aggie Sith October 9, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    *still crying*

  7. Jay in Ames October 9, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    This poat makes me think of my mom, and dad’s 2 tours in Vietnam. There wasn’t email or overseas phone calls back in that day, so there were only letters and tapes, both audio and video. Days and weeks went between communications.

    The people behind suffer just as much as those deployed, only it’s a different type. There’s no control, so they have to be strong, in a different way. Both are to be applauded, and celebrated. Not everyone can do it.

    We Were Soldiers (the movie) did a good job of depicting this. There should be more dedicated to it.

  8. Jay in Ames October 9, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    The Montana Department of Employment, Division of Labor Standards claimed a small rancher was not paying proper wages to his help and sent an agent out to investigate him.

    GOVT AGENT: I need a list of your employees and how much you pay them.

    RANCHER: Well, there’s my hired hand, who’s been with me for 3 years. I pay him $200 a week plus free room and board. Then there’s the mentally challenged guy. He works about 18 hours every day and does about 90% of all the work around here. He makes about $10 per week, pays his own room and board, and I buy him a bottle of bourbon every Saturday night so he can cope with life. He also sleeps with my wife occasionally.

    GOVT AGENT: That’s the guy I want to talk to – the mentally challenged one.

    RANCHER: That would be me.

  9. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 9, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Hey, if you guys have a minute, would you send up a prayer for a young lady at Rebecca’s school? She’s one of their “original” students, and is the daughter of one of the founders of the school (she’s now in her early 20’s). She is having surgery today to replace her pulmonary valve.

    They’ve known for years that she was going to need to have this done, and today’s the day.

    The surgery is quite long; she’s been in prep for the past couple of hours, and the surgeon just started what will probably be a 5-6 hour procedure.

    While it sounds like it’s a pretty routine procedure, the family is calm, but anxious.

    I know they would appreciate prayers for Lindsay –
    TYIA

  10. LC Aggie Sith October 9, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Sending them on angel’s wings, Teresa.

  11. Patricius Augustus October 9, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I can’t lurk no more…awesome.

  12. clintbird October 9, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Jay, the We Were Soldiers guys were from Bardstown, KY. I taught school there about a year or two after that happened.

Comments are closed.

