No, as a matter of fact, we won’t shut up or forget.

9 Mar

53 Responses to “No, as a matter of fact, we won’t shut up or forget.”

  1. LC Aggie Sith March 9, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    Great poat, CB. Imma gonna leave it up for teh weekend.

    I get so pissed off when the libs try to say that Maher’s comments aren’t as bad because he’s not a political commentator.

    Sorry, but his entire show revolves around politics. It doesn’t wash.

  2. LC Aggie Sith March 10, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    GOOD MORNING!!!!

    I hate Spring Break.

  3. TerribleTroy March 10, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    I hate broken springs. They’re all noisy, with their creaking and such……and when you hit a hole its like being kicked in the ass….

    Breaking springs is anarchy! Ipso facto…I hate spring break too…..cept for the wet tshirt contests….

    BOOBIES & NIPPLES!!ELEVENTY!!

  4. LC Aggie Sith March 10, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    NOT the kind of break I was talking about, but ok 😀

  5. Dick (@DicksTrash) March 10, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    She’s not wearing her seatbelt!

  6. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 10, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    I could forgive him if he was at least funny.

  7. Lizard March 10, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    Nor do I accept their argument that Ms. Fluke is some defenseless patriot and Sarah is able to defend herself. Ms. Fluke is a f’ing long time activist, she is not this shy quiet girl that they want us to believe she is.
    Another thing Mr.pResident if you do not want you daughters brought into the fray then do not use them as political shield.

  8. LC Aggie Sith March 10, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    I bet Dick dated the seatbelt gal.

  9. TerribleTroy March 10, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    YA know….with enough Vicodin and caffeine,,,,you can DANCE WITH SCISSORS! (But only for a short period of time)

    So im sitting in my lil home yesterday evening right around sunrise….just resting, relaxing, sitting after being on my feet all day on concrete schelping 50 -70 lb boxes. I have my freshly cashed paycheck, I have my once a week mega lotto ticket (you gotta play to win) ray of eternal hope for fun. And Im sufficiently medicated so that I am only just uncomfortable and not in perpetual back stabbing pain mode…kinda idyllic to a degree. And then there is the knock on my door…

    I open the door and lo and behold its the lad…..and he has that look. You know the look, the one where the eyes are all wide and filling with tears cause they are freaking out. The one that makes them barely able to talk…..the one where they nod there head in a direction and whimper the words “You need to go talk to the POLICE”. YAAAAAARRRRRRGHHHHHH!!! Lift off in three, two, one….

    I think I may have mentioned a couple weeks back of a negative interaction with the Police that my son was involved in. I also may have mentioned that this is a very. VERY, small town. I probably didnt mention that the boys mother is a a very well known, well liked EMT (very soon to be Paramedic YAY) who has provided professionally for this community for years. I’m pretty sure I have a reputation of being a “good guy” (yeah, I have them fooled) The boys Grandparents are life long inhabitants and “known”, Again this is a very small town, maybe 1200 people on a good day so anything that happens is known, there are no secrets for long in this place. Subsequently any negative interaction with LE spreads like wildfire and of course receives embellishment on its way.
    Because of this dynamic both Son and Daughter have received a certain mantra throughout there life that goes something like this. “This is a small town. You cant fart in this town without others knowing about it. You may not know some adult here, but you can bet they know you and who you belong too. You represent yourself and your family when out in public. DONT BE STUPID. You cant “get away” with anything here.” This mantra served the daughter well.

    One final aspect to this scenario before I tell you what “they did”. On this particular afternoon my son was hanging with the only two black male children in town. Now this isnt a problem with me, I know the kids, I know their folks. This is a lilly white town and about as “white” as you can get. The two kids are both here because they were adopted as at risk babies by the two families, I think with assistance from their church. One boy is a talented up and coming athlete, the other is a singer, dancer performed type, good kids, polite, well behaved, etc. etc. But I bring this up because its a small white town and some are not as tolerant.

