Get Up and At ‘Em

17 Jan

I’m on my second little pot of coffee. I plan on letting the world shake around me today.

Have a good one!

71 Responses to “Get Up and At ‘Em”

  1. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    GOOD MORNING PEASANTS!!!!

    Is the world shaking, or is that just me?????

  2. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    No, that’s me, stamping on the floor of the car, since everyone forgot how to drive in snow, again.

    Grrrrrr.

  3. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    But you live in Iowa, J’Ames. It snows there. How do people forget that??

  4. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    It happens every single year. First real snow, and everyone freaks out. I don’t mind driving in it, it’s other drivers that make it really treacherous.

    I also keep my eyes peeled for southern state license plates, like Texas.

  5. The Queen January 17, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Most Texans around here don’t even know how to drive in the rain… but that’s because it NEVER rains!
    I think that shaking is just you Aggie…. or me…. not sure which!

  6. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    I also keep my eyes peeled for southern state license plates, like Texas.

    Wise move ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like Queen says, we can’t even drive in rain…

  7. clintbird January 17, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    This made me all warm in the swimsuit area:

    http://video.foxnews.com/v/1395835597001/

  8. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    It’s nothing against southern states, but if you aren’t used to it, snow is like walking around a crowded room with a thin cloth over your eyes. It just makes everything really difficult, and you have to concentrate on what everyone else is doing. Everything takes longer, and starting/stopping is an adventure. It takes practice, and if you haven’t done it, you are in for a fun time.

  9. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Hah, I loved that part, CB!

  10. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    That was an awesome clip.

  11. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Just in case y’all forgot to put this on your to do list:

    Jill Biden info@barackobama.com

    Jay —

    Michelle’s birthday is today — and I think you’ll agree with me when I say she’s a pretty special woman.

    So I hope you’ll take a moment to sign her card before we deliver it. You can even leave a note if you’d like:

    no linky! my.barackobama.com/For-Michelle

    After all, everyone loves hearing from friends on their birthday. And the year ahead is going to be a tough one, so I know this card will mean the world to Michelle.

    Thanks,

    Jill

  12. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    I donโ€™t mind driving in it, itโ€™s other drivers that make it really treacherous.

    Gonna get that, only turned up to 11 in just a few hours…

  13. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    Does she mean “special” the way we mean “special”??

  14. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    Aggs, I think you could probably chalk it up to an unfortunate choice of words…probably

  15. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    I don’t know, BisW…. Jill is definitely not Michelle’s BFF.

    Besides, she could have used other words, such as “wonderful”. That probably made her barf, though.

  16. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Dear Mooch:

    We were going to get you a cookie, but you ate them all.

    On a better than first class flight, to one of your unimaginably lavish vacations.

    That we paid for.

    So we decided to buy you an outfit. Then we remembered your obvious confusion of designaer labels with having taste.

    So we decided to get you this card instead.

  17. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    PS Paula Deen wants her butter back. Tubby.

  18. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Poor Paula…she was diagnosed with Diabetes ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  19. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    It’ll be ok, sugar.

    /Paula

  20. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    I do feel bad, because this may force her to change her cooking and recipes.

  21. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    I doubt it.

    She was actually diagnosed three years ago.

  22. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Everything is ok, in moderation. Even diabetics get to eat some sugar, they just have to be really careful. Mind you, I’m talking about the diabetes that my family experiences (mom, dad, aunt). Not extreme cases, and I’m not sure how serious her particular case is.

  23. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    My itty bitty blog got 230 hits on my pitiful short story yesterday.

    *glares at BisW and J’Ames for not playing*

  24. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Aggie, I don’t write on command, and I gave you three chapters above.

    What more do you want?

    Jay, I find that there is little or no predictability to how my sugar intake will affect my sugar. Stress seems to be the only thing that I KNOW will cause spikes. Everything else is guessing.

  25. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Besides, as I started reading yours, I was getting a flavor of something completely different than what it was.

  26. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Well, I know you don’t, BisW. And yes, I have enjoyed your writing, which is why I thought you would have done it. I was only teasing.

    And how do you mean, a different flavor? Is that bad?

  27. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    I thought about it a little more, and I’m trying to work out an outline in my head. After my production deploy is done, I might be able to think it out some more.

  28. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    No need to do a story at all, J’Ames. It was just for fun, though I do like your writing style.

  29. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    BiW, time to go skiing buddy!

  30. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    And how do you mean, a different flavor? Is that bad?

    Given the title and the opening?

    I was thinking “abortion clinic”.

  31. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    BiW, time to go skiing buddy!

    Kinda did that on my way to work this morning. My car is lighter than it looks.

  32. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Just read on Drudge that you guys are fucked come tonight.

  33. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    BisW, that would never be a topic for me. I’m sorry if you were distressed.

    Hey, Dick!

  34. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    And you have my permission to take tomorrow off.

  35. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Hi, Princess!

  36. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Ooooh…can I take tomorrow off????

  37. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Princess?

    Where the fuck is my tiara?

  38. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Tiara? We don’t need no stinkin’ Tiaras!

  39. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Hm…good point.

    It would just mess up my hair anyway.

  40. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Bow chicka wow wow! Oh, wait… Wrong kind of messed up hair.

