A Beautiful Day

8 Jun

It is, indeed. The sun is shining, birds are singing, dogs are barking at the birds, and though our hearts are heavy, and will remain so for a long time, there is always happiness in the memories.

And also, in llamas.

Find something that makes you happy, and hug it and squeeze it and call him George (SYWM!!!!).

IMPORTANT UPDATE:

Because Patty Ann would have wanted it here.

216 Responses to “A Beautiful Day”

  1. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Yes, have a llama with me right now 🙂

  2. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I’d prefer a bloody mary, but ok.

  3. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    What a cute llama!

    Speaking of “calling things George” (does that mean anything? I’m pretty innocent in the ways of the world), one of DD#3’s friends back in elementary school came over for a sleepover, and she brought her stuffed sheep plush with her.

    His name was “Not George”.

    Because all of her other stuffed animals were named George – every last one of them…..

  4. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    HA!! That’s funny, Teresa. In case you want to know why the “George” reference:

    HM, if you are having a bloody mary, make a pitcher for the rest of us 😉

  5. GMLand June 8, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hJuKSWOAWo&feature=related

    the video has nothing to do with the song… I just love the song!

    Ohai!

  6. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 10:25 am #

  7. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    omigod….my MIL can talk FOREVER….

  8. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 10:32 am #

  9. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 10:33 am #

  10. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Aggie, I read your post and didn’t page down the comments, and I ran and found the exact same clip. I knew EXACTLY what you were talking about!

  11. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    *still on phone, wilting*

    You love me CB….you really love me 😀

  12. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 10:34 am #

  13. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I think this poat may have ear worms. Bwhahahahahahahaha!

  14. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 10:36 am #

  15. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    drama llama makes me laugh. Might be the only internet meme ever to do that, too! 😀

  16. Car in June 8, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Here’s the stupid thing my kids have been singing.

    My son JUST started singing it again.

    /cuts self.

  17. Car in June 8, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Being a huge bugs bunny fanny, I knew exactly what she was talking about.

  18. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Took me an hour to write a note to John. Two paragraphs, and it’s lame as hell. Meh. Words fail; trying to express myself on these occasions is like trying to build a skyscraper out of rough-hewn logs.

  19. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 10:48 am #

  20. Jewstin June 8, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Carin, I’m going to kill you. Then I’m going to waddle away.

    *waddle waddle

    *waddle waddle waddle

  21. Car in June 8, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    / hires Jazz to write on my card to John.

  22. Car in June 8, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    Jewstin – my kids made me watch it TO THE END and I kept says … “SOMETHING’S gonna happen, right?” … Oh sure mom.

    And, apparently it’s a series.

  23. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Funny comment from the Ace Thread today (http://minx.cc/?post=317293):

    7 For those that don’t truly understand Patty Ann, here’s a little something about her:
    She’s the only person who, after listening to me complain about some bad news I received at the doctors one day, told me to crawl off the exam table, pull up my Big Girl panties and kick the doctor in the poon.
    I hope she’s kicking some poon today — with two beautiful legs and a heart of gold.
    Goodbye Patty Ann. Will miss you! Say hi to Mom and Dad for me, will ya?
    Posted by: prettypinkfluffypanties at June 08, 2011 09:50 AM (uO1x1)

  24. Car in June 8, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Ha. Important update, which someone brought up at H2.

    Ha.

  25. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    LMAO. Excellent update.

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHAH!

  26. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Oh. Yeah.

    One of the only reasons to watch that movie.

  27. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    How did you embed the llama pic, Jazz? My WP-fu is weak.

    *kicks WP in the ass*

  28. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Career Opportunities FTW!!!

    That was obviously before Connolly had her reduction 😉

  29. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Jennifer Connolly. On a Pony.

    My day just brightened somewhat.

  30. GMLand June 8, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    *runs to get bag of quarters*

    Criminy! don’t ever let that little horse stop running!!!

  31. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    aggie, I will email it to you so you can see the html. if i do it here, it doesn’t display.

  32. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Another sign of a beautiful Day: Harry Reid on Anthony Weiner:

    “I know Congressman Weiner and I wish there was some way I can defend him, but I can’t. OK?” Reid said.

    And then there was this exchange with reporters:
    Q: You didn’t say whether you thought Congressman Weiner should resign.
    Reid: I’m not here to defend Weiner.
    Q: What do you think he should do?
    Reid: That’s all I’m going to say.
    Q: Senator Reid, what advice would you give him if he asked you?
    Reid: Call somebody else.

    http://tinyurl.com/3oqlty6

    HAHAHAHAHAH

  33. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    Q: Senator Reid, what advice would you give him if he asked you?
    Reid: Call somebody else.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  34. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Dude, you’re in trouble as a Dem when Harry Reid won’t even make a nominal attempt at defending you.

