Surely your relatives?

20 Dec

62 Responses to “Surely your relatives?”

  1. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Well, at least they are spending the holidays “together”.

    Wow, just wow.

  2. Stinky's Dad December 20, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Jay, it was her granddad. The FIL is just groovy right now, and yes, her grandfather left all sorts of stuff on the Flying Tigers. Kelly’s uncle has it now, I think… I’ve seen a bunch of the old docs and stuff at her granddad’s house, but that was a few years back. Couldn’t begin to tell ya what’s in there.

  3. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Nice, I noticed my error, but hadn’t corrected it.

  4. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Wow…. that takes balls to do.

    So does that pic.

  5. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Really?? I come back from making ornaments and cards and get the silent treatment???

  6. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    At least Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory is on…

  7. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 20, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    You leave Willy’s wonka alone.

    You’re married.

  8. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I don’t want his Wonka.

    I want his chocolate candy sweets factory.

  9. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    That low hanging fruit, you left it there.

    Come back and pick it up. I’m not taking it.

  10. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

  11. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Done, J’Ames.

    I hope…I can’t think of anything bad with the term “factory”.

  12. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Sooooo……

    Did anyone ELSE spend a couple of hours at the ER this morning, getting a gaping wound in their kid’s head stitched back together?

    Just me?

    OK, then…..

  13. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Holy cow, Teresa! What happened?? Is she ok??

  14. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    For your reading pleasure (make sure to click the Look Inside Links)

    http://www.amazon.com/Everything-Obama-Knows-Fixing-Economy/dp/1456529617/

    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0980074231/thedaical-20

  15. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 20, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    I want his chocolate candy sweets factory.

    That would have been funnier if PJM had said it.

  16. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    That would have been funnier if PJM had said it.

    Well, ok…. Is that her schtick? I seldom see her, and she doesn’t come by here, so I don’t know.

  17. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    make sure to click the Look Inside Links

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! I spewed my limeade all over, bastich.

  18. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Well, we got to the climactic scene in the live action “Peter Pan”, and she started jumping up and down on the couch (which we’ve warned her not to do, but which she does anyway), and somehow her foot slipped out from under her – going from front to back – and she did a HARD face plant right onto the coffee table.

    The skin on the forehead being what it is, it split like a banana – blood everywhere, screaming and running around (that would have been ME; she was just holding her head in confusion).

    Grabbed the paper towels to attempt to staunch the bleeding (those head wounds sure do give off a lot of blood), shoved shoes on my feet, put a coat on her and me, started to leave to go to the ER, DD#3 came downstairs, I said “Hi” and “Bye”, bundled Becca into the car and off we went.

    I think I ran a couple of lights.

    The ER is only 5 minutes away from the house.

    We get there – there’s hardly ANYONE in the ER during the day; even so, if you have a gaping wound, you go straight to the head of the line.

    We get asked the same questions over and over again – ‘cuz you know, we’ve been parents for 25 years and have MAYBE been to the ER 3-4 times…..

    But, they have to ask.

    Anyway, they gave her some GOOD drugs, and stitched her up – 5 internal and 9 external.

    Now we’re at home, watching her like a hawk, ‘cuz she’s not quite herself yet, and given how hard she hit her head I’m a little bit concerned (she doesn’t have a big goose egg like I’d expect to see).

    The ER doc didn’t seem to think we had anything to worry about, but Becca doesn’t EVER complain, so it’s hard to know if she’s feeling OK or not.

  19. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Down’s children have a very high tolerance for pain, right? I hope she will be alright for the trip tomorrow.

    Poor baby… oh, and I sent you an email.

  20. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    She’ll be fine, just a headache. But you’re right, head wounds sure do bleed, don’t they? Sliced mine open, and you’d think I was butchering elephants from the amount of blood.

    Keep an eye on her, but she’ll bounce back. Bonus, she probably won’t jump on the couch any time soon!

  21. Stinky's Dad December 20, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Don’t open think link of me at the air show.
    http://is.gd/rRH0mp

    Teresa, until you know all the ER nurses on a first name basis, ya aren’t clumsy enough. Speaking of which, the doc told me this morning the scrape on my cornea should heal in 7-10 days. Yes, it sucks.

  22. Stinky's Dad December 20, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Think = this? Really? WTF was I typing?

  23. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Of course, The Boy is here, bless his heart – and all of this is happening around him! He’s certainly going to have some stories to relate when he gets back home….

    DD#3 was quite kind – she cleaned up the mess at home before we got back, and also went across the street to talk to our neighbor about watching the pets while we’re away visiting family (since I was occupied elsewhere).

    We did meet DD#3 and The Boy for lunch before they headed down to pick up DD#2. Had a lovely time with them; he’s quite a nice young man, and we apparently haven’t scared him off yet.

    And as DD#3 told him – he’s the only one she’s actually brought home to meet mom and dad, and she keeps warning us to “be nice” to him, so as far as she’s concerned, he’s not going anywhere anytime soon.