    So here’s my kid and his buddies “hanging out”. Did mention they are 12? There is only one age where the level of stupid exceeds that of your average 12 yr old male and that is your average 15 yr old male. Something about those two years seems to produce the optimum stupid hormone or something…

    Anyway, dumb ass’s one, two and three decide to enter a the privacy fenced side yard of a vacant house down the street (it had no gate, but the opening faced the street) and climb a pine tree that was adjacent to the detached garage. Of course because of the proximity of the tree to the garage roof, this precipitated a change in venue from the tree to the roof. This was in turn witnessed by a neighbor (who according to the police didn’t want to identify themselves) who reported the activity to the local police.(this aspect of the situation bothers me in that if I was the witness I would have done the “small town” thing and yelled at the kids to get off the roof)

    No charges or anything, just the spectacle of the event for the neighbors. The Officer had all the parents come to the scene.

    I write this tale for two reasons (maybe three) 1. To vent. 2. To get a check on a reasonable response regarding “punishment”. 3. To help me process

    I am PISSED. He violated the small town rule after receiving numerous counseling discussions. He got caught. (this is a no-no cause I preach if you are going to fuck up at least be smart enough not to get caught) His actions feed a certain meme about these black kids that exists. These kids were crack babies, everybody knows their history, there is a segment of town that will color their view based on skin color, and history. These are good kids, that have enough challenges without this nonsense. There is a negative impact on the family “reputation.” If I thought any of them were being malicious it would be a different story. These were just 12 yr old boys being 12 yr old boys. but this doesn’t detract from my disappointment that the lad failed to absorb the lesson that he has received ever since he’s been allowed out of the yard. I think that is what really bothers me the most….

    Ok, I’ve processed this and determined my course of action. Boy will receive a partial grounding, be victim to a loooooong discussion about small town living, self respect, familial obligations, and the impact of his actions on the universe. Today is also “haircut” day. He will be advised that if I ever have to speak with the Police on his behalf again, the first thing that will happen when I get a hold of his ass is a “high & tight” haircut, courtesy of Dad. I used to do my own all the time…..back when I had hair…really, its true! I used to have hair. It was “good” hair too. Sometimes I miss my hair….but I digress…

    So what do you think? Much to do over nothing? How would you respond from a parenting perspective?

  10. LC Aggie Sith March 10, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Troy, you do good parenting.

    I would also add that, if the vacant home is owned by someone locally, you can inquire if the kids can do some repair work on it, or basic yard clean up. It would help to see the kids taking responsibility publicly.

  11. Lizard March 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    What Aggie said.

    ? why did you need to talk to the police again?

    oh and I agree, most neighbors would have just told the boys to get down but apparently someone’s personality disorder decided the boys required LE.

  12. TerribleTroy March 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    @ Dick. That is a impressive pic right there. She has a beautiful face and crazy humongous boobies.

    Someone correct me if I’m wrong but aren’t both Rush and Maher considered in the category of “entertainers”? So its ok to be uncivil to Palin because “she is in the public eye” but not Fluke cause even though she’s in the public eye, she’s not really in the public eye? And by mentioning his children, doesn’t Hussein place his children in the public eye? If Palin is in the public eye and its ok to be uncivil, is it ok to be uncivil toward Hussein’s wife? That anyone is buying this bullshit from the left just re-enforces my conviction that we are headed to a very bad place. Hell that the left is even proffering this bullshit re-enforces that belief.

    @TiFW… Great job disassembling Fluke’s “testimony” ranks right up there with a couple of pieces I’ve read as best of the best on the subject.

  13. LC Aggie Sith March 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Rush is an entertainer only when it’s convenient.

  14. TerribleTroy March 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    The first interaction with the PD involved the lads airsoft gun and another kid getting shot in the face. This second was was for them being on the roof of a garage of a vacant property. Thank god the garage wasn’t attached or else Im certain it would have been a “they were trying to break in” call.