  35. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    See, I’m the kind of wife who sends pictures like the Jennifer Connelly .gif to her husband, ‘cuz I lurves him THAT.MUCH.

  36. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    How often do you think Jennifer Connelly has to groom her unibrow?

  37. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    As I contemplate PA’s passing and Ahn-Hell’s recognition of PA as a patriot, my thoughts wandered to Ben Franklin, who is the epitome of patriotism to me. These are the traits Franklin esteemed:

    Rather than leave his life story to biographers and historians, Benjamin Franklin, ever the artisan, took the raw material of his recollections and from them carefully shaped the myth that has come to represent his life. (Isaacson 2) His use of thirteen virtues (Temperance, Silence, Order, Resolution, Frugality, Industry, Sincerity, Justice, Moderation, Cleanliness, Tranquility, Chastity and Humility) by which one could improve one’s life became an integral part of his image. In his Autobiography, he claims to desire to “acquire the habitude (emphasis original) of all these virtues…” (Franklin 65) Yet it is only a few pages later when he admits having failed, adding “on the whole, tho’ I never arrived at the perfection I had been so ambitious of obtaining, but fell far short of it, yet I was, by the endeavour, a better and happier man than I otherwise should have been if I had not attempted it…” (Franklin 70) Ironically, Franklin has established a program that even by his own standards is impossible to complete, while still critical to the development and long-term success of the participant.

    http://tinyurl.com/42um9et

    I started evaluating what I knew of PA against ol’ Ben’s list of virtues.

    1. Temperance – hahahahah, okay, PA may not have been the most temperate, but, hey, Ben expected failure, too! I never took PA for a Juice McGoose (she didn’t drink her breakfast), so I think she was prudently temperate.

    2. Silence – PA carefully chose her words, and she didn’t offer anything if she didn’t have anything to offer. Ben would give PA an A+ for silence, I think.

    3. Order – I understand PA kept a good house, which tells me she likes things to occupy their designated
    areas, which tells me she was orderly. BF grade? A

    4. Resolution – I don’t think anyone could argue that PA was incapable of being focused, determined, and resolved. BF grade: A+++++++++

    5. Frugality – Unfortunately, I don’t know if PA was frugal or not. She certainly wasn’t frugal with her personality. 🙂

    6. Industry – Was PA industrious? I suspect so, although, again, this addresses a part of her life with which I am unfamiliar and unknowledgeable.

    7. Sincerity – Could anyone doubt PA’s sincerity? ‘Nuff said. A+++++

    8. Justice – committed to doing the right thing using the right means. Again, no brainer: A

    9. Moderation – PA was mild of personality all they way around. A

    10. Cleanliness – hahahahaha! Was PA clean? I have no doubt PA was a hygienic woman and bathed daily, or every day, anyway

    11. Tranquility – PA was a calming and soothing personality when the strife kicked up, so she gets another super-A grade: A+++++

    12. Chastity – I can’t comment on her chastity. John’s gonna hafta give us some input on that. No graade

    13. Humility – A+, no discussion necessary.

    Now, Franklin obviously expected failure, yet he did not shirk from aspiring to the ideals he set down. (Hmmm, I wonder if there is any other paradigm for moral and personal improvement with lofty and unattainable ideals to which subscribers aspire despite the impossible goals?), so any substandard grades earned by PA reside in good company. Evaluated against the virtues of THE American patriot, PA measures up quite well, I think.

  38. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    ^ SHUN HIM! SHUM THE UNBELIEVER!!!

  39. Car in June 8, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Now I’m all teary again.

    I went back to read Patty Ann comments.

    It’s like visiting with her a spell.

  40. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    I’m the kind of wife who sends pictures like the Jennifer Connelly .gif to her husband, ‘cuz I lurves him THAT.MUCH.

    You’re a n00b, Teresa.

    *sends file of XXX pr0n stars to Hubby*

  41. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I went back to read Patty Ann comments.

    I did that last night until 1 AM. And then again this morning. It was rather like hearing her in my head 🙂

  42. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    And I didn’t think I was still bitter, but today’s challenge was harder than the others:

    http://aggiesprite.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/letter-to-an-old-flame/

    Patty Ann would have told me to go and kick him in the poon, before I forgave him 😉

  43. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    YAY!!! I’m owning the comments!!!

  44. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Llamas are s-o-o-o 1980s. Today, it all about the Alpacas, baby!

  45. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    ^ SHUN HIM! SHUM THE UNBELIEVER!!!

    Me, or Franklin?

    I thought it was telling that Franklin wasn’t a Christian, yet still fashioned a moral code that effected more or less the same end as Christianity (at least in this plane of existence). It’s like he desired the results of a Christian upbringing, but he wanted to avoid the fealty Christians acknowledge to the Creator.

