Dear Dad & Kelly,

27 Apr

I’m sorry it’s taken so long to write. Today is April 24th and it’s the first day they have allowed us a “holiday” routine. From 0700 to 1300 today we are allowed free time to write letters, polish boots, iron, and generally get ourselves squared away.

My division is interesting. I’m singing for the division along with about 15 other recruits. Saturday mornings for us are spent in the drill hall split into our perspective groups. We have drill teams, choir groups, and a recruit band.
Shockingly, the time spent in the drill hall has not taken away from our PT time. My initial PT scores were good. I completed 53 sits in two minutes, 61 push ups in two minutes, and and ran my mile and one half in 11:45. I’m in much better shape than a lot of the recruits in my division, but we do have a couple of physical monsters who put me to shame. It’s fun though as these guys give me goals to work on.

PT is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. PT and chow both. You see, both of those times I can mentally relax. And navy chow is good chow.
Every other part of the day I have to be alert and make sure I cross my i’s and dot my t’s.

I’ve received a job within the division as the Port Watch. I am in charge of all those who are standing watch, writing the Watch Bill and the Deck Log. Any time one of the watch standers screws up in the deck log, I get chewed out for it or I.T.’d (?) for it. It’s a lot of work, but it’s all about attitude.

What they say about not being able to do anything right is true. We just finished our first week after being stuck in P-Days for two weeks. There is definitely a lot of yelling, though our RDC’s (Recruit Division Commanders/Drill Sergeants) are pretty cool, for the most part.

We have our first inspection tomorrow and I’m pretty nervous about it. We should do fine but I want our division to be awesome.

Dad, I love and miss you guys, and this isn’t something I can’t handle. Just have to keep my head up.
Thank you for the early letters. A lot of the division dug the baseball standings.
I should be able to send another letter home in a week.
Thanks for the support, Dad, I love you.

Donny

121 Responses to “Dear Dad & Kelly,”

  1. LC Aggie Sith April 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Dick, your son gives me hope. You must be very proud.

  2. Dick April 27, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    I am, Aggie. G’night.

  3. MCPO Airdale April 27, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    I. T. = Individual Training.

  4. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    Awesome.

  5. USGA April 27, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    God Bless!

  6. Car in April 28, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    🙂

  7. Dick April 28, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    Good morning, Class.

    I’m off to the salt mines and I’d like for each of you to clean your rooms while I’m gone.

    • PattyAnn April 28, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      I’m not cleaning my room. Any of them.
      Nice stinky letter, Dick.

      Glad the Roamys are OK and thanks to xbad for checking on them.

  8. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Clean my room?? I already did!!

    And good morning 🙂

  9. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    Awesome Dick (the letter I mean)!

    here’s video of the Tuscaloosa tornado that killed almost 60 people….

  10. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    My brother was trapped in a hotel in Atlanta in the path of that tornado last night and I lost contact with him for over an hour. He was OK, the tornado skirted around them, Thank God!

  11. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    In order:

    1. Donny’s letter kicks ass! Donny’s commitment, determination, pride, and his affection for you could not be more apparent. What a great way to start my day. Thanks for sharing, Dick.

    2. GML, what a relief! WOW, what a scare!

  12. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Islam has so many perks!

    http://tinyurl.com/6pcv85

  13. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Good God in Heaven… it was the Finger of God.

  14. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Don Surber has fun tying together all of Obama’s “accomplishments.”

    http://tinyurl.com/3z33qky

  15. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    For Ags:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDlcMpFLJlc

    I love this guy!

  16. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Superman to renounce his US citizenship:

    http://tinyurl.com/3flrsxc

    Really? Is there no end to lefty self-loathing – even fucking comic characters aren’t safe? Fuckers.

  17. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Awww, Jazz… you are so sweet!!!

    *smoooches*

  18. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Love the Surber story

    +74493 information synapses

  19. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    First Captain America, then Batgirl, the Wonder Woman, and now Superman.

    Once you destroy every child’s hero, you can mold them into the indoctrinated little serfs you desire…

  20. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Surber pointed out yesterday that Ryan’s fiscal plan is popular with everyone except those under thirty, and those under 30 are those least likely to vote. In fact, they fail to vote (usually) in droves. Ryan’s plan appears to be far more popular with likely voters than the dem plan (whatever that is), and the repercussions of the juvenile resistance will be nil.

  21. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    +74493 information synapses

    hahahahahahahahah!

