Stirs pot. Leaves room. Giggles.

27 May


 

***PattyAnn update 4:05 p.m. CST***
[From TiFW]:

Went to see PattyAnn this a.m. – apparently missed seeing Dick by about 1/2 an hour. PA had just taken her morphine, and was dropping off to sleep, but the nurses came in to bother her, so I stuck around and had a wonderful conversation with her and her SIL, Joyce.

PattyAnn is in GREAT spirits, and looks really good. She is laughing and joking around and generally keeping the hospital staff very busy with her antics. She’s a good sport about the leg – her sister was cautioning me not to mention it, but PA was having none of that, so we had lots of fun talking about what everyone was saying about it. She said that’s what she loves about everyone in all of these groups – their offbeat sense of humor. She said to tell all of you “miscreants and reprobates” hello, and thank you for everything – the prayers, the flowers, the cards, and the words of encouragement.

She also said to tell Scott that she is doing her “breathing exercises” every hour on the hour, so he can rest easy on that score!

The doctors seem very pleased with her progress, and if her “numbers” keep looking as good as they have, her surgery is on for Tuesday morning at 10:00 a.m. I’m going to try and make it up there, just to keep Dick from making passes at the cute nurses……

96 Responses to “Stirs pot. Leaves room. Giggles.”

  1. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Bonzaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!

  2. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    But Michelle Bachman is still da one to beat.

  3. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    From the last poat:

    Oh, and also Time Enough for Love, J’Ames. Lazarus Long FTW!!!

    –”Have you noticed how much they look like orchids? Lovely!”–
    😉

  4. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    *Looks at automatically generated “related posts.” Laughs and laughs and laughs.*

  5. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

  6. Jay in Ames May 27, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Nice one, clintbird.

  7. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    ***PattyAnn update 4:05 p.m. CST***
    [From TiFW]:

    Went to see PattyAnn this a.m. – apparently missed seeing Dick by about 1/2 an hour. PA had just taken her morphine, and was dropping off to sleep, but the nurses came in to bother her, so I stuck around and had a wonderful conversation with her and her SIL, Joyce.

    PattyAnn is in GREAT spirits, and looks really good. She is laughing and joking around and generally keeping the hospital staff very busy with her antics. She’s a good sport about the leg – her sister was cautioning me not to mention it, but PA was having none of that, so we had lots of fun talking about what everyone was saying about it. She said that’s what she loves about everyone in all of these groups – their offbeat sense of humor. She said to tell all of you “miscreants and reprobates” hello, and thank you for everything – the prayers, the flowers, the cards, and the words of encouragement.

    She also said to tell Scott that she is doing her “breathing exercises” every hour on the hour, so he can rest easy on that score!

    The doctors seem very pleased with her progress, and if her “numbers” keep looking as good as they have, her surgery is on for Tuesday morning at 10:00 a.m. I’m going to try and make it up there, just to keep Dick from making passes at the cute nurses.

  8. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere May 27, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    So which am I? A Miscreant or a Reprobate?

  9. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Crap, where’d my video go?

  10. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    I think Teresa cleared it, CB. You may want to add it back up.

    BisW, you are a reprobate.

  11. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere May 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    rep·ro·bate   /ˈrɛprəˌbeɪt/ Show Spelled
    [rep-ruh-beyt] Show IPA
    noun, adjective, verb, -bat·ed, -bat·ing.
    –noun
    1. a depraved, unprincipled, or wicked person: a drunken reprobate.
    2. a person rejected by god and beyond hope of salvation.
    .

    mis·cre·ant   /ˈmɪskriənt/ Show Spelled
    [mis-kree-uhnt] Show IPA

    –adjective
    1. depraved, villainous, or base.
    2. Archaic . holding a false or unorthodox religious belief; heretical.

    Well, Hell.

    I guess that I can quit doing this church thing anymore….

  12. GMLand May 27, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I hope all of you have a safe and Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

    Many thanks to all the veterans and families of those that have served our country.

    Be safe and don’t eat too much…. or do!

  13. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    holding a false or unorthodox religious belief; heretical.