  46. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Today, it all about the Alpacas, baby!

    Everything old is new again, as evidenced from your musical picks 😀

  47. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Me, or Franklin?

    CB, for his heresy about JC.

    but he wanted to avoid the fealty Christians acknowledge to the Creator.

    I struggle with that idea, and this is one of the reasons why:

    http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speeches/benfranklin.htm

    It doesn’t read like an avoidance of fealty.

    That and his support for the Bible having a place in the everyday life of Americans.

  48. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh, I’m not asserting that Franklin was anti-Christian in any sense. To the contrary, my familiarity with him suggests that while he didn’t subscribe to Christianity’s beliefs about a supreme being, he most definitely appreciated the moral tenets of Christianity. I know he appreciated the 10 Commandments, even if he didn’t practice them as written. He appreciated everything except that “thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife”, that is – I don’t think that one bothered him too much. 🙂

  49. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    I, though, am no Franklin scholar, and that address you posted does, indeed, suggest that I am wrong.

  50. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

  51. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I’m not either, Jazz, but heaving read that address, his letter to the President of Yale, who had inquired about Dr. Franklin’s religion, and his correspondence with Thomas Paine, I’m content to believe that that like Washington, he was more taciturn than his contemporaries regarding his beliefs.

    I’m even ok with the “Deist” label beig applied to him if done by people who have some understanding that it didn’t mean then what it has come to mean today.

  52. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    The Andrew Sisters FTW!!!!

  53. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

  54. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    I want play “penny pony” to the Andrews Sisters’ JC.

  55. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    If that last video doesn’t make you smile, you have more problems than a few!

  56. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Could Ed Rollins get any stupider?

    “People are going to say, ‘I gotta make a choice and go with the intelligent woman who’s every bit as attractive,'” Rollins said.

    http://tinyurl.com/5t2d3py

    After yesterday? The guy puts the “e” in “idget.”

  57. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    And this.. this… THIS is what I”ve been waiting for: “Marriage headed for a crotch-photo finish”

    She is so out of here.

    On the day Anthony Weiner needed his wife the most, she vanished — poof! — like his harem of feisty Twitter chippies during a power outage.

    The gorgeous and furious Internet cuckold Huma Abedin refused yesterday to stand by her man. She did not show up to walk the plank of public humiliation, the way doormat Silda did for her whoremonger husband, Eliot Spitzer.

    And she did not stand like a potted plant, cowering beneath her hair, the way wife and beard Dina did when her hub, Jim McGreevey, announced he was a “gay American.”

    http://tinyurl.com/3pwdepu

    I am going to watch this trainwreck with as much enjoyment as another episode of Braniac featuring thermite. And I love that shit.

    Yes, I am relishing the complete destruction of another man’s family. I believe that man is an instrument of evil, and I have no sympathy. It’s like watching the Archangel Michael dispatch Lucifer, and I love it.

  58. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    *sends file of XXX pr0n stars to Hubby*

    I didn’t say that’s ALL I’ve given him! But our daughters sometimes use his computer…..

  59. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Could Ed Rollins get any stupider?

    Give him another five minutes.

    Mr. Weiner,” I asked him. “Are you splitting up?”

    His reply was most curious, even for a liar and cheat. He tried to avoid the question altogether.

    “I love my wife very much,” he said, sidestepping a direct “no.”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! He made the mistake thinking that his wife would stand for this in his quest for the mayorship of NYC. He must have forgotten she is very close to Hillary, and probably just as strong. Unfortunately for him, Weiner is no Bill Clinton.

  60. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    But our daughters sometimes use his computer…..

    Oy 😯

  61. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Owie. This must have hurt:

    JOAN WALSH, SALON.COM: The lying is what disturbs me. He implicated a lot of us. I gave him the benefit of the doubt, let’s just say that. And, you know, I look kind of stupid. But on the other hand, this was brought to light for political reasons —

    ED SCHULTZ, MSNBC: Why do you look stupid? Why do you say that?

    WALSH: Oh, because I, you know, gave him the benefit of the doubt publicly and pointed to the motivations of the people who were bringing this to light which was to destroy him.

    http://tinyurl.com/4yoe2an

  62. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Click on the pic for more info:

  63. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Owie. This must have hurt

    That made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

    As to the receipt, I am disgusted with the abuse of food stamps. And really, Diet Mt. Dew with lobster and steak??

    Not only moochers but stupid ones, too. Fuckers.

