A Christmas Comedy Classic

6 Dec

While doing research for my “Advent” series over at my blog, I ran across this chestnut from a couple of years before I was born. The more things change…..
.

.
Have a great day!

Found this one, too (from 1953):
.

.

58 Responses to “A Christmas Comedy Classic”

  1. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Lesse here: No access to youtube, so I’m gonna have to guess at this one.

    Advent = Christmas music.

    Couple years before TiFW was born = older than me

    Chestnut = The Christmas Song

    So, it’s Mel Torme’s The Christmas Song, done by Nat King Cole, right?

  2. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    This is the best poat in the history of poats!

    If you get a chance, take a gander at today’s “Advent Calendar” post over at my blog (hey, I’m up early – indulge me) – today’s post is one I particularly like (it drops at 8:00 this morning):

    My Advent Calendar of Music – Day #6: Herod the King: http://wp.me/p1ipEz-Vk

  3. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Not even close, Jaybird – it’s Stan Freberg’s “Green Christmas”, with an added bonus: “Christmas Dragnet”.

  4. Car in December 6, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    wanky wanky.

    Heroin addict Scott Weiland did a Christmas album this year. Can’t wait to get it.

  5. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    Newt on Glenn Beck right now. Beck is not a fan, so this should be a pretty good interview. Newt isn’t going to get a free pass on this one.

  6. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Wow, J’Ames, that ought to be good.

    Thank you Carin, for the wakey wakey.

    Teresa, that Dragnet one is pure gold!

  7. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    Y’all remember the first VJs on MTV? Mark Goodman, with the dark, delicious curly hair?

    I just found out he is a conservative. Not a republican, but a conservative.

    I may have to stalk him again….

  8. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    I got busy, so I’ll have to catch that interview on a later broadcast.

  9. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Hopefully it will be online, J’Ames. I got the last minute of it.

    *cries a river*

  10. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    It will be on The Blaze, I’m sure. He always puts up important interviews.

  11. TerribleTroy December 6, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Well I don’t know about anyone else, but given a choice I have to go with the heroin addict christmas music. Everybody knows that heroin brings you closer to god….now where did I put my oxycontin prayer pills?

  12. Car in December 6, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I don’t get Beck here. I wish they’d put transcripts up.

  13. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    now where did I put my oxycontin prayer pills?

    Morphine, FTW!

  14. Car in December 6, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Terrible Troy – it’s horrible. I think the heroin has affected his brain.

  15. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    oxycontin prayer pills

    Troy just won the comments 😀

  16. Car in December 6, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    As for Christmas music, I like to stick with the classics.

  17. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Bachmann is gonna be on Beck, too. That’s who he seems to be leaning towards, along with Santorum.

  18. clintbird December 6, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Libtards, MSM and entrenched DC Republicans all bashing Newt Gingrich: Proof positive he’ll be our next great POTUS!

  19. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I’d have to say that Beck is not in that group, cb. Different reasons to oppose him, for sure.

    I’m still leery. So far, Gingrich is the smartest person in the room, but what have we heard as far as actual policy? He’s not gonna eliminate the Dept of Education, HUD, etc. At least he hasn’t said so. I wish Perry would catch on more, cuz I’m a lot more comfortable with his “rock in the shoe” stance re: the Washington establishment.

  20. clintbird December 6, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Based on your comments, Jay, I have to assume you haven’t thoroughly read all that’s posted on Newt’s website???

  21. clintbird December 6, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    BTW, Perry doesn’t have a snowball’s chance in Hell of catching on.

  22. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Is it acceptable to get your 12 year old girl a Hitchcock collection for Christmas?

  23. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Ummm….I don’t think that one’s going on my “Advent Calendar”, Car in….

    Nice meth mouth on the lead singer, BTW.

    Added bonus: he enunciates almost as well as Bob Dylan!

    *TiFW goes over to corner, finds a place without any tobaccy juice on it, sits down, quietly weeps for the lack of love for her Christmas music poats*

    Any of youze guys even PRETEND you’re gonna spit some chaw on me, and I’ma take Mr. TiFW’s Glock and plug ya where ya stand….

  24. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Aggie, I think your daughter would LOVE a Hitchcock collection!

    DD#1 asked for Sinatra music a few years back – kids love the “classics” once they’ve seen/heard them….

  25. clintbird December 6, 2011 at 11:37 am #

  26. Car in December 6, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Ummm….I don’t think that one’s going on my “Advent Calendar”, Car in….

    Nice meth mouth on the lead singer, BTW.

    Ha ha ha. His rotten teeth are the stuff of legend.

    But really, what do you expect from me?

  27. Car in December 6, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Ok, here’s one I like that TiFW could listen to:

  28. Car in December 6, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    The Chieftans also do a version I find acceptable.

  29. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Everyone knows this is the bestest Christmas song ever:

  30. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Nice song, but who spelled the title??