  22. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Good God in Heaven… it was the Finger of God.

    I’ve gotten that compliment before. 😀

  23. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I’ve gotten that compliment before.

    Smartass 😛

  24. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I’ve gotten that compliment before

    – – – – –

    Quit stealing my lines!

  25. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Check out Treacher’s comment on Supe’s citizenship renunciation:

    http://pajamasmedia.com/instapundit/119416/

  26. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Quit stealing my lines!

    Quit leaving them strewn about like your dirty socks and underwear!

  27. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Way to join the Kryptonian Klux Klan, Kal-El.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!

  28. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    The biggest problem with race preferences is that they taint the achievements, not just of those who benefit from them, but of everyone in the beneficiary group–even those who would have gotten into the college or gotten the job, etc., without the preference. That is an unfairness Obama may acutely feel. Race preferences are a big reason blacks feel they have to be twice as good as everyone else to measure up in society’s eyes–which is a powerful argument for ending the preferences.

    Can you guess who said that? More VERY good stuff at the link.

    http://tinyurl.com/6dpp4cl

  29. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    There is the birther fantasy; the fantasy that Bill Ayers wrote “Dreams from My Father”; the fantasy that the President has some other father, and not Barack Obama, Sr.; the fantasy that Obama got into Harvard Law School with the help of a Saudi prince and the Nation of Islam. There is a veritable fantasy industry at work online and in the book-publishing industry; there are dollars to be made.

    The cynicism of the purveyors of these fantasies is that they know very well what they are playing at, the prejudices they are fanning: that Obama is foreign, a fake, incapable of writing a book, incapable of intellectual achievement. Let’s say what is plainly true (and what the President himself is reluctant to say): these rumors, this industry of fantasy, are designed to arouse a fear of the Other, of an African-American man with a white American mother and a black Kenyan father. Obama, as a politician, is clearly not a radical; he is a center-left pragmatist. If anything, he believes deeply in his capacity to lead with subtle diplomacy and political maneuvering, with a highly realistic sense of the possible; in fact, to many he is maddeningly pragmatic.

    Bwahahahahahahahahahah!

  30. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Paul Rahe’s latest:

    We must either roll back entitlements and the administrative state or raise taxes to a level that is bound to extinguish growth and kill the goose that lays the golden eggs – and Americans now recognize the fact. The speech that Barack Obama delivered at George Washington University on 13 April was a reprise of his performance when he accepted the necessity of extending the Bush tax regime in December. He was angry, petulant, and rude to the guests whom he had invited to attend, as is his wont on such occasions. But he caved. . . .

    Why did so radical a President give so much ground? The answer resembles the reasoning that explains why he gave in on the Bush tax regime back in December. He may bitterly hate the fact, but he is trapped, as he has often been trapped while President, between his own heart-felt convictions and reality.

    More better stuff at the link.

  31. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Walter Russell Mead’s column today is so full of win that I had hard time picking a teaser:

    We are starting to get to know this President a little better, and his chief besetting fault is increasingly clear: the President falls between stools. He is a man of half measures, a man who spends so much money hedging his bets that he loses even when he wins.

  32. Jay in Ames April 28, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Gah, I sure hope this doesn’t come true: HotAir: “Atlas Shrugged” producer on slow start: I don’t know if we’ll make parts two and three now

    I would hope the guy completes the story. I really liked the movie, and I know others did too. DVD and TV is certainly going to raise the total.

  33. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    That Remnick article in The New Yorker was hilarious, Jazz.

  34. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    J’Ames, if money is the issue, perhaps he should go direct to DVD or TV miniseries. He just can’t leave people hanging like that!

  35. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Finally!!!

    Church leaders from the St. Sabina parish have called for a rally in front of Cardinal Francis George’s mansion this morning to protest the removal of their pastor, the Rev. Michael Pfleger. . . .

    On Wednesday, the tension that has simmered for decades between Pfleger and the Archdiocese of Chicago came to a head when George suspended the outspoken priest from St. Sabina, the South Side parish he has led for nearly 30 years.

    Now, this is long overdue. The Cardinal Archbishop has some delicious choice words for this phony, too: Pfleger is no Catholic.

    The other thing I find HILARIOUS is the fucking notion in American Catholics’ minds that protesting an ecclesiatical decision will accomplish anything. The Church is not a democracy. In my own words, “Pay attention to your spirituality and learn about the religion you subscribe to, you ignorant fucking sheep. You don’t fucking get a vote on doctrinal interpretation.”