  64. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Hahahah! Ed Rollins is doing the walkback shuffle!

    http://tinyurl.com/3ch5t2a

  65. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    New Obama poll. I have some thoughts, but acquaint yourself with the poll, and I’ll try to share them in a bit.

    http://tinyurl.com/6y5asaz

  66. Car in June 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Did you read the comments over there Jazz?

  67. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    http://hotair.com/greenroom/archives/2011/06/08/cain-gun-control-should-be-a-states-decision/

    Is his comment wrong? It could be phrased better, but I don’t see anything wrong with it. Gun Control is at the state and local level. I don’t agree with the laws, but the federal government can’t regulate it, the state and local governments do that (Heller and McDonald).

  68. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I have been informed that McDonald determined the 2nd amendment was incorporated by the states via the 14th amendment.

    So his statement is wrong.

  69. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    His statement is a categorical slander against the Second Amendment, J’Ames. Cain is displaying some serious, serious limitations as a candidate.

  70. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Carin, I’m going to check them out now.

  71. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    My work day is complete, to include a fifty dollar tip from the lady I worked for because she said, “Your work is so beautiful!”

    Now all I gotta do is power wash the slime off me so I can go give Patty Ann one last kiss on the forehead from you guys and a high five from me.

  72. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Now all I gotta do is power wash the slime off me so I can go give Patty Ann one last kiss on the forehead from you guys and a high five from me

    Thank you, Dick. I wish so badly to be there.

  73. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Now all I gotta do is power wash the slime off me so I can go give Patty Ann one last kiss on the forehead from you guys

    Please do, Dick. Please do.

    You and Cathy have been our stand-ins. Thanks, man.

  74. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Oh, and Teresa, too.

    And Michael, but only for the pie. Fucker REALLY likes pie.

  75. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    The commenters don’t seem all that impressed with Mr. Rollins, and Bachmann’s taking a bit of a beating, too. Interesting! 🙂

  76. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Dick, thank you.

    Thank you. 😦

  77. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Somebody tell Michael there’s gonna be pie at the viewing.

  78. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Guys, I haven’t done a damn thing other than visit a friend.
    Not thankable.

  79. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    You visited our friend on our behalf, Dick. That is worth gold to us.

  80. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Witch Hawaiian shirt should I wear? Or should I go casual and wear a wife beater, beach shorts, and Jesus sandals?

  81. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Hm…. I’m thinking Hawaiian shirt, Dick. Those places get very cold, for one thing, and you just KNOW PattyAnn would have loved all the flowers on the Hawaiian shirt. Also, you can blend in with the arrangements better.

    Besides, wife beater shirts are soooo 2010.

  82. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Dick, you’ve been generous enough to stand in our stead at every step in this ordeal. You’ve willingly subordinated yourself to the needs of this group: You’re only partially you when you’re there; you’re also us, and the gratitude felt by those of us who can’t be there isn’t describable in words. Yours is not an insignificant role, and you’ve played it to perfection gracefully and with heart. What you’re doing and have done most certainly are not insignificant, or even lightly dismissable. Yours is a sad duty of immense import.

  83. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Dick – Wear whatever you think is appropriate. Thank you for keeping us updated throughout this entire ordeal.

  84. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    If you’ve got ink, I vote for the wife-beater. Othewise, go Hawaiian.

  85. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    I was thinking about placing a bottle of Cuervo Black in the casket with her.

    Nawwww…. That’s mine.

  86. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Drop the empty in, Dick! 😀

  87. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    If only we didn’t have to rely on the Republicans to figure out HOW to get this message out to the electorate…..

    http://blogs.the-american-interest.com/wrm/2011/06/07/fanniegate-gamechanger-for-the-gop/

  88. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    No ink, Jazz, but a shitload of scars.
    Chief, thanks.

  89. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Witch Hawaiian shirt should I wear?

    If it were me, I’d go with the one that exposes the nipples.

    Them puppies gotta breathe, too.

  90. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    As Jazz said, Dick: you’re representing all of us.

    Nipples.

  91. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    And Michael, but only for the pie. Fucker REALLY likes pie.

    No. He just knows that DiT likes pie, and anything he can do to deprive DiT of pie is a moral imperative in his book.

  92. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    As Jazz said, Dick: you’re representing all of us.

    Nipples.

    You keep up with comments like that, and someone’s gonna give you a set of keys to this here hooooooooorhouse.

  93. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    No ink, Jazz, but a shitload of scars.

    If you’ve got any bullet or knife scars, that would be really cool in a wife-beater, too.

  94. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    He just knows that DiT likes pie, and anything he can do to deprive DiT of pie is a moral imperative in his book.

    So, Dave is Catholic?

  95. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    If you’ve got any bullet or knife scars, that would be really cool in a wife-beater,

    That’s really insensitive, dude. Some of us got our bullet and knife wounds from our wives.

  96. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    As Jazz said, Dick: you’re representing all of us.

    Dude, you would make an awful lawyer. 😀

  97. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Some of us got our bullet and knife wounds from our wives.

    Is that a complaint??

  98. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Is that a complaint??

