Get Some Learning

12 Aug

On this day in 1898, the United States brought the Spanish to heel, signing the peace treaty that gave them Guam, the Philippines, and Puerto Rico. The US also annexed Hawaii, just to make sure that peeps knew we were kicking ass in every hemisphere.

A gift from Puerto Rico

In 1939 the film classic, The Wizard of Oz premiered in Wisconsin prior to Hollywood release. Seventy years later, we are wanting flying monkeys to go pluck the stuffing out of the brainless in Washington, DC, the cowardly in the Pentagon, and the heartless in the media.

And in 1981, IBM unleashed the best pr0n gathering device known to man: the personal computer. Teen boys and basements were never the same.

Learn your history, or you are bound to repeat it!

120 Responses to “Get Some Learning”

  1. mrfixitou812 August 12, 2011 at 6:16 am #

    MMmmm Puerto Rican hotties…

  2. GuyS August 12, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    Surprised I have no hangover from last night!

    Wakey Wakey!!

    Here I thought the Wizard of Oz was the first film about Democrats in search of entitlements. And off to work I go in about 10 minutes.

  3. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Good morning! And congratulations to Texas for breaking your streak of 100 degree days!

    Next week it’s gonna snow.

  4. clintbird August 12, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Good morning, folks.

    Good morning, Carin. Wakey, wakey!

    I have another 600 mile plus drive today. Bleh.

  5. Dick August 12, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Jay, the cool breeze (for about an hour) was pretty sweet. I watched it get to 85 then suddenly, it was back in the high 90’s.
    In other words, all it did was cost us the record, cause it’s still gonna be stupid hot.

    For the next ten days here, they’re predicting this.

    http://www.intellicast.com/Local/Weather.aspx?location=USTX0436
    Sucks to be us.

  6. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Heh…

    “In explaining that the store would probably stay open during the unrest, one Waterstone’s employee even felt comfortable enough to issue a dare to the rioters: “If they steal some books, they might actually learn something.””

    http://www.theatlanticwire.com/global/2011/08/its-pattern-london-rioters-are-leaving-bookstores-untouched/41142/

  7. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    From Dick’s book link:

    Most people seem to be embracing the theory that the rioters simply didn’t want books, particularly in the digital age.

    Really? Cuz all the rioters are carrying around their Kindles? These people are complete morons, and not the good kind.

  8. GMLand August 12, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Sorry to say Dick, high of 88 today in Nashvegas…

  9. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    It got to 82 here, Gland. It was horrible.

  10. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    It’s gonna be partly sucky, with a chance of shitty by mid afternoon here.

  11. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    From an email:

    My wife and I were in slow-moving traffic the other day and we were stopped behind a car that had an unusual Obama bumper sticker on it. It read: “Pray for Obama. Psalm 109:8”.

    When we got home my wife got out the Bible and opened it up to the scripture. She started laughing & laughing. Then she read it to me. I couldn’t believe what it said. I had a good laugh, too.

    Psalm 109: 8 ~ “Let his days be few and brief; and let others step forward to replace him.”

    At last — I can honestly voice a Biblical prayer for our president! Look it up — it is word for word! Let us all bow our heads and pray.

    Brothers and Sisters, can I get an AMEN?

  12. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    The good news is, I’m done for the week unless somebody has an emergency job or really likes to dig deep in their wallet.

    Yesterday, I got a tip of $50. It made me giggle.

  13. roamingfirehydrant August 12, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    I liked the comment in TiFW’s link yesterday about no one particularly caring what the Archbishop of Canterbury had to say about the riots. So watered down as to be meaningless.

  14. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Too bad they no longer sell them. I’d be a buyer.

    http://crooksandliars.com/bluegal/cafepress-stops-selling-psalms

  15. roamingfirehydrant August 12, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Bet they’d still be selling them if Booooosh were president. Hypocrites.