  36. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Michelle Malkin notes the Pfleger dismissal and gives a Pfleger refresher course:

    http://tinyurl.com/44q9ztg

  37. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Washington declares war on Texas!

    This article is good, but to give you a taste of the tone, here’s the closing:

    I’ll see you later after I clean up and bite the heads off kittens. Such a wonderful snack. I love deep-fried kitten heads, wrapped up in copies of the Constitution, which I then use to take care of the remains of the last batch of deep-fried kitten heads.

  38. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Muslims burn homosexuals alive. http://tinyurl.com/3qub8bh

    WARNING: Graphic video. I won’t watch it – I made that fucking mistake with that goddam Daniel Pearl video. Didja ever see anything that made you poorer in spirit? Death is not entertainment, and I have no legitimate need to watch people tortured.

  39. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Just 12 miles apart in the belly of California, a pair of 12.5 megawatt power plants fouled the air with a toxic brew of pollutants — nitrogen dioxide, sulfur dioxide, carbon monoxide, ammonia and particulate matter. They released thick plumes and visible dust. They failed to install proper monitoring equipment, and failed to file reports on their emissions.

    Another instance of coal plants polluting the environment?

    Not quite. These are biomass power plants, part of the so-called green wave of the future.

    http://tinyurl.com/64fo87a

  40. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Thus far, 12 states have introduced similar versions to the Federal Health Care Nullification Act drafted by the Tenth Amendment Center this year. These bills either fully nullify or refuse compliance with ObamaCare. The Federal Health Care Nullification Act introduced in Texas (HB297), Montana (SB161), Wyoming (HB0035), Oregon (HB498) and Maine (LD558) all state that ObamaCare is “hereby declared to be invalid, shall not be recognized, is specifically rejected, and shall be considered null and void and of no effect.” Idaho recently passed HB 298 which is nicknamed the “grandson of nullification.”

    http://tinyurl.com/42el64n

  41. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    And I’m done for now. 🙂

    Enjoy?

    Enjoy. 🙂

  42. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Crazy Larry gets OWNED by equally crazy Orly Taitz.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHVoR9jGn78&feature=player_embedded

    POPCORN!

  43. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 28, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Thanks for sharing Stinky’s letter, Dick – is there an e-mail addy where we can send him well wishes?

    Jazz, thanks for the links! Keep on sending them – I really enjoy having them all in one place.

    GML – glad your relatives are OK; it must have been scary when you couldn’t reach them last night.

    The root canal is complete – apparently a bunch of bacteria had set up camp in my gums. Got all of those squatters outta there, and now I’m just waiting for the anesthetic to wear off so that I can take a drink without dribbling….

  44. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 28, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Jazz, I hear you on those “death” videos, but sometimes I think we have to watch them, just so that we don’t EVER forget what kind of enemy we are up against.

    Would that we could take some of the Code Pink people and anti-war protesters, lock them all in a room with an IMAX screen, and play those tapes over and over and over UNTIL.THEY.GET.IT.

    Especially the one that I saw with the young Chechnyan girl who was in the wrong place at the wrong time….

  45. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Would that we could take some of the Code Pink people and anti-war protesters, lock them all in a room with an IMAX screen, and play those tapes over and over and over UNTIL.THEY.GET.IT.

    TiFW, honey…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0gxKStPXyn8

    Truer words were never spoken…in our lifetimes, anyway.

  46. Jay in Ames April 28, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I watched the Nick Berg video, and it was truly horrific. I couldn’t bring myself to watch the Daniel Pearl one.

    You are right, everyone should have to watch one, just to see it with your own eyes. It’s terrible to watch.

  47. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    I think we have to watch them, just so that we don’t EVER forget what kind of enemy we are up against.

    I know evil without smelling the stench of its breath. Watching that Daniel Pearl video killed a piece of something good inside of me. I don’t know how to describe it, but I am a worse person for seeing it – I leased (I really hope I didn’t make an absolute conveyance) some space to the Lord of the Flies. My life did not need that – I recognized the evil of Pearl’s murderers before they ever took a knife to him. I can’t agree with universal compulsory viewing – not everyone’s equipped to visit the bottom of the Well of Horrors, and the knowledge and experience gained there can be understood without immersing one’s self in it. I will concede, though, that the willfully ignorant should have to view some of these accounts, only to disabuse the ig-nent of their myopic and uninformed opinions.