    Of course not. I’d never complain about my wife.

    Bitch got a gun

  99. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    That’s really insensitive, dude. Some of us got our bullet and knife wounds from our wives.

    See? Polygamy is DANGEROUS!

  100. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    ^^^What Jazz said, Dick^^^

  101. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Jazz, were you in depositions today? Because that was the catch of a primed mind.

  102. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    LOL, Herr. No deps, just having a good time with the reparte.

  103. Herr Morgenholz June 8, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Seriously, I had drinks a couple weeks ago with my brother after he had done a day of depositions. Mother fucker was SHARP. His brain had just warmed up. It was annoying (not saying you are at all) but fascinating to watch.

  104. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    The problem with deps, trials, and witness voire dire is shutting the machinery down at the end. The brain is like a loaded train or a barge – once it gets going, it doesn’t stop on a dime.

  105. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I am afraid to go back to H2. I just made a gay sex joke that I so hope didn’t offend Jewstin. I should have taken another thirty seconds before I hit “Post Comment.”

  106. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    But I thought it was funny, and I think the world of Jewstin, so maybe he’ll take it in the old Hostage spirit. I hope. 🙂

  107. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Okay, very light green Dockers, Luchesse boots, white golf shirt and light tan sport jacket.
    That outta hunt for a viewing.

  108. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I’ve never really joked with Jewstin like that before. I like that he’s spending more time here.

    Aww, I suck. Now I’m regretting this.

  109. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I’m sure you didn’t offend. He gives as well as he takes (SYWM!)

  110. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Hahaha ! I have Dockers shoes, Dick. I was thinking, “How does he get his boots over his shoes? And why?”

  111. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Never regret anything in life, Jazz. It’s a hell of a lot more fun that way.

  112. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Well, I have a hard time celebrating alienation of friends.

  113. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Then you remembered my location.
    Few men in Texas wear dress shoes. If they do wear them, watch your wallet.

  114. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    I thought everyone in Texas wore boots, anyway!

  115. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Well, I have a hard time celebrating alienation of friends.

    Usually saves me money, so I’m okay with it.

  116. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    LOL – Jewstin wasn’t on the payroll yet. I thought I might have my first unpaid friend in fifteen years.

  117. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Gotta go get dressed and brave the DFW rush hour traffic to get to PattyAnn’s visitation on time.
    BBL.

  118. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    LOL – Jewstin wasn’t on the payroll yet. I thought I might have my first unpaid friend in fifteen years.

    Bitch, where’s my money???

  119. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    Bitch, where’s my money???

    Where’s my friend? Two parts to this contract, and I’m not the only one with duties!

  120. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Come here. Jazz ‘n let me give ya a reach around.

  121. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    LMAO – no no no no no no no. I don’t like the taste of pillows.

  122. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    LMAO – no no no no no no no. I don’t like the taste of pillows.

    Smart Man. Holding out for the 3 piston asshammer.

    Protip: Don’t go for the OMG! attachment all at once. Work your way up to it.

  123. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Driving.

  124. Jewstin June 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    No worries Jazz. I’ll just wait for my chance to make a fat joke.

  125. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    No worries Jazz. I’ll just wait for my chance to make a fat joke.

    But those aren’t funneh…

  126. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Well played, Jewstin. Post after he leaves. Freak him out.

  127. Jazz June 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Fat, Irish, Polish, lawyer…. You’ve got a whole palette of targets. 😉

    What I feel worst about is the fact that I had to question myself after the fact about whether you’d find my comment offensive. I don’t believe you are, and I think the degree of funny for ethnic/sexual jokes depends on whether the joke is being made out of (a) ignorance and animus, or (b) light-hearted acceptance of the differences among people. But we’ve been so indoctrinated by the PC crowd to worry about (a) that (b) gets forgotten, and the kind of levity that (b) comprises is found in every relationship. We are different. How those differences mesh can be funny. How they manifest can be funny. The awkwardness they elicit can be funny. With all the sources of levity in interpersonal relationships, I sometimes focus too much on my own jocular intent without considering how a listener might receive my comment irrespective of my intent, and that is my poor judgment manifested.

  128. GMLand June 8, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    this was posted at 5:03.

  129. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Dear Jazz,

    Fuck PC.

    Love,

    CB

  130. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Jewstin is a man; he’s not afraid of a few ghey jokes.

  131. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Its the fashion critique that rubs him wrong.

    Everyone’s always with the “Put a shirt on, willya?”

  132. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 8, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Where I just don’t care. Any day the socks match and the underwear is inside rather than outside my pants is a winnah!

  133. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    BiW – As I stated during my brief foray into retail, “I’m surprised that half of these idiots don’t show up with their underwear on the outside!”.

