Sunday in the Park With George

4 Dec

And because it’s Carin’s Birthday:

HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY CARIN!!! 😀

64 Responses to “Sunday in the Park With George”

  1. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    This poat is filled with pure awesomeness.

  2. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Today’s Christmas music – Blue Christmas (Look for a cameo by Dave’s puppeh on the first video at around the 1:30 mark)
    http://t.co/XCZpVBMN

    LOVE George Carlin!

    My goodness, that is some really red hair on that boy’s head….(SYWM)

  3. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 4, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Car in, I hope your special day is free of car-deer collisions and trips to De- troyet.
    Happy Birthday!

  4. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    IS THAT NOT THE BEST REDHEAD EVAH???

  5. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    He has teh ghey spread all over him.

  6. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    And there’s my little harbinger 😉

  7. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    TeeHee!

  8. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    I saw the movie, Real Steel, last night. Pretty good actually.

  9. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    The robots in the ring flick? It sounds like fun, but I have to preview it before letting kidlets watch, just in case.

  10. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    It’s a pretty mild PG 13. Some cussing mostly is why it got its rating.

  11. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Well, then I should let them enjoy some mindless brain candy 🙂

  12. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Nice poat. Not bad for a Sunday morning.

  13. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Everyone needs a redhead in the morning, J’Ames.

    Wait… what are you talking about?

  14. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Not a big redhead fan, but whatever floats your boat. We’ll speak nicely of the gingers, since it’s Car in’s name day.

  15. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I can honestly say that Carin and I are sympatico in this case.

    Music is a whole ‘nother story….

  16. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Gah…I hate getting into some stupid crap on FB with Deej. BisW, if you get time, check Jaybear’s status and bring the hammer down on the moron.

  17. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Oh goody, DJ going off the rails again?

  18. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Dude says that the media NEVER gave a pass to Clinton during Monicagate.

    GAH!!!

  19. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Oh good – we’re talking about things that have us steamed! Mr. TiFW just called me up, madder than a wet hen about today’s sermon topic (I can’t sit in a pew for an hour these days, so he “represents” for me). Mr. TiFW is one of the easiest-going folks out there, so you KNOW this upset him….

    We have a brand new pastor who apparently is toeing the new Methodist line – today’s sermon topic was about “Acceptance”. But guess who we’re supposed to accept?

    I’ll let you guess, then I’ll get back to you with the answer….

  20. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Hmm, I’m thinking it has to do with same sex couples, amirite?

  21. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Test your news IQ: http://pewresearch.org/politicalquiz/quiz/index.php

  22. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    NEW POAT!

    …for tomorrow morning.

    Heh.

  23. Car in December 4, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    OMG- thud

  24. Car in December 4, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    We have a brand new pastor who apparently is toeing the new Methodist line – today’s sermon topic was about “Acceptance”. But guess who we’re supposed to accept?

    I’ll let you guess, then I’ll get back to you with the answer….

    Redheads? ’cause I’m ok with everyone hating them. More for Aggie and I.

  25. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Car in! Did you get anything cool?

  26. Car in December 4, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    This poat just needs one more redhead. brb

  27. Car in December 4, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Cyn got me a crowd of Chippendale dancers and Aggie got me a redhead. WHat else do I need?

    I just got back from my birthday hunt with my husband. I want a fancy dancy warm running tights/skirt thing. WHich I am now the proud owner of. I can’t wait to take it for a spin.

    It’s this one. It’s clingly in the legs, making it nice to run int, but it doesn’t show your butt to people driving by. Also a little bit extra to keep the bum warm. I lurve. it.

  28. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Nice update, Car in!

  29. Car in December 4, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Thank you. I love the live version of that song. The lady playing the … I don’t know what she’s playing actually – anyway, she died not too long ago from Cancer. She was a pivotal member of QOTSA fora while.