    I think he’ll fit in nicely with us – he said he likes sarcasm…..

  24. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 20, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Old…blind…can’t type.

    ______________________________

    She with eleventy children joking about wanting some guy’s factory in a joke that started with a peen reference….

    It just isn’t funny if I have to explain it….

  25. Stinky's Dad December 20, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Dick won’t get hard…. Okay, that still works.

  26. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 20, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Well, at least you can still drink. 😉

  27. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Down’s children have a very high tolerance for pain, right?

    The child doesn’t EVER complain….

    It’s a 2-edged sword in this case – I’d feel better if I knew how she is feeling…..

    I’m sure she’s OK, but she hit that table HARD, and it’s a pretty solid chunk of wood.

  28. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    Okay, that still works.

    *thud*

  29. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    It just isn’t funny if I have to explain it….

    My bad… I’m just out of it today.

    I think it’s all the swooning over SD.

  30. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Is this thing on??

  31. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Yep, it’s on.

  32. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Just checking…

  33. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Still on…

  34. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Yep, and plugged in.

  35. Stinky's Dad December 20, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Swooning: To swoon, or smack about the head & shoulders with a frying pan.

  36. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I leave the frying pan to Kelly 😀

  37. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Those cast iron ones HURT!

  38. Stinky's Dad December 20, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    My eyeball is on fire, and has been since yesterday. This sucks worse than Obama’s policies, almost

  39. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Yannow how they USED to tell you not to let a kid fall asleep after they cracked their noggin?

    Well, that’s not the case anymore – in fact, it’s OK for their little brains to re-boot themselves after a fall.

    But then they tell you that excessive sleepiness is a problem.

    So now I’m trying to decide if Rebecca falling asleep on the couch is a good or bad thing.

    (She isn’t very happy with me checking on her every so often to make sure she is “rousable”…..)

  40. Jay in Ames December 20, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    I’d say let her sleep, if the doc said it was ok. He would have kept her for observation, if there was any danger.

  41. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    In all of today’s excitement, I never got around to advertising today’s blog post:

    My Advent Calendar of Music – Day #20: Sounds Like Christmas http://t.co/LntgFVjt

    Today’s selections are several old “standards”…..

  42. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    That’s what I figure, J’Ames; and she just woke up on her own and started talking, so I’m feeling better….

  43. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Sounds like she’ll be just fine, Teresa.

    I can’t wait to meet her, and you too!!

  44. roamingfirehydrant December 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I gave up getting nice, formal Christmas pictures with my kids because there would inevitably be an ER visit or something bad right before. One of these days…

  45. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I never even THOUGHT to do pics for the holidays.

    And it has worked for me so far.

  46. roamingfirehydrant December 20, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    The family Christmas pics from three years ago are the last good ones we have of Jeff’s sister.

    Oh man, I missed Jazz! (reloads)

  47. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    He said he would return soon, hopefully by this evening.

    Poor guy has been strung, and depressed. Hopefully we can cheer him up 🙂

  48. roamingfirehydrant December 20, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I saw where he hadn’t opened the package I sent him. 😦 Jazz, it’s a rosary, the one I promised you.

  49. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    That was sweet of you to do, Roamy. I hope he decides to open it now. 😦

  50. roamingfirehydrant December 20, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    I have to give PattyAnn credit for the idea. She said she’d even send me money for the materials. I said no, of course.

  51. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    PattyAnn never failed to think of others. I miss her so.

  52. roamingfirehydrant December 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Me, too.

    **raises a glass of wine to her sweet memory

  53. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    HA!! I was just doing the same thing 😀

    *raises glass to PattyAnn*

  54. roamingfirehydrant December 20, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Great minds think alike. And then there’s us. 😀

  55. TerribleTroy December 20, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Awwww. Isnt that special! She threw a lil gang sign in there for all the Homies…….

    Note on the back reads…..

    Yeah, yeah, UH ! Merry Christmas YO! I hope mutha fuckin Santa (cracka that he is) brings all you mofo’s all kinds of bling and shit! This year for Xmas we asked the crackas for some time off for good behavior. And if we cants be gettin any of that, maybe some credits at the canteen!

    Peace Out Bitches

    Shawnika and Diante Johnson

  56. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Troy, you made me spew EVERYWHERE!!!!!!!!!

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!

    Roamy, us, indeed 😀

  57. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Well, Becca’s back to her usual chipper self – chattering away and telling Mr. TiFW how to fold the laundry right.

    Thank you, God.

  58. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 20, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Troy, didn’t you see the billboard? Santa gives better/more presents to rich kids than to poor kids.

    Santa HATES poor kids!!!!!!

  59. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Rebecca bounced back just fine 🙂

  60. LC Aggie Sith December 20, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Sad news to impart. Cathy’s dad passed away today 😦

  61. Jay in Ames December 21, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    Sad news indeed. Pass along condolences, aggie.

  62. Jay in Ames December 21, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    aggie, I put a poat in draft. Post it, if you feel it’s appropriate. If not, delete it.

Comments are closed.

