Top Ten Reasons for Taking Chemistry

4 Apr
  1. You can pronounce “Phenolphthalein” correctly.
  2. If your parents ground you, you can dissolve their car.
  3. The ‘mole’ is your friend.
  4. The world doesn’t need any more lawyers, or accountants.
  5. Terrorists respect you because they think you know how to blow things up.
  6. You don’t have to mess with dead things (see Biology).
  7. Goggles!
  8. You don’t have to get all sweaty like in PE.
  9. You can always blame your lab partner.
  10. “Hi! I’m a chemist” is a great pick up line.

Tell me I’m wrong 😉

Have a great Wednesday!!!

 

42 Responses to “Top Ten Reasons for Taking Chemistry”

  1. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    GOOD MORNING PEASANTS!!!

    Do y’all have your goggles?

  2. The Queen April 4, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    No goggles, but I do have my labcoat on!
    Morning!

  3. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Mmmm, Kari Byron. Back in the days when I could watch Mythbusters, without having it thrown in my face that Adam is an OBot from from word go.

    Now I don’t watch anymore. /sadface

  4. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Also, who knows Avogadro’s number without looking it up?

  5. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    J’Ames, I can’t. But how funny/ amazing/ awesome is it that my son can??? 😀

  6. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    6.02 X 10^23

    I thought you might, since you had the “mole” up there.

  7. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    Phenolphthalein

    Fee Nolf Tha Lean

    Phenolphthalein

    amirite?

  8. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Uberite.

  9. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    /geek

    Woo hoo! Back to programming.

    woops, shouldn’t have taken off the geek mode, eh?

  10. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Yeah, you kinda need the geek mode set on “ON”.

  11. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 4, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Rebecca is at home today because there is no power at her school.

    Lazy slug is still asleep…. 😛

  12. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 4, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I don’t think we’re going to hear about this from the MSM:

    http://www.jammiewf.com/2012/indiana-democrats-charged-with-felony-election-fraud/

  13. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Jammie isn’t MSM? Unpossible!

  14. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    HAHAHA!!!

    Have pity on me, y’all. This poat is better than the one at my blog.

    I need to go to bed for a while. Don’t take my napalm while I’m gone.

  15. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 4, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    Those idiots in Berkeley-on-the-Brazos are doing their level best to drive companies out of Texas:

    http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2012/04/dems_to_apple_hire_the_economically_disadvantaged.html

    Is there any way to round these people up and put them in a walled city where they can’t do any harm to the rest of the state?

  16. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 4, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Attention, attention!

    Rebecca is now awake.

    We now return you to your regularly-scheduled broadcast…..

  17. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 4, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    It has been pointed out to me that the Brazos river doesn’t run through Austin.

    Yes, I know – but “Berkeley-on-the-Colorado” doesn’t have the same ring to it…..

  18. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Teresa, I find it….odd, that Apple is sniffing around Dell Country™.

    I hope Apple looks elsewhere in Texas, but I won’t be surprised if they go to Phoenix.

    Also, I ended up dreaming of koalas. Sigh…

  19. wctaqiyya April 4, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Grand idea. Do you remember when all the experts were saying chemistry was a dead end vocation? They said it had all been discovered. Funny, no? Now, I almost habitually ridicule such sweeping conclusions. Especially if they are made by experts with lots of letters behind their names. Goodness, how many freaking times have the experts predicted the end of fossil fuels? I blame it on Hitler, sitting in his moon base, shooting his mind warping ray gun all over the place. He drinks a lot now, poor fellow.

  20. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Do you remember when all the experts were saying chemistry was a dead end vocation? They said it had all been discovered.

    I’m sure these experts are at the university level, too. Or with NASA’s climate change division.

    In other words, idiots.

  21. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Palin beat Couric in ratings, now what?

  22. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 4, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Would these be the same “experts” who are thinking that the world would just be a peachy keen place if we could breed people to be smaller so that they would take up less space and have a smaller carbon footprint?

    Yeah – go right ahead, skippers.

    Meanwhile, me and mine plan on eating lots of meat, breeding bigger and better offspring, and stomping your descendants’ tiny little asses into submission.

    Nothing like breeding your DNA into extinction……

  23. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I upped my carbon footprint last night, grilled some chicken breasts.

  24. wctaqiyya April 4, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    To Palin beat Couric. Well Jay, may I suggest a grizzly bear cook off? Or, my personal favorite, some cold Alaskan mud wrestling? Best nips win. Or…..?

  25. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I’m pretty sure Palin beats Couric in all those. And most other categories that we can dream up.

    Including grades in college, I’d be willing to wager.

  26. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

  27. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I think the only thing Couric would beat Palin at is in a “Whose Absence is Better?” contest.

  28. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 4, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    “I have a private jet, a yacht, a Ferrari, and a freakishly large unit” is also pretty good as a pickup line.

    Or so I’ve heard.

  29. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    “I have a private jet, a yacht, a Ferrari, and a freakishly large unit” is also pretty good as a pickup line.

    You know what it says at the bottom of a condom? I do.

  30. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    This water’s cold.

    And deep.

  31. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    This water’s cold.

    And deep.

    My favorite Michigan joke of all time.

  32. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Sometimes I revel in the blissful ignorance that comes with being a sheltered gal 😀

  33. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Girls don’t have locker rooms? Who knew?

  34. LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Girls don’t have locker rooms?

    I don’t know what’s sadder: that I’m totally lost, or that I am totally lost.

  35. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Locker room humor, that’s all.

    • LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      So you are saying I am woefully out of my depth here?

      This wouldn’t be an issue if I were drinking, would it??

  36. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Opening day. Life is complete.

    • LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      Went out to eat and watched part of StL and whoever they were playing 🙂

  37. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Going out to sports bars? Tempting fate with the Lent thing?

    • LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      Mexican restaurant! And I was a good Catholic!!

  38. Jay in Ames April 4, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    They were playing Miami, BTW. The team formerly known as the Florida Marlins.

    • LC Aggie Sith April 4, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      No wonder I couldn’t remember….

Comments are closed.

