When Life Imitates Art

1 Oct

When I was a kid, television executives tried to cash in on the Star Wars craze with a show called Battlestar Galactica. In the show, humanity had been betrayed by one of its own to a cruel, inhuman enemy who slaughtered them by the billions, and set the tattered remnants on the run to find safety with its long-lost colony…called Earth.

While on the run, they came across a mysterious figure promising salvation and plenty, if they would just turn command over to him. He called himself Count Iblis (played by the redoubtable Patrick McNee above).

Humanity turned its fate over to him, and he declared a holiday. Celebration and excess ensued…at his encouragement. And the next morning, he showed up in the soldiers’ quarters, kicking them out of bed and berating them. He no longer restrained his contempt for the civilian authorities, and he proceeded to take them on a path of destruction.

Remind you of someone?

“We are the ones we have been waiting for…”

“America has gotten soft…”

29 Responses to “When Life Imitates Art”

  1. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere October 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    This poat blows chunks.

  2. Jay in Ames October 1, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Heh, I loved that show. And the following remake is awesome! I bought the series on Blu Ray.

    Have you seen the new one, BiW?

  3. Stinky's Dad October 1, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Okayu, I’ve now added orientals who sound like orientals to the Indian with a dot group.
    Will NOT work for either one ever again. Today I actually had to threaten to break this cocksucker’s neck before he coughed up the dough. I was totally serious and he believed me.

  4. Jay in Ames October 1, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Assholes come in all colors, don’t they.

  5. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Good thing he believed you – wonder how many people he has stiffed for payment before you?

  6. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    WHY didn’t you people tell me the A&M game is on right now?

    Step up your game, people – I’m peelin’ grapes here….. 😛

  7. Stinky's Dad October 1, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m tired, my keyboard’s acting weird, and my hands are swollen.
    Oh, Teresa… be very careful in what you write under your own name as you don’t have an employer, but hubby does and sometimes assholes can become quite vengeful.

  8. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Unfortunately, RedState is one of the first places I started commenting at a few years ago – at that time, they would only accept your name. I’m not sure how the folks at the NYT found that article – it got posted to Facebook through the RedState portal (when I published it there); somebody else speculated that it was BECAUSE of my last name that they were able to find it….

  9. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Hey, if BiW is here sometime today, I’d like to get his opinion on my latest; it has to do with Law Schools:
    http://teresainfortworth.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/when-future-lawyers-lie/

  10. Stinky's Dad October 1, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Well, GM got very upset with me for publishing my book without their knowledge. (Yes, I did tell them it was none of their fucking business)

  11. Stinky's Dad October 1, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Supposedly from Jeff Foxworthy:

    IF……………

    1. You refine heroin for a living, but you have a moral objection to liquor.
    You may be a Muslim

    2. You own a $3,000 machine gun and $5,000 rocket launcher, but you can’t afford shoes.
    You may be a Muslim

    3. You have more wives than teeth.
    You may be a Muslim

    4. You wipe your butt with your bare hand, but consider bacon unclean.
    You may be a Muslim

    5. You think vests come in two styles: bullet-proof and suicide.
    You may be a Muslim

    6. You can’t think of anyone you haven’t declared Jihad against.
    You may be a Muslim

    7. You consider television dangerous, but routinely carry explosives in your clothing.
    You may be a Muslim

    8. You were amazed to discover that cell phones have uses other than setting off roadside bombs.
    You may be a Muslim

    9. You have nothing against women and think every man should own at least four.
    You may be a Muslim

    10. Your cousin is president of the United States .
    You may be a Muslim

    11. You find this offensive or racist and don’t forward it.
    You may be a Muslim

  12. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere October 1, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Jay…I did see the “reimagining”…and I was disappointed. I was CRUSHINGLY disappointed in the closing.

  13. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Because I am having WAAAAAY too much fun with this live one (I believe he is from another country, judging from his FB page):
    Comment #1:http://teresainfortworth.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/start-the-revolution-without-me/#comment-384

    My reply: http://teresainfortworth.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/start-the-revolution-without-me/#comment-397

    After reading my response, he comments again: http://teresainfortworth.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/start-the-revolution-without-me/#comment-433

    And I have to set his punk ass straight: http://teresainfortworth.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/start-the-revolution-without-me/#comment-445

    Old age and treachery……

  14. LC Aggie Sith October 1, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Teresa….has arrived…. 😉

  15. Stinky's Dad October 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Troll Hunters, Netflixs Instantview was funny as hell, but it damn sure didn’t mean to be.
    Great movie.

  16. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Elizabeth Warren gets satirically hoisted on her own petard:
    http://www.thelibertypapers.org/2011/09/28/warren-makes-a-persuasive-argument-to-redistribute-sex-with-hot-women/

  17. Stinky's Dad October 1, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    This poat is dead with the exception of Teresa’s self-exploitation.

  18. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 1, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Yeah, I’m a total blog whore….

  19. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere October 2, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Mom!!!! TiFW is flogging the blog again!!

  20. Stinky's Dad October 2, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Eeeewwwww!
    I think some it’s stuck to the couch!

  21. LC Aggie Sith October 2, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    GOOD MORNING, PEASANTS!!!!

    C’mon…get up you lazy SOB’s….

  22. clintbird October 2, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    *Tackles LC. Scissor-squeezes her. Tickles her for 2 1/2 minutes. Flees room.*

  23. LC Aggie Sith October 2, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Bastich!!!

  24. GuyS October 2, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Not to worry, I got it all on video! Morning all.

  25. LC Aggie Sith October 2, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Make sure you got my best side, Guy, and not my ass.

  26. Stinky's Dad October 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Feeling better today, Aggie?

  27. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere October 2, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Some days, there is nothing better than the simplicity of a really good piece of bread, toasted and buttered.

    Unlike this poat, which stunk when I poated it yesterday.

    Also, the “Hawkeye” tv series wasn’t bad. Too bad it was only around for a season.

  28. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX October 2, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    OK – I put up a new poat.

    It’s a piece of crap, but it’s new…..

  29. Stinky's Dad October 2, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    It didn’t stink. But rather, it just wasn’t feeling fresh.

Comments are closed.