  41. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Just read on Drudge that you guys are fucked come tonight.

    Tonight???

    According to the hourly temps on the weather channel online, we can expect to drop down to freezing again at around 5 where I live, so my ass is gone from here no later than 4 pm today.

  42. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Well all I can say is I’m glad that shit hasn’t hit us this year.

  43. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Bow chicka wow wow!

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

  44. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I always thought of 5 PM as the beginning of the “tonight” part of the day. Probably because we sat down to dinner at that time.

  45. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    i will NOT be glared at, for not doing something, princess!

    Hmm, I like this princess stuff. It’s both congratulatory and derogatory. Multitasking word WIN!

  46. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    I stopped glaring ages ago.

  47. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    *glares at BisW and Jโ€™Ames for not playing*

    Hmmmmmmmm.

  48. clintbird January 17, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I think I need me a Raylan hat. I’ve got an Indiana Jones Fedora but that’s a whole different fashion statement.

  49. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    I glared at 1:24 PM EST. I stopped glaring at 1:26 PM EST.

    That’s simply ages.

    And yes, you do, CB.

  50. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Hehe, nicely done.

  51. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX January 17, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Did anyone see last week’s Big Bang Theory when Amy saw that Sheldon got her a TEE-AHHH-RAAAAA!!!!!!!

    Was that great, or what?

    Also, Last Man Standing is on tonight, an hour before Justified – you get treated to a double helping of LMS this evening. If you haven’t seen it yet, you’ll definitely want to tune in; it’s a sweet and funny show – Mr. TiFW and I just love it!

    BiW – you be careful out there this afternoon, OK?

  52. clintbird January 17, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    No go, TiFW. The show was almost/probably is cancelled plus there’s a UK basketball game on ESPN>

  53. TerribleTroy January 17, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    That was freaking hillarious TiFW! Have you seen the episode where Amy wants to introduce Sheldon to her mother?

  54. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Hey Troy!

    How’s the tooth? Keeping warm?

  55. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX January 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Awwwww – that was a cute/funny show ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    In other news, dinner tonight is slow-cooker roast beast with rice and gravy.
    There will be broccoli.

  56. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere January 17, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    And then there will be gas.

  57. Dick (@DicksTrash) January 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    I can’t believe Teresa’s not raising nine kinds of hell about this.
    http://www.patheos.com/blogs/theanchoress/2012/01/17/you-love-your-kid-too-bad/

  58. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Holy shit, Dick. I feel blood boiling behind my eyes.

  59. TerribleTroy January 17, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    The temp has crashed here, tooth is tolerable, threw my back out and got the flu. Functioning now under the grace of the vicoden gods, but I woke up and dressed meself today so Im still ahead of the game. In the really good news side of the fence, we welcomed a new baby into the family today, and the better half assisted in the delivery as part of completing her “clinical’s.” Baby and Baby momma doing fine. Im kinda jealous cause that baby has access to really really big BOOBIES!

  60. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    Awwww, sorry to hear about your back and the flu, Troy.

    And sorry to hear you don’t have access to BOOBIES!!!

  61. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX January 17, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Huh – this from a week ago says that 2 more shows were ordered for LMS’ season. Doesn’t say anything about what’s going to happen after that, though….

    http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/last-man-standing-abc-tim-allen-281277

  62. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX January 17, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Read that earlier, Dick – didn’t want to bring it on the blogs, ‘cuz it’s just too close to home.

    Of course, this is where we are headed with Obamacare – the state will take your money and then decide how to spend it; the peasants just don’t see it yet. By the time that they do, it will be much too late (and I will hopefully not be around to witness the downfall of the greatest medical system in the world today).

    My kids don’t want to hear about it (“I don’t LIKE politics!”), and other family members are sick of hearing me talk about it. At this point, I’M sick of hearing me talk about it.

    It’s just too bad that this little girl isn’t an illegal alien – ‘cuz you KNOW the bleeding heart media would be all over it like flies on a turd…..

  63. Stinky's Dad January 17, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    Media’s on it now. She’s gonna get the transplant.

  64. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX January 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    The worst part about this is that under Obamacare, it won’t MATTER if the media gets on it – and at some point, the media WON’T get on any of these kinds of stories.

    At some point, we’re going to get to where Cuba is now (ultrasounds are very cheap), and prenatal tests for even the most obscure of conditions – like the one this little girl has – will be cheap enough to “warrant” the state using them to get rid of “defectives” before they have a chance to draw breath.

    Again, I hope I am long gone by the time that horrible day arrives…..
    (Sorry to be such a downer tonight – there isn’t any reason for it; some days you just want to scream at the world)

  65. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    And yet, those “death panels” are just fiction….

  66. Stinky's Dad January 17, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Well, either the Supreme Court or a good ol’ fashioned, violent revolution.
    I really don’t care which.

  67. Stinky's Dad January 17, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I’m in lust.
    http://www.weichert.com/39196322/

  68. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    *notices it has three bedrooms*

    YAY!! I can come for a visit ๐Ÿ˜‰

  69. Jay in Ames January 17, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    There’s Sithy Challenge reading material over at my place, if you have trouble sleeping.

  70. LC Aggie Sith January 17, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    I loved it, J’Ames! Wish it would happen ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments are closed.