  134. Jewstin June 8, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    “Put a shirt on, willya?”

    Stupid shirts. If I had more back hair nobody would know I wasn’t wearing a shirt.

  135. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    If I had more back hair nobody would know I wasn’t wearing a shirt.

    I think I was “vurped”!

  136. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    There are 2 AGT on tonight. You have been informed.

  137. clintbird June 8, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I saw the new Xmen movie this afternoon. Liked it!

  138. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Patty Ann looked very beautiful and peaceful tonight. I was able to hold her hand while telling her of all the love you folks had for her, how we’ll miss her wit, warmth, and honesty.
    I made certain to mention each of you and gave her a tiny message from you guys individually.
    When I gave her a kiss on the forehead, I’m not ashamed to let y’all know it brought tears to my eyes.

    Finally, I asked that if per wild chance she saw John Murtha or Teddy Kennedy to kick them both square in the nuts.

  139. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Oh, the flowers were unreal. Approximately 30 different arrangements filling the entire room. They were beautiful.

  140. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    That’s awesome Dick, thanks!

  141. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Forget to mention that TIFW was there and did a table dance. Pretty hawt…

  142. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    Heh.

    Did someone get pictures of the flowers? [edited, didn’t sound sympathetic]

  143. roamingfirehydrant June 8, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Thank you, Dick. And good deal on the flowers. Makes me feel a little better.

  144. Vmaximus June 8, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Dick and all
    Thank you so much for all that you have done for PattyAnn and her family.
    I am grateful for you updating us at H2.

  145. Purple Helmeted Soldier of Love June 8, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I’m gonna miss my kicking sessions with PA.

  146. ChrisP June 8, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Thank you, Dick. Your comment made me tear a bit, or my monitor just went out-of-focus until I wiped my eyes. Thanks, for everything.

  147. Vmaximus June 8, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    *Throws bottle away. Wait… 2 vodka bottles in the trash? Pick up is Tues and Fri. Hopes I skipped the Tuesday pickup,* *Ick*

  148. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Dick – Thanks for the report. Did you have a moment to visit with John?

  149. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Chief, I spent a lot of time with John. He’s doing as good as can be expected. That man loved Patty Ann more than his own life.

  150. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Yeah, I figured it was gonna be really tough on him. Hope you gave him a manly hug from all of us.

  151. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Evening, folks.

    I saw the sad news about Patty Ann this morning. My thoughts at the time:
    —————————————
    A tear in my eye for a women I never actually met.
    Someone who made me smile by laughing at my jokes.
    Someone who made me want to hear more when she spoke her mind.
    Damn, need to replace my monitor – it’s gotten all fuzzy again.

  152. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    AD – Glad to see you back.

  153. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I did, Chief. He needed it.

  154. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Chief, who do I need to write a letter to?
    Donny’s been outta basic for…. 5 days now and still hasn’t made PO3 yet.

    What the hell is wrong with that there Navy?

  155. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Thanks, Chief. I got laid off two weeks ago (along with 20% of the rest of the company)- I “withdrew” to get my act together. Went on my first interview today – I’m coming back from the blow.

  156. Vmaximus June 8, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    AD,
    I am out of the loop, what happened?

  157. Jay in Ames June 8, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Ugh, sorry to hear that, AD. Hope the interview went well, and if not, the next one will!

  158. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    AD, you know masonry and willing to relocate to Texas for shit pay, slim hours, no vacation, no health coverage, and an employer who’s the biggest prick on the planet?

  159. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Dick – They haven’t asked Donny to be the Vice Chief of Naval Operations yet?? The utter gall!!

    AD – When I was let go, I hunkered down for a few weeks too. It’s a pretty common reaction.

  160. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    vmax – my old company was still private, and hadn’t yet figured out how to be profitable – they are running out of money and the fundings guys have turned off the tap, I think. So they cut the only expense they thought they could.

    I did a rough budget with the wife – we’re “good” for about four months – enough time for me to find a job.

    On a different note, Beta and I earned a Bronze Master Snooker title at the last dog show – probably sounds like Greek to the rest of you, but several people I think of as better than me at Agility congratulated us becuase that was something they hadn’t done yet. So I take my victories where I find em.

  161. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    AD, what be your skilz ‘n shit?

  162. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    and an employer who’s the biggest prick on the planet?

    So that’s why Kelley puts up with you! Oh wait – you meant that figuratively….

  163. ChrisP June 8, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Dick,
    You NEED an apprentice! When you get too old, busted-up, or sick of it to carry on, who the hell is there gonna be that can restore anything? They will just want to tear it it down, and replace it with *modern* crap. All the old masonry will be destroyed,
    “Lost, like tears in the rain. Time to die.”
    /Roy Batty

  164. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Skilz??? Damn, glad I didn’t need those. . . I was in management.