    No damage to property was discerned, nor do I think any was attempted. These dummy’s were just being lil 12 yr old monkeys. The desire to climb things at 12 is high among the male species. I was a climber as a kid. In NYC I could climb my way to escape. I had pre-planned escape routes that included level changes, insertion of obstacles, etc.etc.

    His mother balked at the high and tight threat….but too late, it already went down range. Now I have to find the Officer and make sure that the lad showed the appropriate amount of respect and behavior when confronted….it could have been worse….lil fuckers could have decided to run….that would not have been a good thing….

    Did I mention that the women in Dicks pic approaches the “stunning” level? At least from a visual perspective.But I lean toward the “exotic” look….must be the dark hair and eyes….LOL

  15. Lizard March 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    @ Troy got he just had bad luck of getting caught twice. Oops did I really just say that was the problem, sorry I think about some of the things my siblings and I did growing up and thank the Lord that we lived where there were few cops.

    I relayed the information about how Obama is ignoring things being said about other women and references made about down syndrome children to my friend’s sister’s who suck at the teet of Obama. I think they are finally starting to see a little bit of light.

  16. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Troy, my bet is that the police getting involved might have put the fear of God into your male spawn.

    My guess is that if you tell him EXACTLY what you told us – your concern about certain people in the town making assumptions based on the color of his friends’ skin – it will have MUCH more of an impact on him.

    Kids at 12 – especially young boys – are starting to realize that they are part of a larger world. I’m betting that your son never even thought about how some people perceive his friends (why would he?), but he’s at that perfect age where he is learning about “taking care of” those around him.

    Kids that age – and again, especially young boys – have a natural desire to “protect”.

    Relay your concerns to him. I’d be willing to bet that he will take it to heart, and start to “police” himself so that his FRIENDS don’t get in trouble.

    He sounds like a great kid, and it’s obvious that you are a great dad.

  17. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Oh, and thanks for your kind words about my Sandra Fluke post!

    *blushes*

  18. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    @Dick – Mr. TiFW has bravely volunteered to help that poor young girl get properly strapped on in.

  19. Jay in Ames March 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    I think partial grounding is a good punishment. Sounds like it might hit home.

    But a better lesson is to be learned from reaction to it by the color of their friend’s skin. I am assuming this was a big deal only because your son was hanging with “those” kids. I know exactly the mentality at work here, as I’m from a 1000 people town, myself. Racism is ugly, and there is a teachable moment here, although it’s one that shouldn’t have to be made.

    People are jerks, and it’s multiplied by 1000 when you introduce race into it. I hope that he will continue to count the two boys as his friends. Sounds like they are pretty good ones, even though they get into a little mischief, which they must make amends for.

  20. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    “Doonesbury” is trying to make itself relevant; ends up beclowning itself:

    http://is.gd/guDI7W

    ….Doctor says “Sorry miss, you’re first trimester. The male Republicans who run Texas require that all abortion seekers be examined with a 10″ shaming wand.”….

    Well, I guess 10″ might be more than they are used to; but wasn’t SOMETHING close to that length inserted in them to get them pregnant in the first place?

    You’d think they’d be thanking us….

    (I denounce myself in advance)

  21. TerribleTroy March 10, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    @ aggie and liz. I took your advice and split the difference…..I made him rake MY yard.

  22. Lizard March 10, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    @ Troy a little hard labor never hurts 🙂

    Basketball has stunk for me so far today so switching to Nationwide race. I caught the end of the Lamar game and if I understood the announcer, who’s mouth must have been filled with marbles, Bobby Knights kid Pat is going to the dance as a head coach for the first time.

    Hey Aggie, it seems that SPEED channel has realized that there are women other than Danica. Now I will see if ESPN has figured it out.

  23. LC Aggie Sith March 10, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    I made him rake MY yard.

    WINNING!!!! 😉

  24. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Been there, done that, got the T-Shirt…..

    http://wendiaarons.com/2012/03/the-five-stages-of-a-4th-grade-school-project.html

  25. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Show us your boobies!

    http://is.gd/BFo30e

  26. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Everyone remember to “Spring Forward” tonight!