  31. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Major problem, cb.

    http://www.newt.org/solutions/jobs-economy

    Nothing there about cutting spending. Or eliminating departments. I note that I don’t think he’ll increase it, but he doesn’t say he’ll cut spending. He says he’ll control it.

    This is why I’m leery.

  32. Jay in Ames December 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I like Newt, a lot. I’ve said as much. I also think he’s more suited to a cabinet position, especially with Coburn and others coming out with the long knives. He’s got lots of baggage, fair or not.

    Doesn’t matter if it’s fair, the dims will use it anyway. Doesn’t matter to me, either, I am voting Anyone but Obama.

    Yes that includes Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, John McCain. Even Hillary would be an improvement.

  33. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    *smiles at the thought of President Hillary getting semen on her dress from an intern and telling Billy Jeff of the bent dick about it……in a prime time news conference*

  34. clintbird December 6, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Jay, as I’m sure you read on that very page, he proposes a Balanced Budget Amendment and a Flat Tax system – pretty conservative positions in my way of thinking.

    Next, POTUS don’t spend a dime. That’s Congress’ job. So if you want to fix that, Conservatives need to gain control of both houses of Congress.

    Next, he unlike hardcore Tea Party types has enough experience/sense to know, the mess that’s been created by both parties in DC will not be fixed overnight in one fell swoop.

  35. MCPO Airdale December 6, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Ooh, see the fire is sweepin’ our very street today
    Burns like a red coal carpet, mad bull lost its way. . .

  36. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Just back from meeting with a friend from high school that I haven’t seen in 27 years.

    I have more grey than ever….

  37. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    The College Republicans put out a cute commercial: “Want to Save Christmas? Vote Republican.”

    http://theothermccain.com/2011/12/06/video-how-obama-stole-christmas/

  38. MCPO Airdale December 6, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Aggie – How bad was it?

  39. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    HAHAHA!! Very cute 😀

    MCPO, it was fun. I just hadn’t realized it had been so long. Last time I saw him we hugged at our graduation!

  40. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Hey, I have a VERY eclectic range of music picked out for this month – some secular, some sacred, some “traditional”, some that will burn down the barn.

    I’ve got most of the posts already written and scheduled, with a couple more still to complete fleshing out.

    The only one that I haven’t even started on is the one for December 12th – that’s the anniversary of my sister’s death, and while I have a special “themed” musical post in mind for that date, I know that my mind is trying not to deal with it until the very last minute.

    It will get done, but I’m not fighting myself on this one – I’m getting the rest of them out of the way first so that I can concentrate on that one all by itself….

  41. MCPO Airdale December 6, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Agiie – Did he hit on you? Dish, girlfriend!

  42. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    It’s a Festivus miracle:
    http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2011/12/skateboarding-drug-dealers-spit-on-occupiers-eat-their-food-chase-them-from-park/

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

    Thanks, Santa!

  43. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Yeah, if he didn’t grab your butt once, then he musy be teh ghey!

  44. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    And the Occupests bring us yet another feel-good moment!

    I love it!

  45. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Chief – I’m gonna give you an early Christmas present, “just because”.

    These 2 selections will be airing on Day #8 and Day #15, respectively:

    If you’re really, really good, Aggie might let you take her for a spin around the dance floor for this little number, airing on Day #19:

  46. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    OMG, people! Of course he didn’t hit on me!!

    Sheesh…

    LMAO at the Occupissers 😀

  47. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    OMG, people! Of course he didn’t hit on me!!

    Yup. He’s teh ghey.

  48. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Curses! No juicy gossip from Aggie’s rendezvous….

    *runs from blog, sobbing, “You don’t love us!”; attempts to slam saloon door open, falls on face when they swing out, in, then out again, hitting backside and propelling body into sidewalk*

  49. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    So I was thinking the other day “Why shouldn’t I change the layout from immodest hooooors to more modest ones?”

    And then I remember “Because Patty Ann worked too damn hard to get me a pianer playah.”

  50. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    He’s teh ghey.

    No, he’s just not Paesanty 😀

    “Because Patty Ann worked too damn hard to get me a pianer playah.”

    HAHAHA!! No, I got the pianer playah, but she placed it in the frame. Goodness, I miss her.

  51. clintbird December 6, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I think about PattyAnn alot. I too sure miss her.

  52. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 6, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Patty Ann placed Car In’s purple dildo lovingly (and “just so”) in that sweet young lady’s outstretched hand, as I recall.

    One wonders if John knew what she was doing all that time on the computer…

  53. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I’m pretty sure he was looking over her shoulder the whole time, Teresa 😉

  54. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 6, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Dear God,

    Please give us Patty Ann back, and take Nancy Pelosi instead.

    Thank you,

    Me.

  55. LC Aggie Sith December 6, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    AMEN!!!!

  56. MCPO Airdale December 6, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Double AMEN!

  57. clintbird December 7, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Triple Amen!!!

Comments are closed.