  30. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Just back from grocery shopping and I am SOOOO GLAD that Carin likes her present 😀

  31. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I bet your ass looks AWESOME in that, Carin.

    Wut?

  32. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    But guess who we’re supposed to accept?

    Gay muslims who club baby seals for Allah?

  33. MCPO Airdale December 4, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I don’t like that the skirt-thingy covers Carin’s magnificent ass.

  34. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    It accentuates her ass, MCPO.

  35. Jay in Ames December 4, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    When do we find out the answer to your question, TiFW?

  36. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Gay muslims who club baby seals for Allah?

    THAT he might be OK with (sorry it took so long to get back – Mr. TiFW got home and has been ranting; DD#2 is making changes; DD#3 went to the store without a grocery list and didn’t hear her phone ringing…and ringing…and ringing…).

    No.

    We’re supposed to not only be accepting of ILLEGAL aliens, the example that was used was of a young lady who was brought over here when she was 18 months old and who now can’t get any financial aid, so she won’t be able to go to the college of her choice…

    Cry me an f’in river.

  37. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    We don’t give that much to the church (I didn’t think we did, anyway), but Mr. TiFW looked at the stats from last week’s giving, and our contribution was almost 10% of the total….

    I’m thinking that the OTHER top donors at our church – i.e., the folks who are older than us (including the couple who stands RIGHT BEHIND Bush #41 at the A&M games for reasons unknown, but I can guess why….) and who never got ANY financial aid to go to college, yet managed to not only graduate but be extremely successful in life – are none too happy about it, either.

    As Mr. TiFW said, “I don’t go to church to hear politics from the pulpit”…..

  38. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    We’re supposed to not only be accepting of ILLEGAL aliens

    Hey, let the church pay for them with THEIR OWN MONEY and not their tithes. They will change their tune soon enough.

  39. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    “I don’t go to church to hear politics from the pulpit”

    Where the fuck is the ACLU when you need it??

  40. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Aggie, I am pretty sure it wasn’t anyone who goes to our church – heck for all I know, “she” could have been one of those “hypothetical” kids that progressives are fond of fabricating out of thin air.

    If this kid lives in Texas, she is allowed to compete for slots at state universities, as long as she is also applying for citizenship – honestly, as long as our esteemed Federal gov’t isn’t going to allow us to enforce the rules on the books, that’s a compromise I’m willing to make for kids who have been here a long time AS LONG AS THEY QUALIFY IN THE FIRST PLACE.

    But if they aren’t citizens, THEY DON’T GET TO USE FEDERAL/STATE MONEY TO PAY FOR IT. If their parents have been here that many years and have not been paying any federal/state taxes, they should have money saved up to put their kids through college. Meanwhile, we never SEE 33% of Mr. TiFW’s paycheck, between taxes, SS/Medicare, and 401(K) contributions.

    Get a job like the rest of us did; go to community college and live at home; find some bleeding-heart liberal to pay your way.

  41. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    ^^^^ What Teresa said.

  42. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Where the fuck is the ACLU when you need it??

    Pssshh – protect a Christian from someone who is toeing the party line?

    Perish the thought…

  43. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    The TiFW’s Christmas Tree:
    http://is.gd/uMN0AU

    The Ornament on the far left is a “drum” I made in 2nd grade:
    http://is.gd/e4wUCZ
    (The star at the top is the one that was on my family’s Christmas tree when I was growing up)

    The kids HATE the tree; oldest calls it “the coat rack”.

    I don’t care – I get to see all of my favorite ornaments all at once…..

  44. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Well, I love it, Teresa. It has a history 🙂

  45. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    The tree is “new”, Ags – we’ve only had it a few years; it replaced the 4 1/2-foot tree that we had for years (due to lack of space, crawling kids, and/or animals (and cheap parents).

    But it must be pretty popular – it sells out every year; I had to wait until May to get mine the year that I ordered it…..

