They Get Under Your Skin

7 Sep

image

One of the miracles of life is how much your kids come to mean to you.  Think about it.  Unless you are a complete asshole, even the most retiring and quiet of us would gladly snap the neck of any who messes with our kid.

My wife and I were talking about our boys’ first day tomorrow.  We got to the subject of pick up times and she mentioned that Jake gets picked up later but dropped off earlier.  She said on his “special bus”, just the way he says it.  A knot got caught in my throat.  I looked at her.  She looked at me.  I said “I’m glad that he really does like that, and it doesn’t mean the same thing to him as it does to us.” 

I know he likes it better.  It is quieter, and less crowded, and that helps him to stay relaxed and have a better day.  I know that he has a much bigger heart that I ever did.  And I know that some day, he’s going to know what it means to ride the “special bus”, because other kids will be sure to tell him.  And I dread that day, because I know what its like to know something I didn’t know only a minute before.

He’s a smart kid who doesn’t see the world the same way you and I do, and I don’t want him to have a “Flowers For Algernon” moment.

68 Responses to “They Get Under Your Skin”

  1. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Awwww, BisW. I understand your fears, but your son is strong, too.

    When I rode the bus to school, the kids would make fun of the “special bus” too. I remember telling the little catty bimbo sitting next to me that they had it better, because they weren’t crowded, had A/C, and bigger seats. I’ve always felt envy played a role in the way the “special bus” was talked about.

  2. Car in September 7, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    My kids think the special bus looks cool. It’s short and looks neat. I know they want to ride it at least once.

  3. Car in September 7, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    wakey wakey

  4. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    Thank you, Carin. I almost did the “wakey, wakey”, but I figured you were getting kidlets ready for school.

  5. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Heartbreaking, BiW, but kids are pretty resilient. Especially if they know that someone loves them, and will stick up for them.

  6. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Hmm, a Republican debate, put on by MSNBC and Politico. At the Reagan Library.

    Moderated by NBC’s Brian Williams and Politico’s John Harris

    Anyone smell a rat?

  7. Car in September 7, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    I wasn’t getting them ready – I had to drive them this morning. STupid bus was 20 minutes late – pulled up just as I was driving away.

    My sons were in full panic, because the AD has a new policy that if you’re late you have to sit out any athletic practice you may have that day. I TOLD them that they wouldn’t get stuck, but I think they were a tiny bit nervous that they had missed the bus.

  8. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 7, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    EVERY kid has a “Flowers for Algernon” moment – even the “normal” ones. Fortunately for your son, he has you for a dad, and you will help him through it. And like you said, the problem for you is YOUR perception of the “special bus”; he likes it just fine, and isn’t worried about what other people think.

    It’s a different world that we inhabit as the parents of “differently-abled” kids, but we are the ones who ended up with the bigger blessings, I think. I always tell people that kids like Rebecca and your son are closer to God, because they know what is truly important in life; the rest of us spend our entire lifetime striving to achieve the kind of peace and serenity that they take for granted.

    People always ask us why we have Rebecca in a “special” school – I tell them it’s no different from if they were plunked down in someplace like China. They would be able to learn the language and adapt to the culture, but if they ran across a group of people from America, they would latch onto them like grim death – not because they weren’t trying to integrate into their new culture, but because they had people around who had more in common with them.

    And they would be happier around those people as well, because no matter how much they might try to fit into their new culture, at their core they feel better around people who understand them and who share a similar background.

    Your son is very lucky to have you for a dad.

  9. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 7, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Could tell from DD#3’s FB entry last night that she needed a call from her momma this morning, so she got one. She’s already homesick and convinced she’s going to flunk out, so I talked her down off of the ceiling. She sounded better by the end of our conversation.

    Just ‘cuz the ducklings leave home, it doesn’t mean they aren’t still your ducklings……

  10. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Nice work, mom!

    Just had dinner with my mommy and daddy last night. It was good to see them.

  11. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 7, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    I always tell people that kids like Rebecca and your son are closer to God, because they know what is truly important in life; the rest of us spend our entire lifetime striving to achieve the kind of peace and serenity that they take for granted.

    As long as it isn’t too loud or too crowded, yes.

  12. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 7, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    What a great story:

    http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/44356058/

    I remember this family from 9/11 because I saw their family photo for just a second on TV not long afterward (the mom had JUST gone back to work), and “saw” Rebecca’s face staring back at me. I turned to Mr. TiFW and said, “That baby has Down syndrome”. He thought I was seeing DS in every baby’s face at that point, because Rebecca was only 2 months old.

    I’ve always wondered about that baby – I remember how sorry I felt for myself after Rebecca was born, but realizing that the baby on the screen was going to grow up without a mother put my situation into perspective really quickly…..

  13. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I put my kid up for adoption with a government agency.

  14. MCPO Airdale September 7, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I put my kid up for adoption with a government agency.

    And we took him!

  15. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Yes you did! And his ass is participating in INSURV testing for his ship somewhere in the Atlantic as I type.

  16. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 7, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    They don’t tell you that the REALLY hard part comes when it’s time to let ’em make their own way in the world.

    You just THINK the hard part is the 24/7 labor-intensive first 18 years……
    (and it is, but in a much different way!)

  17. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Ballsy, to say the least…
    http://www.aol.com/2011/09/07/nathan-mark-hardy_n_952017.html?test=latestnews

  18. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 7, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Payne says Hardy, of Biloxi, tried to escape by throwing the pork loin at employees at the local Winn Dixie but fell while running away.

    I don’t care how jaded you might be, writing that line had to bring a smile to the author’s face.

  19. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Would have been great to have a youtube video of a cop saying to Hardy:

    “Is that a lobster in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?”