  16. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    My favorite part of last night’s debate was when the moderator announced that Pawlenty’s DNA was not a match to Bachmann’s out of wedlock baby.

    Then Pawlenty started jumping around and got in her face, and a couple of big, bald security guards had to pull him away from her.

  17. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Roamy, how’s my favorite NASA scientist in the whole wide universe doing this morning?

  18. roamingfirehydrant August 12, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    😀 Dick, I’m wondering why there’s a shitty teenybop singer on Fox News, and I’m about to go to work. Last night, I met with Mini-me’s teachers, who were all Rocketboy’s teachers in 5th grade except for one. I also had to go to three stores to get even more school supplies and was pretty grouchy last night about spending another $160 on shit they had better use. Still grumpy about it this morning, particularly needing carbon paper (WTF?) and *TWO* calculators (one class requires a graphing calculator, another specifies what model calculator will be allowed and bans graphing calculators.)

  19. Dick August 12, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Carbon paper? Graphing calculators? Wow…

    I can understand the grouch.
    Hope today’s better.

  20. roamingfirehydrant August 12, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I think today’s going to be a good day. It’s Friday, I’m almost caught up on email, and my heart is behaving itself (knock on wood).

    Y’all take care, hope you have a good day, too.

  21. Car in August 12, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Humpf.

    I see my wakey wakeys have been done TWICE.

    *huffs off

  22. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    WAKEY WAKEY, CARIN!!!

    That’s three 😀

  23. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Hey now, I just said good morning, I better not be in trouble.

  24. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Gee, it’s 82* right now. Our high will only be 103*.

  25. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Just hit 70 here.

  26. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Wow, this place came to a screeching halt.

  27. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    All right, who drove the blog into the ditch. Now we gotta ask Obama to give us a tow.

  28. Car in August 12, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    gumble grumble

    I’ve been reading a book, making a grocery list, cleaning the kitchen, and trying to figure out how to arrange my busy afternoon. Oye. Son is at county fair with girlfriend. He needs to be picked up for football practice but my OTHER son has soccer practice .I don’t know how I’m going to work this out.

    foot ball is at 3:30
    soccer is at 3:00

    football player is 35 minutes away.

    soccer boy could ride with me, but then that’s not really too fair for him. but anything else has me running around too much.

    Oye.

    Ugh.

    Plus my heel hurts, so I’m icing it right now.

  29. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    You’ll have to take Soccer Boy with you, Carin, and make it up to him some other day.

    Hope your heel feels better soon!

  30. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX August 12, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 10:54 am
    All right, who drove the blog into the ditch.

    ‘Tweren’t me – I’m just sitting here in the back seat, sipping on a delicious Slurpee…..

  31. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Car in, when my foot is acting up, I find that a water or pop bottle of frozen water is really handy. You can roll your feet on it, loosening it up. Really helped me sometimes.

  32. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 12, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    We already had a gift from Puerto Rico. And she carries a machete.

  33. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

  34. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

  35. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I REALLY want to go to the Iowa State Fair right now, and see what’s up.

    Stupid work.

  36. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I could meet Vanilla Ice!

  37. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    We already had a gift from Puerto Rico. And she carries a machete.

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    *smooch*

  38. Dick August 12, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Plus, she’s a total sweetheart.

    Carin, go easy on the heel. Those things can get out of hand quick.

  39. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    This makes it lawful for a man to kill a thief who has not in the least hurt him, nor declared any design upon his life, any farther than by the use of force, so to get him in his power as to take away his money, or what he pleases, from him; because using force, where he has no right to get me into his power, let his pretence be what it will, I have no reason to suppose that he who would take away my liberty would not, when he had me in his power, take away everything else. – John Locke

  40. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    “Anyone breaks into my home gets a shotgun blast to the face and a knife to the genitals”– Aggie

  41. Dick August 12, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    “Anyone breaks into my home gets a shotgun blast to the face and a knife to the genitals”– Aggie

    And here I was saying you were hospitable.