    Shit…I’m thinking you are more along the lines of just plain ol’ degenerate.

  14. scottw May 27, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Awesome news.

    I see that Dick inquired about the breathing exercises.

    Thanks Dick, I hope you ducked.

  15. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    You too, GML!!!

    *hugs and smooches*

  16. Jewstin May 27, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Nifty. I’m a reprobate and a miscreant.

    I think I deserve an award.

  17. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX May 27, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    For the record, I added my update to the LAST poat – I don’t know who added it to this one….

  18. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX May 27, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Updates (Dick’s and TiFW’s) have been added to the PA Update post, for those of you keeping score at home.

    PA also seemed tickled with the idea of a Swiss Army Leg, so if any of you guys want to engineer something for her, maybe we could all add an “attachment” to it.

    Something she mentioned that would come in handy was “Tongs that hold Baby Wipes” – apparently you can’t get just anyone to help you with certain hygienic tasks, and those come in very handy. The therapists at rehab know all about them, but the hospital staff doesn’t think to tell their patients about them…..

    So far, we’ll need a make-up brush, a whisk, a spatula, a machete (for Aggie), a Chocolate Thunder, and tongs w/baby wipes.

    And of course, it will need some pretty curly ribbons and either a sexy shoe or a cowboy boot at the bottom (or a foot mold to put a shoe on….)

    What else?

  19. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    I added the update up top then my video vanished. Oh, well, no big ‘un.

  20. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    I fixeted the video!! YAY ME!!!

  21. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Yay Aggie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere May 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    “Our best days are yet to come…”

    As millions of leftists are shamed into silence by the realization of their own dispicablility.

  23. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Dispicablility is a very useful term.

  24. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    No shit…

  25. MCPO Airdale May 27, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Round 2 of big bad storms!!

  26. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX May 27, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Stay safe, chief!

  27. Jewstin May 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Round 2 of big bad storms!!

    I’ve been off the grid so long I never heard if the solar flare cycle started back up.

    Wait here. I’m going to go check out the space weather.

  28. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Poor MCPO. I hope they fare better this time around.

  29. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    I think we’re going to watch The Last King of Scotland tonight.

  30. Car in May 27, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    EXCELLENT movie, Cb

  31. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Damn…molasses move at the speed of dark compared to this place.

  32. scottw May 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Up hill and in the winter.

    Somebody needs to bring PA a laptop.

  33. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Official: Brides Maids just might be the funniest fucking movie I’ve ever seen in my life.

    Also Official: I don’t give a flying fuck what anybody else says; it’s a pure chick flick, but one every man should see.

  34. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    DICK!!!!

    Tell me truly: do women end up in bitchfights in this flick?

    Because if so, I’ll watch it.

  35. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Scott, I hit PA up on the breathing exercises when I walked into the room. Her Sis-in-Law is handling it and she takes shit from nobody, including PA.

  36. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Aggie, I’m not gonna say a word more about the movie besides ya gotta go see it. And no kids under 18 should be allowed in.
    After you see it, you’ll have to tell me which character I thought was hawt.

  37. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Somebody needs to bring PA a laptop.

    That’s John’s gig.

  38. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    you’ll have to tell me which character I thought was hawt.

    So, not only do I have to go to the movies alone, I have to check women out for you??

    I have sunk to a new low.

    Ok, not really.

  39. scottw May 27, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    She is using it. I am happy.

    It appears to be the dumbest thing in the world but it’s incredibly important.

  40. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Yep, it looked pretty damn lame.

    Aggie, trust me, little gurl!

  41. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Aggie, trust me, little gurl!

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    Wait…why am I laughing??

  42. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Also, we go to the grocery store after the movie’s over, just to hear the checkout clerk ask Kelly if I was her father.

    He’s dead now. Horrible accident.

  43. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    just to hear the checkout clerk ask Kelly if I was her father.

    Oh please…that means you are WINNING!!

  44. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Well damn… poor stupid bastard died for nothing then.

  45. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    But, but..it was an accident…

  46. Dick May 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Seriously, Aggie. That movie was funny as hell.
    Treat yourself to a shitload of out loud laughs.

