This Sums It Up

19 Aug

DO IT!!!

Awesomeness! Have a great day!!

49 Responses to “This Sums It Up”

  1. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Well, this Friday is not so great. It’s our tax-free weekend.

    And all the Mexican Nationals know.

  2. Jay in Ames August 19, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    I always miss the tax free weekend.

  3. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX August 19, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    One year, I discovered the secret to tax-free weekend (at least at Foley’s, anyway) – we went in the night before, picked out everything that we wanted, and had the salesclerk hold it for us until the next day (they will hold stuff for 24 hours).

    Then I went up there BY MYSELF the next day, walked up to the counter, and checked out. It was great.

    They stopped doing that, and I figured out right quick that it just wasn’t worth the extra time that I had to spend with every other person in Fort Worth at the malls that weekend. What I might have saved in taxes, I lost in time spent hunting for a parking space and fighting the crowds and their whiny kids.

    So we just decided to go a couple of days before that weekend – the stores stock up on EVERYTHING right before then, so we know they’ll have the sizes we need – and just pay extra.

    Of course, once the kids started driving, we just gave them a set amount that they could spend and sent them out on their own……

  4. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    So I’ve been watching Millenium on DVD. I just finished season one last night, and watched an interview with the cast, producers, directors, and cinematographer.

    It struck me how much the show actually pioneered, and how the underlying premise is still unique.

    I may write about it later.

  5. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Awesome, BisW. I liked that show, and was sad when it was cancelled.

  6. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Aggie, I thought there was a great contrast because “Profiler” was on at the same time.

    Millenium tended to use mostly ambient light, and the result was a kind of cold, washed out look vs. Profiler’s clear use of artifical lighting and warm shots that tended to saturate color more.

    Millenum made no effort to make anyone look pretty; Profiler made everyone look pretty.

    Millenium was a reminder in a world that had grown numb to evil that it was still “evil” and therefore very terrifying; Profiler, when it came down to it was not about evil, it was about obsession, which was more commonplace and less terrifying.

    I used to tell my wife that Profiler was prettier, but Millenium was a much better story.

  7. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    My sister was a BIG fan of Profiler. I had told her to watch Millenium and tell me what she thought of it.

    She replied that it was too dark and mean.

    I told her that LIFE usually is.

    She made some noise about Profiler being more realistic, or something. But seeing as she is the type to enjoy Real Housewives Who Have Toddlers Wearing Tiaras on Jersey Shore, I took it with a grain of salt.

  8. Car in August 19, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I liked Millenium. Never watched Profiler and kinda don’t remember it.

    THere is nothing on that I watch now. Usually Tivo the Fox 6 o’clock news program and watch that at the end of the day.

    Kids and hubby likes food shows. @@.

  9. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Dark? Yes. One of the producers was saying that a lady from Standards and Practices watched the pilot, thought it was ok, had nightmares that night, and called the next day saying they had to tone it down.

    They also had a continuity director who said she loved the show, loved the people, but still had to quit because she wasn’t sleeping at night.

  10. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I admit some episodes kept me awake for what seemed like days.

    Carin, which food shows? Because Bourdain is an asshole and he is dead to me.

  11. Car in August 19, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    THey like that Drive-in and diners show. Man v food. Aren’t there a million different one? I tune it out. The kids don’t usually watch Bourdain but I did watch his show with Josh Homme last week.

  12. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    My sis just called me. Told me she was on the way down to see my folks, and if I needed to send anything.

    She was on the road and about 30 miles from here.

    WTF??

  13. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    She needs to stay off the roads.

    They can be pretty real.

  14. Jay in Ames August 19, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Cooking shows. Good Eats. America’s Test Kitchen.

  15. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    I like to watch Nigella’s show.

    BisW, she means well, but sometimes logic escapes her. Or breaks free. Hard to say.

  16. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Am I funny? Do I make you laugh?

  17. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Nigella can bite me anytime.

    The same goes for the Peasantettes, and probably just as likely to happen.

  18. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    So, you can start placing your bets whether Herself and I can actually move these two antiques tomorrow without destroying them.

  19. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    MCPO, you always make me laugh ๐Ÿ˜€

    probably just as likely to happen.

    I’ll find out at the next meat up, huh??

  20. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Abbie – I was a loadmasters. My motto is, “Given enough velocity, everything will fit.”

  21. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Who is this Abbie to whom you refer??

  22. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Sorry, autocorrect on the iPad!

  23. TerribleTroy August 19, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    I just figured Abbie was Aggies EVUL Twin Sister. I have a Evul twin brother named Trey.

  24. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I keep forgetting to re-read the comment before I hit the submit button.

  25. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    We are fixing to get deluged! Sky to the NW is black as pitch and the wind is up to 20 – 25.

  26. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    I just figured Abbie was Aggies EVUL Twin Sister. I have a Evul twin brother named Trey.

    Is he related to Trent?

  27. Jay in Ames August 19, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    What is an Aggie, anyway? Sounds like something that unfeeling racist Rick Perry would approve of.

  28. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    If you’d asked that about a Spartan or a Buckeye, I’d have answered “Someone who isn’t smart enough to be a Wolverine.”

  29. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Just sos you know; a Nittany Lion eats wolverines for breakfast.

  30. clintbird August 19, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Hilltoppers are above all this rabble.

  31. Jay in Ames August 19, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    A Cyclone will blow you all away.

  32. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Just Got back from checking out a client’s new Challenger SRT-8.

    Man Wood.

    And I get to ride in it on the trip to his hearing next month.

    Awe-some!

  33. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    What is an Aggie, anyway?

    The rule about Fight Club applies.

  34. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I’m a lumberjack and I’m OK. . .

  35. Anonymous Liberal Troll August 19, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    The King gets the Ax.

    http://tinyurl.com/3p2utw4

  36. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    First they came for the butter-fried lard and Twinkies, and I said nothing…

    http://tinyurl.com/44lqcec

  37. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Iโ€™m a lumberjack and Iโ€™m OK. . .

    I’m an Aggie, and I’m better than fine ๐Ÿ˜‰

  38. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    As I said upthread, Anthony Bourdain is dead to me.

  39. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Wearing the corset and machete again?

  40. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 19, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I think he’s angling to be the Nutrition Czar in the Obama Dictatorship.

  41. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    No, did the machete thing earlier today.

    If Bourdain is angling for that, he should be sucking up (ugh!) to Michelle.

  42. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX August 19, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Jay, you do know that Rick Perry IS an Aggie, right?

  43. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX August 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    And the really interesting thing – nutrition-wise – is that most people who eat the types of food that Paula Deen cooks actually have healthier hearts than people who eat the way that Mrs. Obama THINKS they should eat.

    Exhibit A (cholesterol 265, high triglycerides, absolutely spotless coronary arteries) typed this comment……

  44. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    A couple of days ago,I told someone on another blog what a pompous ass Bourdain is, and I got an argument. I feel vindicated.

  45. LC Aggie Sith August 19, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    The guy is a total dickwad, MCPO.

  46. MCPO Airdale August 19, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    You’ll get no argument from me. The first time I saw him on TV, it took me about 45 seconds to form my opinion of him.

  47. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 20, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    Tony is an effite metrosexual pussy from New York City who has Daddy issues.

  48. clintbid August 20, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Apparently, Kim Kardashian is getting married.

    You are absolutely correct!

    I too donโ€™t give a shit.

  49. LC Aggie Sith August 20, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Uh, New Poat, peeps….

Comments are closed.