  42. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Dick, YOU have an open invite.

    Goblins don’t 😉

    I would greet you with tequila. Kelly would be greeted by my awesome cast iron cookware, of course.

  43. Dick August 12, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    She does lurves herself some good cast iron kitchen stuff.

  44. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    She is always welcome to use it!!

    I’m nice that way.

  45. Dick August 12, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Heh…

    http://www.defensenews.com/story.php?i=7356595&c=AME&s=TOP

  46. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    A federal appeals court ruled Friday that the individual mandate in President Obama’s health care law is unconstitutional.

    Breaking from Fox News

  47. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Journalists inspecting the Hsiung Feng 3 were shocked to see a large mural of the Varyag being attacked by three Hsiung Feng 3 missiles.

    Heh, journos are the same the world over.

  48. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    The Locke quote is a reaction to the media sheep bleating about “victims” rioting in England.

  49. Dick August 12, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    I thought it was from Lost.

  50. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Media bleeting about the looters. They sure as hell don’t see the real victims.

  51. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

  52. Dick August 12, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    WTF?

  53. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Hehe, it was funny, since I’m working in an office. Right now I can relate to that.

  54. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Jay – You in a cubicle? If so, drop trou and start furiously masturbating. They’ll give you time off with pay and your insurance will cover the therapy sessions.

    Don’t ask me how I know this.

    Sincerely,
    Former Officer/Project Manager for an IT company

  55. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

  56. Dick August 12, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Can I give myself time off for choking the chicken?

  57. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Dick – No.

  58. Dick August 12, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Okay, I’ll just take off whenever the urge strikes if that’s the case.
    Yes, I am off today, sort of.

  59. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Dick – The only thing I miss about working was my swanky corner office with the windows.

  60. Dick August 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    The Cabana boy room and whatever structure I’m working on at the time are my offices.
    Oh, and my truck.

    Not the greatest views ever, but they work fine.

  61. Dick August 12, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    So I think today is the official last day of A school for Stinky. Hopefully, he smoked his final exams.

  62. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I have no doubt he did, Dick.

    Are you going to choke the…. to celebrate?

  63. Dick August 12, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Nope, but I just might pour myself a drink.

  64. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    It is after 5 PM in Morocco.

  65. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Wow, it really IS 5 o’clock somewhere.

    /Alan Jackson

  66. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Perpetually in Peasantville, J’Ames 😉

  67. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

  68. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    LEFTISTS????

    *runs outside to check for falling sky*

  69. Dick August 12, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I’ll give it a few more hours before I get cranked up. Gotta go to Billadelphia’s to pick up a pair of cheesesteaks for dinner around 5pm or so.
    Yep, Kelly gave them an excellent endorsement.
    http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/355483

  70. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Philly cheesesteak… I wish I could get something even remotely similar down here.

  71. Dick August 12, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Ya just got to look, Aggie. There has to be something in the SA area.

  72. Jay in Ames August 12, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Look for anyplace that shows Philadelphia Sports, Eagles, Phillies, Flyers, etc.

  73. Dick August 12, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    We have three or four good places up here in D/FW area. Billadelphia’s just happens to be down the street. Got lucky.

  74. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    I live north of SA, and across the main road from Randolph is a place called “Youse Guys”.

    I may have to try it.

  75. GMLand August 12, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    don’t you hate it when your beer is too cold and it has those little ice chips in it?

    Yeah, me neither…!

  76. GuyS August 12, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Yeah GM, that is almost unbeerable! *snort*

  77. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Heh, love the one-star rating.

    That alone is worth going to the restaurant 😀

  78. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    BiW got busted!

    Holy shit…

  79. Car in August 12, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I really don’t know how that lady in the first picture up there does anything in that shirt.

  80. Car in August 12, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Carin, go easy on the heel. Those things can get out of hand quick.

    I’m babying it, but I’ve got to keep my fitness up. sigh.

    10 mile race in two weeks.