  48. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Howdy again. Had a doc appt with eldest, and now I’m waiting for Hubby to skype.

    The videos are horrific, but they exist to remind us of the horror we face if we do not put a stop to that political ideology disguised as a religion.

    Oh, off topic, my FB account is temporarily unavailable. I have a secure account, but it may have been hacked, so if you get any links or stuff from me, it’s a virus.

  49. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    ust when we thought there were no more brazen audacities left to report about in Obamacare, here comes a doozy.

    House Republicans have uncovered, tucked away in Section 1311(a) of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), an UNLIMITED Obamacare implementation slush fund.

    http://tinyurl.com/4yy9uhc

  50. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I hate having to unload with both barrels sometimes, but willful stupidity drives me to it occasionally.

    My latest response to a comment at my place may be another sidebar-worthy rant.

  51. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    The videos are horrific, but they exist to remind us of the horror we face if we do not put a stop to that political ideology disguised as a religion.

    I don’t agree, Ags. They are evidence of the unbridled evil Islam allows to be committed in its name, and they exist because someone wanted to terrorize someone else into subservience. There was no altruism in their creation; they weren’t created as a mitzvah. They are the tools of evil.

    Why am I so . . . GAAAAAAAH! today? :/

  52. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    unreal Jazz about the Obamacare…. shared.

  53. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    LOL, BiW!!! Fecking MARVELOUS commnent!

  54. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Jazz, I do agree with you about the videos being tools of evil. But I am also aware of the head-in-sand habits of people as a whole. Some can be taught with just being told, but some have to be taught by being shown.

  55. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Unfortunately, there are some who will continue to believe what they want to believe, even AFTER being shown videos like that. They can’t accept that their tidy little construct of the “Noble Savage” might not be as perfect as they would like….

  56. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Some can be taught with just being told, but some have to be taught by being shown.

    My opinion is not that different than yours.

    I will concede, though, that the willfully ignorant should have to view some of these accounts, only to disabuse the ig-nent of their myopic and uninformed opinions.

  57. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Rand Paul is a funny, funny guy: http://tinyurl.com/435pu7x

  58. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Sneaky Cellphones Track Stupid Users:

    Q: Why is Movabla tracking my location?
    A: Movabla is not tracking, never has tracked, and never will track your location. We are simply tracking your phone’s location. While in some cases there may be a correlation between your location and your moPhone’s location, it’s ridiculous to conflate the two. For all we know, you left your phone in a taxi, gave it to a stranger to borrow for a while, or threw it into the window of a Nevada brothel, waited two hours, then went in to fetch it.

  59. Jay in Ames April 28, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Allen West announces candidacy on Glenn Beck’s Radio Show:

    GlennBeck.com: Glenn interviews his 2012 favorite: Allen West

  60. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    For all we know, you left your phone in a taxi, gave it to a stranger to borrow for a while, or threw it into the window of a Nevada brothel, waited two hours, then went in to fetch it.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!

    Sounds like something GML would do 😉

  61. GuyS April 28, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Man, it’s like a constant party over here! Going to have to stop by more often.

    Dick, sounds like the youngen is going to do just fine! Congrats to him for hanging tuff. Please send him this old retired Squids good wishes (along with “fair winds and following seas”, when he heads off to his next assignment).

  62. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Man, it’s like a constant party over here! Going to have to stop by more often.

    Well, it IS a whorehouse, Guy.

  63. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Who’s peeking out from under a stairway?

    http://xrl.in/8wzu

  64. USGA April 28, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Jay… I wouldn’t think to vote for Allen West.
    I’d just do it.

  65. GuyS April 28, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Akin to Spider Robinson’s “Lady Sally’s”, or just an old fashion “liquior in front, poker in the rear” establishment? And do you need a piano player?

  66. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    We’re a high falloutin’ establishment. The chairs are comfortable, the company agreeable, Aggie wears pearls, and we’ll even wipe out your glass before we pour the whiskey in it.

    And we already have a pianer player. Look at the wall paper very carefully. I think you’ll approve.

    Hell, we even have our mascot in the sidebar.

  67. Jay in Ames April 28, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    And do you need a piano player?

    Check the picture on the wall.

  68. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Speaking of throwing phones in brothels, that hooker to the right – her purple cellphone is vibrating.

  69. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Hey, GuyS – welcome. I don’t know you, but it sounds like others do. Glad you came by. 🙂

  70. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    How do all? feckin’ busy day again… not complaining by any means though!

    did anybody go spelunking today?