    See ya’ll manana…..

  27. clintbird March 11, 2012 at 10:59 am #

  28. Lizard March 11, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    @TiFw you do know that teachers(I am a former) sometimes know what parents go through and well it’s a secret pleasure.

  29. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 11, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Yeah – Rebecca goes to a private school for kids with Down syndrome, and when she moves up to the next class, they actually assign HOMEWORK.

    Which might be OK for the parents who only have the one kid and haven’t given up the “dream” of their kid being “normal”.

    Me? Bad mom/person that I am, I’m thinking, “Really?”

    I mean, I’m realistic about the very real limitations that DS comes with. And I’m OK with it (and Rebecca’s not complaining).

    But it’s a good school, and the best possible place for her to be, so I guess I’ll just learn to keep my big mouth shut….

  30. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 11, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Of course, I’m the same bad mom who looked at the project that DD#2 had put off until the last possible moment and said, “Are you really going to turn THAT in?”

    Because basically, all she had done was print out pages from the Internet and taped them to a tri-board.

    Looked like shit.

    But I was tired (DD#1 had just started high school, and Rebecca was a baby), so I let it go, figuring it was time that she learned some very hard lessons.

    And she got a less than stellar grade.

    The teacher did tell me “Thank you” for letting DD#2 do it all on her own – she could tell that most of the other kids’ parents had done all of their kids’ work for them…..

  31. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 11, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Where is everyone?

  32. Lizard March 11, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Sorry it’s race day so was focused on that.

    Actually Teresa I say speak up when you feel the need and I am sure you will know when that is necessary. I used to be a administrator too and sometimes teachers need a upside the head too :-).

    I guess I look at this way, your angel is normal she just learns and processes things different than the majority. 😉

    True story, sophomore year of HS we have a quarter project that the teacher literally says I will be able to tell if you wait til the last minute to complete and you will get the F you deserve. Well that is like waving a red flag in front of me like you would a bull. I did the project in 2 nights. Got an A and he kept it to use as an example of how to do things. I waited until after graduation to let him know the truth and that I had not shared it with any of my classmates.

    But letting kids do things on their own is the way it should be, I always hated teachers that did not call parents on those things.

  33. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 11, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Liz, I’m sure it won’t be bad with Rebecca.

    I DID have to have a few words with the earnest, dewy-eyed young thing who was DD#3’s Kindergarten teacher.

    She thought they should be able to answer in-depth questions on 4-paragraph stories of deep complexity.

    When I saw that first assignment, I sent her a note, telling her that if she would just let me know what answers she was looking for, I would happily wax eloquent on the subject in question.

    She was SHOCKED that I thought that she was assigning stuff that was too hard for kids who were only 5/6/7 years old – why, most of the other parents (i.e., the ones who didn’t have any other children in school yet) thought it was a great idea….

    ….then the teacher figured out that 1/2 of the kids in the class didn’t know how to read yet….

  34. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 11, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    One of the “assignments” was on Charles Lindbergh crossing the ocean. One of the questions was, “Do you think it was hard for Mr. Lindbergh to fly across the ocean? Why or why not?”

    So we asked DD#3 if she thought it was hard – she said, “No”. We asked her why she didn’t think so, and she said, “Because he had an airplane!”

    Duh.

    (Yeah, we told her to write that down and turn it in…..)

  35. Lizard March 11, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    Good for you!!! I have to wonder where that teacher went to school, sorry my 2nd major was Early Childhood education with an emphasis on reading. That is so not age appropriate.
    She shouldn’t be expecting them to know how to read, if they are great but hello that is what First Grade is for.

    Hang tough 🙂

  36. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 11, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Meh – it was her first year teaching; I cut her some slack for being an innocent newbie.