  47. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I just watched the trailer, Dick. I would enjoy the hell out of it. But I hate going to the movies alone, so I’ll wait for the DVD 🙂

  48. Dick May 27, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    This place needs tits.

  49. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    This place needs tits.

    Yeah, I’m fresh out…

  50. Dick May 27, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    It was the spring of ’77. Backside of the Sir Lankan airport, next to the dumpsters where they disposed of unsold body parts and leftover baked goods.
    I met her at the circus. She was doing her job of holding the bucket behind the elephants when our eyes met. We instantly locked in an embrace. Later on, I cleaned the elephant shit from my suit.
    She knew cattle prods and held a degree in astro physics, which was a big player when it came to ceiling fans and the ‘perfect’ landing.
    Her parents disapproved of me. Not because she was twelve years old, but due to something much worse.
    I was a Presbyterian who didn’t have a single cow to give her father.

  51. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    ^^^^That should go under “Peasant Fiction”.

    I hope it’s fiction, anyway.

  52. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    You were correct, Carin. That was most excellent.

  53. GuyS May 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    *golf claps* at Dicks tear jerking, yet strangely erotic (but tastefully done) portrayal of a pint-size pachyderm pooping packaging princes, and her bovine-less Protestant Paramour.

  54. Dick May 27, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Gentlemen, how’re the nads holding up this fine evening?

  55. GuyS May 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Hangen, and danglen with pride Dick!!

  56. GuyS May 27, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Was at the hospital with the mil … ended up nothing serious…just time consuming…and a lost day of work…but the important thing is she was ok. Took chinese home for dinner. That worked out nice.

  57. Dick May 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Got a letter from Donny today and if I’m reading this correctly, teargas burns your eyes.

    Go figure.

  58. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    My nads are fine, Dick. Probably not going to get to golf Saturday am as planned … stupid fraaking thunderstorms.

  59. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    *Wonders why they call it tear gas.*

  60. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Glad to hear she’s ok, Guy.

    teargas burns your eyes.

    Oh shit!! Poor Donny 😦

  61. GuyS May 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Inclosed small rooms fulled with smoke are no picnic either, Dick. Donny will not ever forget either one.

  62. Dick May 27, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Aggie, it does till ya learn to blink fast and loose.
    Then it’s easy to deal with.

  63. GuyS May 27, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    And off to use ben-gay on my better halfs hip. Ya’ll have a good night, and enjoy the mental image that provides.

  64. Dick May 27, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    They gassed us multiple times over the years. Actually it got to be a joke and we had fun with it, like pulling the masks off the instructors.

  65. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    it does till ya learn to blink fast and loose.

    That’s good avice for when you and BisW are visiting, right??

  66. jay in ames on android May 27, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Someone stir the pot again before the funneh burns.

  67. clintbird May 27, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    I’m betting this will be pretty darn good:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/xmenmovies?v=kyQKi5-k0UU&feature=pyv&ad=11285242311&kw=

  68. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Hey, J’Ames!

    Yeah…looks like it’s too late.

  69. Dick May 27, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Hurry, James! Aggie just lifted her shirt!

  70. jay in ames on android May 27, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    College towns with students gone don’t sell much pizza after 10

  71. jay in ames on android May 27, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Get the camera!

  72. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    Oh, so me lifting my shirt is teh funneh??

    Hm, yeah, ok. I can see that…

  73. Dick May 27, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Please…

  74. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Please…

    *SMOOCH*

  75. Dick May 27, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    Think I’m done for the evening.
    G’night hawt milfs, dirty hoors, lecherous cretins, and Methodists.

  76. LC Aggie Sith May 27, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    G’night, Dick!

    And I should turn in too. Nope…movie until eldest comes home…

  77. jay in ames on android May 28, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    What movie?

  78. Wickedpinto May 28, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    one of the first times, I think it was THE first time that I talked to PA on the phone, just to break the ice we talked about music and movies. I’m an audiophile so I know a lot of music (only the good stuff) But I remember I had been up for about 3 days, I was exhausted, and drunk, and I told her I just wanted to say hey, but then I mentioned one of my favorite movies.