  165. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    AD, I work for Kelly. She holds 51% of our LLC.

    Yeah, I’m a total sucker for a nice set of tits.

  166. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    I break shit, Dick

    I am a Quality Assurance /Performance Engineer for software – someone else writes the crap, and I tell them how bad a job they did. That’s what I get paid for.

    I’m also a decent backyard mechanic and carpenter, unafraid of power tools in general (except the three piston asshammer – I leave that to you professionals).

    My wife also says I’m a professional pain in the ass, but there’s not much money in that.

  167. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    AD – I had two PEs in my shop. One r-e-a-l-l-y enjoyed her job. . . and was good at it.

  168. roamingfirehydrant June 8, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    a professional pain in the ass

    management

  169. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Chief, what are these uniforms called?
    Donny’s on the back row, far right.
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150280745130555&set=t.194602136&type=1&theater

  170. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    management

    No, that is a professional fuck-up.

  171. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    AD, all I do is fourth grade artwork all day. Sure, it’s backbreaking, but the pay sucks.

  172. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Dick – It will not let me view the photo.

  173. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I’ll steal it and poat it here. Give me a sec.

  174. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    Try this link.

  175. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Chief, what are these uniforms called?

    I don’t know what they are for, but I’d call them ugly.

  176. agiledog June 8, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Okay, folks, I’m off for the night. I’m drained from the interview today – gonna go zombie out in front of the evening news.

    Fair warning: I’ll be back more now. Keep your women inside and your dogs outside. Wait – that didn’t sound quite right….

  177. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Simple blue coveralls are a working uniform at sea and in dirty, laborious environments ashore. Coveralls are not authorized for wear outside a naval installation, and typical local regulations dictate that coveralls are not authorized off of the pier, or outside the confines of an assigned workcenter ashore. Oh, They have nomex firefighting hoods on too.

  178. Just another Dick June 8, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Must’ve been firefighting class then.

    Thanks!

  179. MCPO Airdale June 8, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Either firefighting or the gas chamber.

  180. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 8, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    I’m just popping in for a minute, then it’s off to bed for me.

    The visitation was lovely – several arrangements from “Fake Internet Friends”, including the wreath from the H2 folks, a large one from Dave in Texas, a gorgeous one from Aggie, and a stunning orchid from Americano.

    Took the family Sarah’s “Jessica Rabbit with Gun” picture (we had it framed); John put it next to some of the flowers, but sometime during the visitation someone moved it into the casket with PattyAnn!

    Saw Dick when I first arrived; we had a good time talking with Joyce and John and each other (hopefully they will still let us into the funeral tomorrow); then Dick left and I went in and talked with some other family members. I may have convinced PattyAnn’s sister-in-law’s brother-in-law, Herb, to come check us out. He’s a hoot – he’ll fit right in!

    Then I got ready to leave, walked out of the viewing room, and there was Cathy, sitting on a couch in the parlor, talking with Joyce (Patty’s SIL). It seems Cathy made QUITE the entrance – you might call it a “splash” – but I’ll let her tell you about it later…

    I’ll report back more tomorrow after the funeral service.

  181. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Good evening, y’all.

    Long evening, and long night for me. Hope y’all are having a good one.

  182. zeldac June 8, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Guys, I am so sorry about Patty Ann. But it warms my heart to see all the love you all have for each other.

  183. LC Aggie Sith June 8, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    ZELDA!!!!

    I’m sure they are still bouncing so I won’t ask 😉

  184. roamingfirehydrant June 8, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Zelda, it’s the one thing that’s made this bearable – burden shared, and all that.

    Good night y’all. (((squishy hugs)))

  185. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere June 9, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    My wife also says I’m a professional pain in the ass, but there’s not much money in that.

    Sure there is. You just need a law degree to go with it.

  186. Car in June 9, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    was able to hold her hand while telling her of all the love you folks had for her, how we’ll miss her wit, warmth, and honesty.

    Thank you so much Dick.

  187. Car in June 9, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    John put it next to some of the flowers, but sometime during the visitation someone moved it into the casket with PattyAnn!

    Ha. I bet PA loved that.

  188. Car in June 9, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Lazy muthafochers. It’s almost 8 over here.

    mumbles to self about finding a blog to the east of me geographically

  189. Car in June 9, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    I mean, CRIPES. What do you folks want me to do NOW? Clean?

    What kind of friends ARE you?

    Since Patty Ann has passed, this place has gone to shit.

  190. roamingfirehydrant June 9, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Good morning, Carin.

  191. Car in June 9, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Now I know how sean feels.

    /licks toad

  192. Car in June 9, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    MORNING ROAMY.

  193. Toad June 9, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    WOOT! My lucky day!

  194. roamingfirehydrant June 9, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    I got a haircut yesterday, and I hate it. I need to find someone new, because this is the second time I told her not to cut off more than an inch, and she cut off two. Good thing she doesn’t do bris.