    She was very sweet – she just had this “idea” in her head that didn’t really match up with reality; I was the tired, bitter, shrivelled-up, put-out-to-pasture 40-year-old who’d been around the block a few times already, and wasn’t much in the mood to deal with “perky”.

    Bless her dear little heart…..

  37. GMLand March 12, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I touched a boobie this weekend!

  38. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Did you get your hand smacked GM??

  39. clintbird March 12, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I thought about boobies this weekend.

  40. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 12, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    So after hearing some snippets from “Game Change” this morning, I was reminded that ideology trumps reality when you’re a democrat.

  41. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    When do men not think of boobies?

  42. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    @TiFw I was not knocking the doe-eyed young girl, but the institution that she was educated at since they did not do a good job.

  43. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Ok I have a friend in Ohio who is having a raccoon issue and is asking for help. She called local LE who will not shoot for her and local animal control’s answer was to give them a trap to rent for $20 a day and when you catch it you then have to pay $75 to have it relocated.

    The damn thing has eaten holes in the roof two or three times now. Does anyone know of a poison and way to get raccoon to eat to get rid of the the thing?

  44. Jay in Ames March 12, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Where’s aggie? Hope everything is ok!

  45. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    It’s Spring Break she was taking the kids to Japanese Garden and Zoo today, I think.

  46. TerribleTroy March 12, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Liz. Tell your friend to go to wally world ans spend 40 dollars on a pump action BB/PELLET rifle. Buy .177 pellets ans shoot the fucking rodent in the face after pumping the rifle up ten times. Rodent will either die or not come back. If its dead, tell them to throw it in the middle of the street (roadkill). Its silent but not a 100% effective so they need to shoot from a protected position. Problem solved. And they get a nifty reusable nuisance tool.

  47. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    @Troy thanks, I will pass along the information.

    How are you feeling?

  48. LC Aggie Sith March 12, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Hey everyone!

    Sorry, but I got up at 9:30 this AM. Hadn’t been sleeping well lately. And had a friend come visit for the weekend, so I had plans today.

    The Japanese Gardens are tomorrow!

    I will put up a poat in the morning before leaving for downtown, though.

  49. Lizard March 12, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    oops sorry Aggie 😉

    Have fun tomorrow! Glad you got to sleep in.

  50. Jay in Ames March 12, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I scheduled a poat for tomorrow, so you don’t have to!

  51. TerribleTroy March 12, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Using Announcer Voice…..scheduled a poat for tomorrow, so you wont have to…

    sounds like a commercial….”so you wont have to”….. But I digress….

    I guess the first thing I’d like to say tonight is…BOOBIES….think I’ll say it again….BOOBIES….its a word that just rolls off your tongue…so to speak.. a wonderous word that brings all kind of possibilities to mind….

    @ Liz….I’m hanging in there. Dr. Appt next week which will at least get the pain meds refilled. Then once that appt is complete (and I have a refferal in my hand) we schedule the lithotripsy for ASAP. I’d really like to have this removed from my body as it can be a wee bit painful (get on your knees and vomit cause someone is jumping on your nuts) but it comes and goes (to a certain degree, it always there).. Im pretty much living on Vicoden but its not like that hasn’t happened before.

    Anywho….. the bb gun can also come in handy for your friends for stray cats / dogs/ squirrels, obnoxious teens (shoot from a hide) etc. etc. Of course you dont shoot obnoxious teens in the face (unless you have a really good hide) and one can place their shots at their discretion. Big thing is its relatively silent, and you dont have to have a ID to purchase one. They could try to bait the critter away….in order to get it into a better “shoot em in face” position….Muwahahahahahahaha….

  52. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 12, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    Got the photo book I ordered in the mail today – apparently some of the pages that looked “white” online had subtle designs on them. But only on SOME of them.

    Oh, well – live and learn…..

  53. TerribleTroy March 13, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    Were they designs of tastfully depicted BOOBIES?

Comments are closed.

