Geeky Friday

2 Mar

Mmmmmm….sugar…..

My son’s idea of fun.

No one will EVER be this cool:

So get your geek on, you cool cats!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

32 Responses to “Geeky Friday”

  1. GMLand March 2, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Being first is cool.

  2. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    +1! My first car was a 70 Riviera. It’s still at my parents place! Love that car. I think that’s a 66, maybe?

  3. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    I’ll bet Obama would be that cool, if he had a Rivvy. Since he’s all Spock-like, and shit.

  4. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Nope, it’s a 64. Wooops!

  5. GMLand March 2, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Obama wouldn’t be cool even if he was stuffed in 17 Glad super trash bags, bound with gauze, duct taped then dipped in a fiberglass and be allowed to congeal for 72 hours before being set in a large fishing cooler covered with 11 gallons of Sonic ice and then that cooler was set inside an even larger commercial grade cooler that was stuck on -17 degrees and welded shut and then set at the bottom of the deepest part of the Arctic Sea before being launched to the farthest reaches of outer space.

    Or something like that.

  6. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    ^^^THAT^^^!!!!

    And good morning ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Obama COOL????? please now that just makes me want to go back to bed and pull the covers over my head.

    Ok, so I am having a rough Friday already.

  8. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Hey, two new posts at H&B. One is the obligatory open thread, and the other is a happy birthday to TEXAS.

    And y’all better say nice things on the TEXAS one ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    And yโ€™all better say nice things on the TEXAS one

    I’ll use small words, so y’all will understand, too.

  10. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Bad things about Texas? Are there such things?

  11. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Um I did not see the happy birthday to Texas. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    It’s just now up, Liz. You didn’t miss it. I was late with it ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Nice small words, J’Ames ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. TerribleTroy March 2, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I’m still alive.

  15. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Stolen from Hotspur:

  16. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    So, I have known about this situation for a little over a week now. I know I may be biased, but I am on the side of the teacher because frankly gut tells me this is not the first time little Miranda was instructed to use English only. This is a private school and the parent has the choice of sending her child there or not. If she is unhappy in the way the matter has been handled there is nothing forcing her to send her child there.
    As for the basketball game, I have on many occasions benched kids for in class behavior. After school activities are a privilege not a right.

    http://www.foxnews.com/us/2012/03/02/teacher-punishes-student-for-saying-hello-love-in-language-her-familys-native/?test=latestnews

    Since I am a non-parent am interested in hearing a parents side of things.

  17. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    @ Troy glad to hear it. How goes the pain?

  18. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    How are you doing, Troy?

    And nice poster, J’Ames ๐Ÿ˜€

  19. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Liz, I can see both sides of the issue, having witness a similar situation with my sister in school.

    When we first came here, we were placed in the regular school, instead of the ESL school. So, we would speak only in Spanish. Well, one day, the girl who sat in front of my sister had her hair up in a bun, but a safety pin was coming loose. So, my sister said, “Tu pinche se esta saliendo,” which in Puerto Rican Spanish meant, “Your bobby pin is loose.” Well, in Mexican dialect, “pinche” is a bad, bad word! My sister was sent to the office and my mom had to come down. Luckily, the principal was a very nice man who understood right away what happened, and proceeded to explain to the young girl and her mother how Spanish is different around the world.

    As an aside, my sister is still friends with Carla of the loose bobby pin ๐Ÿ™‚

    Now, if this girl had been misbehaving all along, I don’t blame the teacher one bit. It strikes me as the mom wants the teacher fired because she dared to call out her kid for her bad behavior. As far as the language goes, the teacher should have asked what she said, and then instructed that all manner of communications of that sort should stay out of the classroom.

    As you say, this is a private school, and the parent has the choice. Frankly, I am a bit sickened by the way the rest of the school admin has been apologizing to the parent. True, there is a lot of bad history, but shit….most of the teachers there have no clue about the history anyway, much less a desire to go back to that.

  20. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Hey Aggie thanks for the thoughts. In regards to the school administration apologizing, from my experiences admin tends to cow tow to parents because they don’t want to lose tuition money.

  21. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 2, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Just wanted to pass along my latest blog post – I filled it with lots and lots of snark:

    Pay to Play (or, No, I Don’t Want to Subsidize Your Sex Life)

    http://wp.me/p1ipEz-1kp

    You want to be able to have consequence-free sex, and you want ME to pay for it with higher insurance rates? OK, fine โ€“ Iโ€™ll make you a deal:

    Iโ€™ll pay for your drunken weekends with whichever guy straps on the beer goggles at last call, but in return I expect you to keep your piehole shut when you have to pay higher insurance rates for MY lifestyle choices.

    And boy, howdy, am I going to stick it to you BUT GOOD.

    You just THINK youโ€™ve been screwed by all of those Frat Boys, but it is nothing compared to the rogering you are going to get from me.

    I am going to start living a life of indulgent luxury โ€“ Iโ€™m going to plop my fat ass on my couch and watch television all day long โ€“ no exercise for me. Iโ€™m going to eat the fattiest, greasiest foods that I can find โ€“ there isnโ€™t going to be a vegetable in sight. I donโ€™t drink, smoke, or use drugs, but I am thinking about taking them up โ€“ just so I can run up your insurance premiums.

    You see Ms. Fluke, you have as much as admitted that no one has to take personal responsibility for their actions. No, you sat in front of a national audience and said that each of us has to pay for whatever other people in the rest of the country decide they want to do.

    And if you donโ€™t want them telling you what you can or cannot do with YOUR body, then you sure as heck donโ€™t get to tell them what they can or cannot do with theirs.,

    There’s more (with pictures!) – I hope you enjoy it!

  22. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    LOVED the full blog post and pictures TiFw

  23. LC Aggie Sith March 2, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Excellent post, Teresa!!! I’m still laughing ๐Ÿ˜€

  24. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 2, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    It gets better – Ms. Fluke isn’t who she professes to be:

    http://www.jammiewf.com/2012/sandra-flukes-appearance-is-no-fluke/

  25. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX March 2, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    Here’s Ms. Fluke’s testimony – she sure does seem to know a LOT of women at Georgetown who have female problems:

    http://is.gd/s3R7cC

    I’m gonna have to see the names of these “women” before I’m inclined to believe her – “Fool me Once”, and all that…..

  26. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    In regards to Ms. Fluke’s testimony:

    What kind of dumbass thinks that after being raped that her insurance will not cover the necessary procedures? and how did that dumbass get accepted to Georgetown University?

  27. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    government mandate insurance probably won’t cover that.

  28. Jay in Ames March 2, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    And Boehner plays right into their hands.

    We truly are the party of stupid.

  29. TerribleTroy March 2, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Look at Fluke. What do you see? Another radical lesbian trying to usher in the new utopia. My thing is this. Fucking without consequence is not a “right” that should be subsidized or promoted by any govt entity. Don’t want to risk getting pregnant, don’t fuck. Not fucking never killed anyone.

    I got good news and bad news. Good news is that I was able to enroll in medical insurance today through my employer. Bad news is I have to get through the next 2 weeks before it comes online. So I will be eating vicoden like candy and I hope my body will cooperate. This shit hurts.

  30. Lizard March 2, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    @ Troy sorry and am praying that the pain subsides.

  31. LC Aggie Sith March 3, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Wait, Fluke is gay??

    WTF does she need contraceptives for??

    Hope you get better Troy, and soon ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Comments are closed.