    Turns out she recognized it, so I sang damn near every song from the movie. “The Idolmaker” with my drunken broken voice. And somehow she could dig deep down into her kindness to say that my (again drunken) rendition of baby “was pretty good.” (which is an outright lie. I think she was more impressed that I actually knew all of the words to “O Fortuna: Imperatrix mundi.”

    I don’t know if it made her feel better with those lies, but it made me feel better.

  79. Car in May 28, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    It’s morning folks. Get up. Lots to do today.

    who’s gonna man the weed wacker for me?

  80. Car in May 28, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Stranger in a Strange Land

    That’s up on the audiobook list, when I find it. I’ve heard good things. Any other suggestions on Heinlein? I started Number of the Beast, and it was unbearable.

    Stranger in a STrange Land is one of my most favorite books EVER. The first half of that book is so wonderful. Second half, not so much, but the first half makes it worth it. I picked it up randomly (well, because I knew the U2 song, right?) while I was dog sitting a college prof’s dog and couldn’t put it down.

    The last two books I read were Heinlein. “Friday” and the Future HIstory stories (which are a bunch of short story/novellas that sorta go together).

  81. GuyS May 28, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Morning all!

    Car in, Just finished re-reading RAH’s “Job”. As with most of his stuff, like it or not, it always leaves you with something to think about. You might also take a look at “The Moon is a Harsh Mistress”, which many consider to be his “libertarian manifesto”. Though most of his stories contain bits and pieces of his take on government, the military, and the human race, in general.

    Oh, and Dick, when Donny goes to his first “fire fighting class” (or perhaps the second one), assuming you haven’t shown him this already, it’s always a treat to watch the faces of your fellow Sailors when the instructors (usually members of the local base/flightline fire department) gather every one around a half sized 55 gal drum 1/4 filled with aviation gas, and toss in any number of lit cigarettes. Live demos of how it is the fumes which go “boom”, vice the liquid itself, are definite attention grabbers.

  82. MCPO Airdale May 28, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    The last thing I read was the Dunkin Donuts bag.

  83. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX May 28, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    G’night hawt milfs, dirty hoors, lecherous cretins, and Methodists.

    Huh. I’m 4 for 4 – not bad….

  84. Car in May 28, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I read “Moon ….” sometime last year.

    I’ve also read a few of his juvenilia. Anything I’ve found in the used book stores.

  85. Car in May 28, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I’m trying to read that … Thrones book right now (the name escapes me – the one Chief liked and they’ve got on HBO right now), but I keep picking up Stranger in a Strange land.

    And, I’ve got Bleak House (which Mr. TiFW picked up for me – thankyouverymuch)but I’m feeling I need one more lighter book.

    I’m still wounded from Foucault’s Pendulum.

  86. Dick May 28, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Okay, which one of you people triggered my allergies?

  87. GuyS May 28, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    “Anything I’ve found in used book stores.”

    Best place to find old friends you want a new copy of, or something interesting ya haven’t read yet.

    For a light (hearted) read, if you can find em, any of the Spider Robinson’s Callahans series might be just the thing.

  88. GuyS May 28, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Looks at Dick… “Hell, you keep sending us all the humidity and crap from down there, the least we could do is send our ragweed and such back your way.”

  89. LC Aggie Sith May 28, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Gawd…anyone else feel like they went through a wood chipper?

    And I don’t have allergies or drinking as an excuse.

  90. MCPO Airdale May 28, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    “A Song of Fire and Ice”

    http://fwd4.me/02WJ

  91. Dick May 28, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Poor Aggie.
    You need a hug and a nice cup of tea.

  92. LC Aggie Sith May 28, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    You need a hug and a nice cup of tea tequila.

    Yes…yes, I do. You buyin’???

  93. Dick May 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Watch the piece of shit in the red pickup try to fucking murder a motorcyclist.
    He needs his ass beat down hard.

  94. LC Aggie Sith May 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Holy shit, Dick. That fucktard needs serious jailtime at the very least. Attempted manslaughter as far as I’m concerned.

  95. Dick May 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    New weekend poat!

Comments are closed.