  81. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    I think all Rosalyn Sanchez was required to do was stand there and let the fan blow the hair and dress off of her.

  82. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX August 12, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    So I had reserved a coupla hotel rooms for the trip up and back in a couple of weeks when we take DD#3 up to New York and drop her off, then speed back towards Texas before they realize what hit them.

    Then, I get an e-mail in my inbox, enticing me with an offer that was too good to pass up – a cheaper rate at the same hotel, and now WITH BREAKFAST INCLUDED!!!

    Why yes, I DID cancel the old reservations and make new ones……

  83. GuyS August 12, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Great, I start the grill for a quick burn up of some hot dogs, and a couple of strong t-storms develop just to the northwest. With luck they will just miss us to the north. Had it been steaks, we would have been in a tornado warning.

    Aggie, I bet any one of her legion of fans would muss up her hair and dress, at the slightest opportunity!

  84. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Guy, come down here and feel free to grill some burgers 😉

  85. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Teresa, the drive will be more fun now, won’t it?? 😀

  86. Dick August 12, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    It’s official! Donny had the highest GPA in his class at 97.27 with his nearest competitor (a serious lil’ smart hottie acording to her Faceplant page) scoring a 94.

    The Stinkness wins!!!!!!
    Now give up that Chief Petty Officer slot!

  87. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 12, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    I have to stop reading the Washington State Bar News.

    They have this feature every month that I like to call the “Lookit Me!” page where they pick an attorney, and ask them a series of questions.

    This month’s participant’s brilliant answers?

    The future of the the practice of law< is, unfortunately, the creation of more mythologies granting human status to corporations, who behave without a shred of humanity. The future should be dismantling that status.

    I am most proud of this Jumping ship from a future in corporate management to do something I really wanted to pursue—law.

    A book I recommend reading To gain perspective—A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn.

    Filthy communist hippy has no business being an officer of the Court.

    *spit*

  88. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    HAHAHAHA! You are not allowed to go from Seaman to CNO right after ‘A’ school!

    Congratulations to Stinky and I look forward to him sending me a bottle of hooch when he gets his first paycheck as a Petty Officer Third Class.

    Way to go, OS3 Stinky!

  89. Dick August 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Chief, I’m placing a written request with the Dept of the Navy to make Stinky an admiral or better!

    He’s the smartest darn kid in the whole wide world! /ridiculous parent

  90. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX August 12, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Congratulations, Stinky!

    Now, there’s a lawyer just inside the Washington coastline who needs a little “persuading” to change his views – think you could arrange it so that a ship with really bit guns could accidentally “miss” at target practice one day?

  91. Dick August 12, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Oh,and let me know what kind of hooch.
    Can we send hooch through the mail to Pennsylvania?

  92. TerribleTroy August 12, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    @ Dick

    Your sons performance is certainly impressive. Congrats to you both. Top of the class, does he get something for his performance? I think top of class should at least get him pick of duty station.

  93. Dick August 12, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Thank you, Troy. It was his hard work, not mine.
    He’s supposed to be promoted to Petty Officer 3rd Class, but other than verification of his GPA, he’s heard nothing yet. Probably on Monday or Tuesday, considering the Commanding Officer of his unit has to make that move.

  94. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS, STINKY!!!!!

    Let me know about the hooch, will you, Dick?

    A book I recommend reading To gain perspective—A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn.

    Lost cause, and should be set on fire and dropped in the nearest tar pit.

  95. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    *cries in her kleenex*

    That was awesome, Teresa.

  96. GuyS August 12, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    OS3 Stinkey, attention to orders!! Upon your successful completion of technical training, you will be allowed “x” number of days leave, before receiving more specialized training within your rating, specific to the command you have been assigned to. Upon successful completion of said specific training, you will proceed to your (first) Duty Station, the USS ________, home-ported at Naval Station ______.