  71. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    did anybody go spelunking today?

    No, but I heard the Asian hoor will take you sphincter diving for a modest fee.

  72. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I just hawked some BiW blog. Let’s see if his hit count spikes.

    • PattyAnn April 28, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      I’m gone for the day and we now have two Guys and a Dick?

      Wish I could see the vibrating phone on the bar.

  73. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I just hawked some BiW blog. Let’s see if his hit count spikes.

    Not yet. But Rutherford came back for some more. So I gave it to him.

  74. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I fecking hate Carrie Underwood. That is all.

    /I just despise pop culture.

  75. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    wassup with the Carrie hatin’? I get the despise of pop culture, I’m with you on that.

  76. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I’m gone for the day and we now have two Guys and a Dick?

    Sounds like a REALLY bad porn movie…..

    “Two Guys, One Dick”

  77. GuyS April 28, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Upon closer inspection, I see the tickler of the ivories, much, much better form than mine. Is the black sheep an embraceable ewe? And BiW, if Ruthiford gets any smarmier, Smuckers will have to bottle him and offer him as a spread for toast and such!

  78. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    Yay!! GuyS is here!!

    WHEEEE!!!!!!!

  79. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    hahahahahahahahahaha Tifw!

    and,

    ew!

  80. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    I get the despise of pop culture, I’m with you on that.

    Given her status as the most successful American Idol winner ever, she’s emblematic of the worst of pop culture. She’s a creation of pop culture. She personifies the fetid rot that infests our collective psyche.

  81. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Jazz, I’ve been incommunicado with the interwebtubenets. What did Underwood do now?

  82. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Ags, nothing in particular. Another blog was hawking her performance of “How Great Thou Art” at the CMA with Vince Gill. I thought the performance was pedestrian and the audience’s applause ironic, given that the recording industry musically propagates un-Christian values at every turn. I’m also troubled by the usurpation of sacred music for commercial gain. Rank hypocrisy abounds.

  83. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    My comment in response:

    Is there anything more ironic than recording industry denizens applauding a testament to the power and majesty of a deity the industry offends daily through the musical propagation of un-Christian values? And who is “the industry”? It includes every one of those people sitting there.

    I’m not trying to caustically provoke confrontation. The performance was nice – not the best or worst I’ve heard, but the charade was distasteful. I thought it was a pedestrian performance and a tortured use of sacred music.

    http://tinyurl.com/3zah66e

  84. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Oh yeah….FB was rife sharing that video all this week, Jazz.

    That’s my favorite hymn, and frankly, the term “underwhelmed” was too weak to describe my thoughts on the matter.

  85. Teresa in Fort Worth, TX April 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    So, GuyS – tell us about yourself….

  86. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Ags, through conversation with a coworker, I’ve managed to crystalize my feeling: I find it offensive that Carrie Underwood (& Vince Gill) co-opted a prayer for use as entertainment at an event that celebrates commercial achievements. She treated it with as much respect as Jesse Jackson reading “Green Eggs and Ham” on Saturday Night Live.

  87. Jazz April 28, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    driving

  88. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Jazz, if it weren’t for the fact that country music has always had an affinity for gospel and has intertwined the two over time, I might agree.

    As for singing it at a broadcast event, I guess I don’t get too worked up. They sing, and have sung such songs at the Grand Ol’ Opry for years, and I figure if Elvis and Hank Williams could sing gospel tunes, knowing some of their behaviors, I can’t get stirred up about it being done by Carrie Underwood, Allison Krauss, Vince Gill, or others, either. I think we could all use a not-so-subtle reminder what its all about and who deserves the praise.

    *turns up copy of “High Lonesome Sound” even higher*

  89. Dick April 28, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Hey peoples. Long ass day and I’m beat. Thanks for all the nice thoughts about Donny. He’s a damn good young man and I couldn’t be any prouder of him.

    Now, I need tequila.

  90. Dick April 28, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Teresa, Guy S is another retired Navy Master Chief.
    Just not as ornery as MCPO.

  91. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    One more flag and we hit 100!

  92. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Dick – Shut the fuck up, you ragged-ass Dogface!

  93. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Oh, and I say that with love. . .

  94. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Just not as ornery as MCPO.

    Sobriety has ruined many a good attitude.

  95. Dick April 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Ya didn’t have to tell me about the with love crapfest, ya grizzly old bastard.
    I already knew it.

    Wanna watch a chick flick?

