Weekend Funneh

25 Feb

Click to embiggenify.

Have a wonderful weekend!! 🙂

21 Responses to “Weekend Funneh”

  1. LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    I can’t think of why I found this funny… 😉

    GOOD MORNING!!!!

  2. TerribleTroy February 25, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    I am sooooo leaving that alone Aggie….. : )

    Came down with a bug last night (prolly my kharmic payback for Beta Boy) chilled, temperature that didnt break until I had sweat every droplet of moisture out of me soaking my blankets. And on top of that “slept” wrong, causing my lower back to be a whiny bitch this morning……

    Act of Valor seems to be doing well, reviews I see are mostly calling it a excellent film all around. Most of the criticism I see revolves around the fact that the SEAL cast “aren’t good actors”. Well no fucking shit they’re not good “actors”! That may have something to do with the fact that they aren’t fucking “ACTORS.” I swear, I find the expectation for a SEAL to be a good actor is just unreasonable, Besides….THATS THE WHOLE POINT OF THE FUCKING FILM. Yaaaaarrrrrrghhh I want to kill kill, kill!!ELEVENTY FUCKING THOUSAND!!!

    Ok…so Im a little “grumpy”, (or whiny, depending on your view) today. Jay let us know what you think of the film, I intend on going tomorrow afternoon. The change in employment status requires me to adjust my original plans.

  3. LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Most of the criticism I see revolves around the fact that the SEAL cast “aren’t good actors”.

    Well, they weren’t “acting”, now were they? They were LIVING IT.

    To Hollywood, real life looks fake.

  4. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    I think I saw a few reviews that said just that, it didn’t look real. Well dumbasses, they filmed it with LIVE AMMUNITION, REAL BOATS, REAL MEN THAT DO THIS FOR A LIVING, AND THEY CHOREOGRAPHED IT FOR THE REST OF US TO UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY DO.

    It doesn’t get any more real.

    For a side exercise, Hollyweird types, try firing a weapon sometime. Notice the sound? It sounds different than in the movies, doesn’t it? I wonder why.

    I hate stupid reviewers.

  5. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    Lots of families at act of valor.

  6. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Act of Valor is a different kind of movie. I’m biased completely, but it was an awesome movie, when you take context into account. But even if you don’t, a couple of things really stood out.

    1) The photography was absolutely beautiful. I mean literally stunning. Colors. Contrast. Sharpness. No filtering. Excellent cinematography, and excellent scene selections.

    2) People have commented about the acting. I didn’t find it that stilted. In fact, they acted more like real people than actors ever do.

    3) The action sequences are expertly done. Factor in using live ammunition, and the boat scene takes on a whole new level of awesome. The river scene was my favorite in the movie, followed closely by the car chase.

    The decision to use real SEALS was a show stopping great decision. No one else could pull that off, and give it authenticity. People are going to say that it is hyped up, and nothing like that ever happens. I will just sadly shake my head at them, and walk off.

    This is a must see. Seriously, it’s really good.

    • LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      J’Ames, I am looking very much forward to watching it. I am a wee bit concerned by what I read at Protein Wisdom about it, though.

      http://proteinwisdom.com/?p=37771

      From accounts coming in, I don’t think anyone noticed the villain was Jewish. He was just a bad guy.

  7. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    It is true. But I agree with you, it wasn’t like he was wearing it on his sleeve. It was incidental.

    • LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Pity that Jeff will take a pass on this just because of that. I would have expected him to at least criticize the film based on his opinion.

  8. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    Maybe he’ll come around. He’s doing a disservice if he doesn’t. He’d really like this movie, and that was a truly outstanding scene.

  9. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    The one thing that shocked me in the credits, was this line (not a spoiler):

    In Association with Tom Clancy

    I had not heard that connection, but it makes perfect sense.

    (the nuclear submarine scene is SO COOL!)

  10. LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Well, far be it for me to miss it.

    Maybe the bad guy is a foil for Soros 😀

  11. LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Tom Clancy??? No shit???

    Whoa….

  12. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Heh, someone mentioned that in the comments at PW

  13. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Yeah, aggie, both Mrs Ames and me were surprised by that one.

    Barely saw it, through the dust, though. (bring kleenex)

  14. LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Oh, I know I’m going to cry. It’s a given, J’Ames.

  15. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    Closing song, btw:

  16. Jay in Ames February 25, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Top Comment:

    I just went and saw Act of Valor tonight with my Fiance. I just recently left the military back in August after 16 years of service. After watching this movie, and it did bring a tear to my eye, I think I might try and go back in. Even more so now after seeing the audience’s reaction when NOBODY left their seat, not even when the credits starting rolling with the soldier’s names who have made the ultimate sacrifice. I stand now and proudly salute the brave men and women who continue to serve.

    It was the same at our theatre.

  17. LC Aggie Sith February 25, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Good God in Heaven….

    I’m bereft of words, and can barely type as it is.

  18. TerribleTroy February 26, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I saw the “concerns” about the villain being a Jew yesterday. I wonder if any hand ringers considered that maybe that was a “slap” toward certain hollywood elite that refused to support the production? Im about as pro-Israel as one can get, but there are asshole jews out there just like there are asshole americans etc. etc. Look at the support for Obama by Jewish voters last time around. Seems to me some folks are being a bit too sensitive about the issue, especially given its “weight” in the storyline.

  19. LC Aggie Sith February 26, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    That’s a great point, Troy.

    Every section of humanity has its assholes.

Comments are closed.