  46. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I finally got a fake tree last year. Kids and Hubby wanted a real one, but I was the one in charge of taking care of it, so I won that battle.

    Took me 17 years, but I WON, DAMNIT!!!

  47. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Mr. TiFW was none too pleased when I told him I was getting a new tree (after I saw that one in the catalog, I HAD to have it); I told him we could get that one or a traditional one that cost 3-4 times as much, but we WERE getting a new tree, and since he never wants to put it up….

    If he ever starts to complain, I invite him to go pick a new one out and purchase it, put it up, find a place to store it, etc….

    Funny thing – the discussion pretty much stops there every single time – 😛

  48. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Oh, and we’ve NEVER had a real tree – my allergies are horrible! My parents got a fake tree when I was in 3rd or 4th grade (and it was an ugly SOB; I HATED putting that sucker together – I think it was designed by blind Chinese midgets).

    My grandmother used to have a silver tree with the rotating “color wheel” – I thought it was cool; my mom and my aunts couldn’t stand the thing….

    I guess history repeats itself – it just skips a generation!

  49. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    the discussion pretty much stops there every single time

    Damn skippy 😀

    I remember the silver trees, too. It was a big deal to own a fake tree in PR, much more so a SILVER TINSEL TREE!!

    I never said Puerto Ricans had good taste 😉

  50. roamingfirehydrant December 4, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Happy birthday, Carin!

  51. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX December 4, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    This is just wrong (but I LMAO….) –

  52. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 4, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Where the fuck is the ACLU when you need it??

    That isn’t even remotely funny.

    The fact that they can use the Sec. 501(c)(3) cudgel against those members of the Blackrobe regiment doing their duty makes me mad as Hell.

    I will agree that telling you to think or how to vote is one thing. But as shepards of God’s sheep, they have a duty to comment on what is going on around us and what the Bible says about it.

    And there is no shortage of error to discuss, sadly.

    There are so many churches that haven’t just fallen into error, they have embraced it.

  53. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Didn’t meant to make you upset, BisW, but it seems to me rather odd to have a church leader discussing politics when they are told that doing so will result in revocation of tax exempt status.

    That was my point, really.

  54. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 4, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    It happens all the time…like when black churches “invite” politicians (Paging Bill, Shrillary, and Manbearpig) to come speak in their pulpits on Sunday morning in election years…and there is nothing wrong with that…but if you take a stand and dare to say that the state has exceeded it’s sphere of soveriegnty, and is doing things it was never meant to, and they will bigfoot your pastor so quick your head will be blown off.

  55. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I know, BisW. Lots of churches have become hypocritical. I am in a crisis because our new young priest is pushing the Social Justice mantra down our throats. This diocese is so liberal….

  56. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 4, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Run. Run far away.

    The church I was raised in has completely embraced it, and my cousin in its clergy has cleaved to it so tightly that he has started denying scripture.

    It is breaking my heart.

  57. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    How….what….DENYING SCRIPTURE???

    Holy hell….

  58. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere December 4, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    He was part of an event called “End Hunger and Abolish Poverty”.

    I asked him “Do you think that you can really abolish poverty?”

  59. LC Aggie Sith December 4, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    The only way to abolish poverty is to change the name.

  60. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Aggie, if your young preacher is preaching social justice you need to flee that “church” immediately, for it is no longer a church but rather a bully pulpit for Marxism/One World Order. Sorry kiddo, but that’s truth at ya.

  61. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Or at the very least he/she is one of the useful idiots for same.

  62. clintbird December 4, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Oh, and BTW, tonight’s episode of Hell On Wheels was indeed Hell on wheels.

  63. clintbird December 5, 2011 at 12:20 am #

  64. LC Aggie Sith December 5, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    *stretches and yawns*

    Good morning!!

    CB, we done left it. The problem I have is that the crap comes from the archbishop, so it infiltrates ALL of the catholic churches here.

    *waits on new poat*

Comments are closed.