  96. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Wanna watch a chick flick?

    Sure. I recommend “Bridge on the River Kwai”

  97. Dick April 28, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Oh, just gassed up Kelly’s Accord and it cost $63.50.
    I’m ready to burn this motherfucker down.

  98. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Dick – How much tax does Tejas get on a gallon?

  99. Dick April 28, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    About $3.75 right now, Chief.

  100. Dick April 28, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Gassed her car and my truck for $125 fucking dollars.
    Un-goddamned-real.
    And that 50 cent a mile write us small business owners get, isn’t really 50 cents. More like 35.

  101. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Crap! I hope you left a stickie with OhBambi’s name on it!

  102. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Sure. I recommend “Bridge on the River Kwai”

    Nope. I want something more upbeat. Like They Were Expendable or The Bridge at Toko-Ri. Or better yet, Paths of Glory. Nothing raises your spirts like picking an enlisted man from every unit, and trying them for cowardice to cover their superiors’ ineptitiude, then shooting them. That’s AWESOME stuff.

  103. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Did any of you miscreant take my suggestion re: “Away All Boats”??

  104. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Did any of you miscreant take my suggestion re: “Away All Boats”??

    I haven’t…but then, I haven’t seen it anywhere, either.

  105. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Last time I saw Away All Boats it was in VHS format, MCPO.

    And I think I was 24 years old.

  106. GMLand April 28, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Well hello little blog. Did you lose your mommy and daddy? Is nobody paying attention to you?

  107. Little Blog April 28, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Mommy and Daddy left me here all by myself!!!!!!
    Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  108. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    *gives little blog a cookie*

  109. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    And I think I was 24 years old.

    So last year then?

  110. LC Aggie Sith April 28, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    So last year then?

    *gives BisW a massage, a bottle of bourbon, three dead hookers, and a bag of circus peanuts*

  111. GuyS April 28, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    In all deference to Dick, being one of Mama Bennings wayward boys, (if I remember correctly), I never made it to the exulted heights of Master Chief (which I had, in hindsight, the child support payments would not have been so hard to take), or even Senior Chief, or that first step to Naval Saint hood, Chief Petty Officer. Just a humble, but lovable PO1.

    Currently reside in the hinterlands of northern Illinois (as in “The Peoples Republic of”), with my wife of almost 13 years (must be either lucky or doing something right, she hasn’t kilt me yet.) Somewhat to the right of center with my politics, but more concerned about the charter between “We the Peeps” and the spawn of Chitulu in DC. The charter being the Constitution (ya know, that pesky thing many of us here took up oaths for every four years or so).

    Aside from that, I blog on occasion (just click the name to see my bit of fluff on the net), read as much as possible of anything which holds my interest, and have found netflix to be far too addicting.

  112. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere April 28, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    The charter being the Constitution

    No. The Constitution is the Bylaws.

    The Charter is the Declaration of Independence.

    http://threesurethingsoflife.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/the-declaratory-charter-of-our-rights/

  113. Zelda April 28, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    What a great letter. You have a cool kid. I love how he assures you he can handle it. Bless his heart.

  114. MCPO Airdale April 28, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    GuyS – I loved being a PO1! I got to run the division and the Chief took the heat.

  115. Dick April 28, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    Guys, once again. Thank you for all the positive thoughts for my only child. His honesty and abilities build pride within my soul.
    As for me, I got another motherfucker tomorrow. Nothing pretty or technically challenging; just a job.
    G’night.

  116. GuyS April 28, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    BisW, I always considered the Declaration exactly that, a declaration of who we are, where we stand, and what (or what not) we are going to continue to take or abide by. Perhaps we are dealing in semantics, in my mind, in this case, a charter (or perhaps more correctly, a covenant) would by its design contain at least the basic rules or by-laws, or at the very least said by-lays would directly reference (and suborn themselves to) the covenant. In any case I think we are of a like mind about its importance and place in how the government conducts its business and affairs of state.

    MCPO, more often than not I was on great terms with the division chiefs. as I worked as a QAR, Assistant PAO, CCC, at various commands toward the end of my time in the Navy. Last task I had was det LPO. Had I any sense at all I would have taken them upon their last minute offer of a two year extension, made a hard run at CPO, and most likely stayed in for my 30. But hindsight is always 20/20.

    • PattyAnn April 29, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      Where is everyone?

  117. GMLand April 29, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    they should be at the NEW POAT!!!!

Comments are closed.

