United

10 Sep

Just 11 days after the terrorist attacks on 9/11, Aggieland put on a remarkable display of American pride with what is now famously referred to as the “Red, White, and Blue Out.”

If I recall, one Aggie got the idea to do a take on the traditional “Maroon Out”, where Aggies wear either a white T-shirt or a maroon one, depending on which deck they sit. He got friends together, and got in touch with a T-shirt company to see if they could get Aggies to raise money for the NYC firefighter and police funds by selling either red, white or blue shirts depending on the game ticket seat. The company was sold out within two days, and the Aggies organizing it had to scramble for more.

And then Oklahoma State fans called, wanting to participate.

And what was supposed to be a football game became something bigger. It was no longer about A&M or Oklahoma State. It was about our love for our country, and how we would Beat The Hell Outta Terrorism™. This game raised $180,000 for the funds, and sales of photographs of the game raised an additional $30,000.

Beat The Hell Outta Terrorism™!!!! WHOOP!!!!

45 Responses to “United”

  1. LC Aggie Sith September 10, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    It was hard blogging today, here and at Sithy.

  2. Stinky's Dad September 10, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Tomorrow it’ll be harder. I’ll be thinking of Donny the entire day, which is pretty what I do anyway.

    A very nice write up on Rick Rescorla.
    http://news.yahoo.com/a-family-remembers–hero-of-9-11-gave-life-to-save-thousands.html

  3. Jay in Ames September 10, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Nice poaty poat, aggie! I remember seeing that, but I didn’t know the back story.

    Back to Iowa -Iowa State, before I have to go make pizzas.

  4. Jay in Ames September 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Rescorla’s story should be in every history book, as an example of what impact legal immigration has to our country.

  5. Jazz September 10, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    A quick hello. I’m about and doing stuff today, but I wanted to let y’all know I’m lurking and checking in on you. 😛

  6. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 10, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Betrayal is really the only word I can muster. Betrayal of the living and the dead by a government that allowed the terrorists to win and still isn’t serious about stopping the next attack.

    http://threesurethingsoflife.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/ten-years-later/

  7. LC Draco September 10, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    http://rickrescorla.com/ has the full story.

  8. LC Aggie Sith September 10, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Anyone else drinking?

  9. LC Aggie Sith September 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    CharlietittyfuckingSheen…

    http://www.stoptheaclu.com/2011/09/10/lefty-protesters-heres-a-poll-to-help-us-find-out-what-we-are-really-mad-about/

    Leftards have no clue what to protest, so they make a Fecesbook page to take a poll to find out what they should be mad about??

  10. Stinky's Dad September 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Hahahahahahaha!

    Those people are sooo fucking retarded, they gotta be reminded to breathe.

  11. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I remember that, Ags, and I also remember being so incredibly proud to be an Aggie (and an American) that day. I know that the kids were worried at first that nobody would want to participate; they shouldn’t have worried.

    And my goodness, it did my heart good to see that stadium that day – it was just one more sign that those bastards had made a big, BIG mistake…..

  12. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 10, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I spent the day writing a post for tomorrow – I wasn’t sure if I could do it, but it was very cathartic. I figure my kids are old enough to hear what was going through their momma’s mind that day…..

  13. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 10, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    So, DD#3 posted this on her FB page:
    On a hot summer night, would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?

    Was it wrong of me to post this in the comments?
    Your dad and I LOVED making out to that song!!!!!! 😛

    Yeah, I didn’t think so, either……

  14. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Happy 9/11 folks!

  15. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Happy Grand Parents Day to those of you who are.

  16. clintbird September 11, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    I think it was very telling watching the diffence between the reactions of the assembled surviving family members and dignitaries from 10 years past to George and Laura Bush vs. Bambi and the Klingon. It was particularly insightful about who counted and who didn’t when I saw Bambi try to hurry Laura Bush along the reception line as he and Michelle stood back a step or two. It was heartening to see his attempt fail, and indeed for Laura to be pulled even more back into the line to greet and console people. Enlightening indeed!

  17. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Good morning, y’all.

    Been up since 5 AM. I took out all the mags I saved from 9/11, and re-read them, as I do every year. Watched part of the ceremony, and then changed the channel.

  18. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Interesting, Yahoo has gone black for today.

  19. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    French military students remember.
    http://is.gd/6MkJuS

  20. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    That’s beautiful, SD.

  21. Jay in Ames September 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Good day to you, Peasants.

    It will be time for the annual viewing of “The Flight that Fought Back” later on, but I’ll give you this to watch, my favorite announcer in my favorite game, on baseball’s return to the diamond after 9/11.

  22. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    That was awesome, J’Ames.

  23. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 11, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Pauly Krugman is a sniveling taint-licker who ought to be thanking God for his good fortune to live here in the US.

    http://threesurethingsoflife.wordpress.com/2011/09/11/another-thing-we-can-thank-the-first-amendment-for/

  24. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I am sure he thanks some deity for his good fortune, every day.

    Probably in the mirror.

  25. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Stinky got back in port and called. He said ya get over being seasick after a couple of days and you can walk on the walls when a cruiser turns hard port or starboard at 40 mph.

  26. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    I would be barfing all over the place, SD. Good to hear he’s doing well 🙂

  27. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    He said it was interesting to be sweeping the hall and not trying to barf as the boat’s Master Chief approached him one morning when they were first underway.
    And he also told me he did get his promotion though it won’t be effective til 01/02/12.

  28. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    He did?? AWESOME!!!!

    Been an Army wife for almost 18 years, and I still don’t get the whole promotion board crap.

  29. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Think of it as corporate bullshit x2.

  30. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    The good news is, he can shoot for E5 a year from now and begin a serious move up the ladder. I still think he should go for O school and become an officer.

  31. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Think of it as corporate bullshit x2.

    More like to the 10th power.

    Does Stinky want to be an officer?

  32. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    He’s got the knowledge, schooling, and willpower. It may be more for me than him.

  33. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    I have no doubts he can succeed. I know of several soldiers who prefer to stay enlisted for benefits, which is why I asked.

    How’s Kelly doing today?

  34. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    She’s back to normal finally. It did kick her ass.

  35. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    That’s some comfort then. I can’t imagine what she goes through.

  36. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    She lives with me, so you know it has to be painful.

  37. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Sometimes, you make me want to beat your ass 😛

  38. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 11, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    It isn’t remarkable that she puts up with you.

    It IS remarkable that she doesn’t complain.

  39. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 11, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    I do enjoy the Michelle Malkin Linkie Love I get when I post at Nice Deb’s.

  40. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Is it like a tingle up your leg, BisW?

    *runs like hell*

  41. Stinky's Dad September 11, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    (hands BiW a paper towel so he can take care of the splooge)

    Just got through reading ‘Decker’ by Jim Gatewood. The book is out of print but I scored a copy on Amazon for $15 or so. http://www.amazon.com/Decker-Jim-Gatewood/dp/0967446007

    I bought it cause my great uncle is a prevalent character, but the book is freaking awesome!

  42. LC Aggie Sith September 11, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    That book does sound good, SD.

  43. Jay in Ames September 12, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Fresh and sparkly clean poat up!

Comments are closed.