    It is with great pride and personal pleasure that I am able, in accordance with NAVPERSxx.xxx, to meritoriously advance you to Petty Officer Third Class (OS). Your outstanding academic achievements are in keeping with the highest traditions of duty, honor, country.

    Signed on this day, August ___, 2011

    Oh Shit -6 or higher
    Commanding Officer, NAVEDTRAGRU _____.

    I imagine something very much like the above will find a home in Stinky’s Personnel Folder (with a copy given to him of course). And unless they have changed dramatically since the days of sail I was on active duty, usually the top 2 or 3 students (if it was a large class) got their choice of orders. With first pick going to the first position.

    Sound about right to you Master Chief?

  97. Dick August 12, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    That would be the CG 72 Vella Gulf at Norfolk Naval Base.

  98. GuyS August 12, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    Lots of history where CG 72 is home ported. Fair Winds and Following Seas to the new PO3 as he begins his Naval adventure out side of the class room and out to the seven seas!

    Btw, Master Chief, does it appear a bit strange to have two O-6 types as Skipper and XO on a ship that size? (Plus the XO looks like he has had opportunities a bit further up the food chain, unless I am reading his bio the wrong way.) I would have thought the XO would have been a CDR bucking for Capt. But things are different since I have been out (a female CMC onboard ship…had to happen sometime, but I still remember the first female Commanding Officer of an operational aviation squadron, being a big deal. And she was a pretty straight shooter.)

  99. Dick August 12, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Yeah, something smells with that XO. Don’t know what, but something smells.
    He’s had bigger commands.

  100. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Successful completion of a war tour in an Aegis cruiser usually portends flag rank. CG will, at times, have the XO ‘fleet up’ to CO.

  101. Dick August 12, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Whatever the hell that means…. /Old tired grunt off

  102. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Dick – The only “bigger” command for a Sailor is a Carrier. . . and you have to be an aviator to get a carrier.

  103. Dick August 12, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    But he’s such a smart young man!~ /old Jewish mom off

  104. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 12, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Dick – The only “bigger” command for a Sailor is a Carrier. . . and you have to be an aviator to get a carrier.

    Damn, CAG. He looks like Hammer. JAG, Season One

  105. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    *reads comments*

    *starts craving alphabet soup*

  106. Dick August 12, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Gawd… I have turned this into a total mommy blog…

  107. MCPO Airdale August 12, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    BiW – You know about “super” CAGs?

    Full Captains instead of Commanders. No more of the ship’s XO outranking the only reason the ship exists – THE FUCKING AIRWING!

  108. Dick August 12, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Carriers are for guys who don’t financially qualify for a home of their own on land.

  109. LC Aggie Sith August 12, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Gawd… I have turned this into a total mommy blog…

    *serves a round of tequila*

    *throws dead hookers in the corners*

    *puts Johnny Cash on the jukebox*

    Better?

  110. Dick August 12, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    That’ll work.

    G’night folks. I got the dad to chop limbs off trees for in the morning, then jobs to look at.
    Yep, busy day for a day off.

  111. roamingfirehydrant August 12, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Congratulations to Stinky, that’s awesome!!!

  112. Dick August 12, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    No shit? I would’ve never guessed, assholes.

    http://healthland.time.com/2011/08/11/boys-masturbate-more-than-girls-seriously/

  113. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 12, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    BiW – You know about “super” CAGs?

    Full Captains instead of Commanders. No more of the ship’s XO outranking the only reason the ship exists – THE FUCKING AIRWING!

    I didn’t know that. How many tours do they get before they advance and get all that extra stuff on their sleaves?

  114. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere August 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    No shit? I would’ve never guessed, assholes.

    http://healthland.time.com/2011/08/11/boys-masturbate-more-than-girls-seriously/

    The article before it on a broad-spec anti-viral is more interesting.

  115. Dick August 12, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    That xtra stuff on their sleeves are simply markers for years in service.

    Roamy, thanks.

  116. Dick August 13, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    New and improved poat!

Comments are closed.