  20. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 7, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    His guests, however, were delighted that they missed the main course after they learned where Hardy stashed it…

  21. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    I love having Hubby here, but I get next to nothing done around the place….

  22. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    This isn’t going to end well. Rumor has it Baylor is thinking of suing, and Iowa State is lawyering up now? The SEC accepted them, live with it!

  23. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Oh, for fuck’s sake….

    You know, this wouldn’t be such a big deal if t.u. hadn’t decided to lock all Big 12 games into their network.

  24. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    I think it was the high school games they tried to put on there. A clear recruiting advantage.

  25. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Yep, big time. It’s a pity that our rivalry will come to an end, though.

    In other news, t.u. was voted the #1 party school in the nation, with the highest number of condom use, and STD rates.

    Way. To. Go….

  26. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Not this year, though. You can beat us in football, and we’ll beat you in basketball.

  27. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    Maybe 😀

  28. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    This ought to be interesting.

  29. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere September 7, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    In other news, t.u. was voted the #1 party school in the nation, with the highest number of condom use, and STD rates.

    I wonder how they are doing with their abortion rates and graduation rates for whores women?

  30. clintbird September 7, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    As a casual observer and one who couldn’t care less how all this Big 12 intrique works out, it appears to me that Texas has a profound history of sinking every conference it’s been affliated with.

  31. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m sure there is a direct correlation, BisW.

    Tonight… I debut as a tweeter with round by round scoring on the MSNBC debate.

    ZOMG!!! Someone tell SD to get his account back up!!!

  32. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    CB, let’s just say that Arkansas didn’t leave the SWC because of the Aggies 😉

  33. clintbird September 7, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    *Snicker.* It’s fun getting Texans all in an uproar.

  34. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    *gives CB the Texas Two-Step*

  35. clintbird September 7, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    I hope everyone of you reads this today.

    http://www.americanthinker.com/2011/09/the_cult_of_obama.html

  36. MCPO Airdale September 7, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Daddy won’t you take me back to Muellenburg County
    Down by the Green River where paradise lays. . .

  37. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Damn that was a long afternoon! Two jobs looked at; two jobs scored, plus I collected a check from another client.
    Things are looking up! (and down some shirts when the buttons aren’t buttoned)

  38. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Chief wants to live in a van, down by the river, but Herself ain’t gonna let’em!

  39. MCPO Airdale September 7, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    SD – From an old Jon Prine song.

  40. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 7, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    “The Old One” (aka Lady, the “tenured” pup) is snoring again.

    She recently took ownership of the granddog’s nice new blankie (that DD#1 bought specifically for the princess to lay down on). Granddog knows better than to try and reclaim that sucker if Lady is laying on it…..

  41. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    (and down some shirts when the buttons aren’t buttoned)

    WINNING!!!

  42. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    I knew that, Chief, but the fruit was low hanging.

  43. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Gawwwdddd, I’m on MSNBC watching the pissing match between Perry and the Ultra-Rino.

  44. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Santorum scares me. I think he wants to outlaw anal sex with midgets, and chickens.

  45. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Cain gets a good laugh in.

  46. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Who’s this Huntsman spare?

  47. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Ron Paul is telling about the time he was abducted by aliens and how we should cut the military by 80%.

  48. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Let me finish my sentence!

    Haha.

  49. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Say what you will about Newt, he can change the conditions of a question to the right one. Finally, someone used revenue in the right context.

  50. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Newt did good tonight as well as Perry and Romney.

    Perry cemented his solid lead by answering the execution question, “I sleep like a champ, thank you”.

  51. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Bachmann, Huntsman, Newt, and Cain should all drop out immediately. They have no chance.

  52. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Perry’s capital punishment statement was INCREDIBLE!

    Watching the libiots on MSDNC is kinda fun. Sharpton: It’s Galileo, not Galeo. Pronounce, we much.

  53. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Perry’s capital punishment statement was INCREDIBLE!

    Just remember, we got ourselves an express lane if three or more witnesses saw ya commit the murder.
    One of the thousands of reasons I love my state.

  54. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Best line of the night, “Michael Dukakis created jobs three times faster than you did, Mitt,”

  55. Jay in Ames September 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Heh, that’s one of my favorite Ron White comedy lines. “In Texas, we not only have capital punishment, we put in an express lane.”

  56. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

  57. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX September 7, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    “You kill someone in my state, we will kill you right back…..”

  58. clintbird September 7, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Newt continues to be the smartest person in the room.

  59. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    And the biggest prick in the history of the universe.

    (Anybody that shits on Tea Partiers will have me in their face)
    Fuck Newt.

  60. clintbird September 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Oh, I’m not suggesting he has a chance. I just find many if not most of his answers to be very intelligent.

  61. Stinky's Dad September 7, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Very much so, and straight forward, but he’s still a total elitist asshole who needs a quality beating.

  62. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Yay, peace and quiet for me for a bit.

    I missed the debate, but the Perry answer is awesomeness to at least seven orders of magnitude.

  63. LC Aggie Sith September 7, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    And of course, everyone went to bed. I guess I will too.

    G’night!

  64. Car in September 8, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    I can’t wakey wakey on this poat, because I’ve already said it. way up there somewhere.

  65. Car in September 8, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    And the biggest prick in the history of the universe.

    I beg to differ

    [cough]Obama[cough]

  66. Jay in Ames September 8, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    All day meeting, so I’ll be scarce today. You kids play nice.

  67. Stinky's Dad September 8, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I not nekkid, but I do like a pot of coffee on a lazy morning. Work will wait.

  68. LC Aggie Sith September 8, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    New suckage poat up.

Comments are closed.

