Check and Mate

2 May

Because this joint needs a bit of class.

The bitch of it is, this is an art display!!

This should just be a parlor game. Sigh…Norwegians… 😉

13 Responses to “Check and Mate”

  1. LC Aggie Sith May 2, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    So, who wants to play? Because I would pass out at two pawns and a rook.

  2. Jay in Ames May 2, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Too highbrow for me. Fill em with beer, and we’re on!

  3. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere May 2, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    No.

  4. LC Aggie Sith May 2, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Fine. Instead of wine, make it small salmon canapes.

  5. Jay in Ames May 2, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    The picture at Soylent’s latest is making me giggle uncontrollably.

    http://sonofsoylentgreen.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/in-case-you-missed-it-the-royal-society-named-a-new-fellow-last-month/

  6. LC Aggie Sith May 2, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Ok, that pic is hilarious. The reason for it isn’t…

  7. The Queen May 2, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    I can’t play chess… but I could clear the reds if I had to!

  8. Hildy May 3, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    It’s a legit variant… each piece is filled with the appropriate (points-based) amount of booze, usually in two colors, and you have to drink the ones you capture.

    Standard chess rules apply, except you can cheat as long as the other person doesn’t notice. So if you’re good at chess, you quickly develop a handicap. 😀

  9. LC Aggie Sith May 3, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I like you Hildy 😀

    If you are new, welcome to UP!!

  10. GMLand May 3, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Chess is sort of like beer pong, right?

  11. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX May 3, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    I spent over an hour on the phone with a Mom in New York State this afternoon who sent me an e-mail after reading my post from the other day.

    She asked if I would be willing to talk to her, and asked me to send her my phone number – she is having trouble dealing with her daughter coming out.

    I love the Internet – it was like talking to a person I’ve known all my life (she’s just as nutty as I am…..).

  12. Jay in Ames May 4, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    that’s awesome, TiFW. Glad you were there for her.

  13. Jay in Ames May 4, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    *waits on “may the fourth be with you” poat.

Comments are closed.

