Need a New Alarm Clock?

16 Apr

There is no snooze button. If you unplug it, a battery takes over. As wake-up time approaches, you cannot reset the alarm time.

It could be the world’s most exasperating alarm clock.

Once it goes off, to stop it you must get out of bed, go into the kitchen or bathroom, and punch the day’s date into a telephone-style keypad. That’s the only way to stop the loud ‘ding-ding,’ designed to sound like a customer angrily banging on a concierge bell at a hotel.

It was invented by Paul Sammut, a 25-year-old engineer who lives in Hoboken. During the day, he builds and researches underwater robots and vehicles at the nearby Stevens Institute of Technology.

He started working on the gadget because he was finding it hard to get up and make it to work on time.

“I wanted to make something that would essentially force me to get out of bed when I wanted to get out of bed the night before,” Sammut said. “And I was thinking about ways of doing it and I thought about how in high school I had the perfect solution to this, which was my mother, and how she would, if it was time for me to wake up, she would force me out of bed.”

He built the prototype in his spare time and uses it every day.

“Now I wake up before it goes off,” Sammut said. “I subconsciously fear it and know I have to get up.”

After a friend suggested he try and sell the device, he made a video demonstrating it, and posted that on kickstarter.com. Sammut has formed a company and is now trying to fill all the clock orders by the end of the summer.

He acknowledges there is one way to stop the alarm without getting out of bed.

“You could smash it,” said Sammut.

I’m buying a hammer, to go along with it.

19 Responses to “Need a New Alarm Clock?”

  1. roamingfirehydrant April 16, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Stevens’ Hoboken Institute of Technology.

    If I didn’t get up when Mom said, “get up”, Dad would pick up one side of the mattress and dump me out on the floor.

  2. Jay in Ames April 16, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Ha, we got a glass of cold water in the face. Or the whistle.

  3. Jay in Ames April 16, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    The choice in this election is between an economy that produces a growing middle class and that gives people a chance to get ahead, and their kids a chance to get ahead, and an economy that continues down the road we’re on.

    Man, I laugh every time I see Axelrod’s comment. What a maroon!

  4. LC Aggie Sith April 16, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    I just posted that clip on FB, J’Ames. It’s priceless 😀

    Also, I want this clock. Three of them. For the kids.

  5. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 16, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    I knew a guy who had perfect pitch. He said that if he wouldn’t get up in the morning, his mother would calmly walk over to the piano and play an unresolved chord.

    It would drive him so crazy that he would literally get out of bed, run to the piano and resolve the chord.

    Whatever works….. 😛

  6. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 16, 2012 at 12:45 pm #


    .
    THIS is the one that I want…..

    http://nootropicdesign.com/defusableclock/

  7. Jay in Ames April 16, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    My roommates used to turn up “Been Caught Stealing” by Jane’s Addiction way loud (hate hate HATE that song!). I could be up and turn off the stereo by the times the dogs stopped barking.

    BTW, I don’t hate it as much now as when it was played 1000 times a day. So don’t get any ideas.

  8. LC Aggie Sith April 16, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Damn…

  9. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 16, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Anyone here with mad Photoshopping skillz? There’s a photo over at HotAir that is just begging to have the “Family Feud” set photoshopped into it:

    http://is.gd/oi9MlI

    Honestly, the first time I saw that, I would have sworn that Imadinnerjacket was hitting the buzzer….

  10. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 16, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Damn…

    Whatsa matter, Ags?

    Hubby finally tell you “Only once a day”? 😛

  11. LC Aggie Sith April 16, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    NO!! I was lamenting the fact that I can’t needle J’Ames with that horrid song 😀

  12. Jay in Ames April 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Man, what’s that smell?

    Oh, it’s low hanging fruit, ripening in the sun.

  13. LC Aggie Sith April 16, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    I feel the need to stab.

  14. Jay in Ames April 16, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    What did I do this time?

  15. LC Aggie Sith April 16, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    The low hanging fruit??? 😀

  16. clintbird April 16, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    People who can’t/won’t get up when the alarm clock goes off our puddies.

  17. lclintsp April 17, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    Are even.

  18. Jay in Ames April 17, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    What’s a puddie?

    *hits snooze button, again

  19. LC Aggie Sith April 17, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    NEW POAT!!!

Comments are closed.