  195. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Lucky fucking toad…

    *wanders off, muttering incoherently*

  196. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Considering I’m taking today off, (*eyeballs PA’s family conspicuously*) and not gonna make a dime, this boy is gonna surf porn until shower time rolls around in another hour.

  197. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    I’ll be meeting John at the cemetery before PA arrives to make certain everything goes the way it should.

  198. roamingfirehydrant June 9, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Hope it all goes well, Dick. Sounds like there was a good turnout last night.

  199. Car in June 9, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    You’re very sweet Dick (sniff sniff – gosh, I can’t believe THIS is making me teary).

    go enjoy your porn. You’ve earned it.

  200. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    There were a bunch of folks at the event, Roamy. And they brought Teresa and myself in as if we were family. Couldn’t ask for nicer folks.

  201. Car in June 9, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Roamy, I’m sure you’re hair looks fine:) But, there are plenty of new hair folks out there.

    I really don’t care about a a bad haircut – it’s so short that a mis-cut can be grown out in a few weeks.

    I’ve also found, though, that having the same person do my hair results in her really knowing how my hair grows, etc.

    That may be more important for someone with short hair though.

  202. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    My hair’s about a quarter inch long right now. Perfect for summer, plus it makes me look like a Nazi.

  203. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 9, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    So I didn’t mention this last night:

    As I was driving home – on freeways I don’t ever travel – I came to the disheartening realization that the dreaded “old age night vision” (combined with the effects of the myasthenia) was finally starting to creep up on yours truly.

    The whole drive home, I was having trouble seeing the lines in the road. Since it was late, and I hadn’t had any dinner, I decided to drop by a fast food place close to the house. I got my food and started driving home. Just as I got to my neighborhood, the dashboard lights got REALLY bright, and I realized that I couldn’t see ANYTHING on the streets. “Well, that’s the end of your driving at night, kid” went through my mind.

    That’s when I realized that my HEADLIGHTS WEREN’T ON. Apparently “someone” messed with the headlights (SYWM) on my van prior to last night. They are normally set on “Auto”, so I never think about them – as it gets darker and darker, they adjust accordingly. I’d driven 50+ miles in the dark – most of it major freeway – without any headlights.

    When I left PA’s visitation, it was still light outside, but dark was coming on rather quickly. I guess it got dark gradually enough, though, that I never realized the headlights never came on, and since the roads were unfamiliar, it never occurred to me that maybe it wasn’t my eyes…..

  204. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Goofball.

  205. LC Aggie Sith June 9, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Good morning everyone!!

  206. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 9, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Scared the shit out of me, Dick!

    And then, after telling Mr. TiFW all about the visitation and the headlights, he tells me that his father was taken to the hospital yesterday.

    We had planned on leaving this evening to go to his father’s house to help him load some stuff up for the annual family “Campout and reunion” which is taking place this weekend. Now we don’t know if he will be attending or not – he was diagnosed with Colitis.

    Mr. TiFW won’t let on how worried he is, but I told him we would drop by the hospital (or his Dad’s house, if he’s out of the hospital by then) on the way to his mom’s house (the reunion is Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday; as long as we were in the area, we had planned on paying a visit to Mr. TiFW’s mom on Friday and Saturday).

  207. LC Aggie Sith June 9, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    Wow, I haven’t seen my hairbrush around here in weeks….

  208. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Damn.. Best wishes for the Hubby’s dad, Teresa. Hopefully it won’t be too serious.

    Hey, Aggie!

    Off to the shower for me, then I gotta get moving.

  209. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX June 9, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Aggie, I’m not gonna mention this over at the H2 blog, but I’ve gotta say that the arrangement that you sent is by far one of the loveliest that I have EVER seen; all pretty colors and gorgeous flowers in pinks, peaches, and purples, and so beautifully arranged. I don’t know if it was the artistry of the florist or if it was a “set” arrangement, but it is just stunningly pretty.

    Just thought you’d like to know!

  210. LC Aggie Sith June 9, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I hope Mr. TiFW’s dad gets better, Teresa.

    I wish I could be there today.

  211. Car in June 9, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I wish I could see a few pics.

    of all the flowers.

  212. Car in June 9, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Isn’t colitis was Scott had?

  213. LC Aggie Sith June 9, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Awww, thanks, Teresa. I had called to send them, and asked for specific flowers, and told the florist that it had to be a riot of color.

    She took artistic license with it, and deserves the credit! She was also kind enough to send me a pic of it.

  214. LC Aggie Sith June 9, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    NEW POAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  215. Just another Dick June 9, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Carin, I’m gonna try to take a few pics before the people show up for the service.
    Later folks!

Comments are closed.

