Let’s see how this is gonna work out…

24 Mar

Dad’s a golfer. He also has one foot in the grave and the other strapped into an ice skate. He wants to play golf today, so who the hell am I to tell him ‘no’?
That’s right. I’m just one of his kids so I’ll take him to play golf today just as requested.
Honestly, I’m betting that he does somewhere between three and five holes max, and that’ll be it. He has a difficult time hitting a bucket of balls, so this has to be a big  step up.

So… Why did he pick me out of his four children to go play golf?
Sure, I loathe the sport and can’t hit a lick, but I know CPR.

Dad better hope I don’t become preoccupied while on the course.

(found her at a golf website so she counts)

Just sayin’.

151 Responses to “Let’s see how this is gonna work out…”

  1. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Bestest poat in da universe!

  2. scottw March 24, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    Aggie,I somehow missed your question last night. We own a retail “pack and ship” business. Laura runs the retail side, I pick up, package and freight the large stuff. A lot of our business is fueled by those that buy and sell antiques. Apparently, when people lose their jobs they buy fewer antiques.

  3. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Scott, do you sell stuff on eBay for people? There’s a company here that sells and ships.

  4. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    **re-reads poat, looks up when Masters is

  5. Dick March 24, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Back in 2007 when I self published a book, I was called a talentless hack and a wannabe (moms can be so tough!). Now it seems to be all the rage.

  6. scottw March 24, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    No RFH, thought about trying it a couple years ago but never did. All of the places that did that around here have closed. It made sense during the early days of the internet but now everyone is connected.

  7. scottw March 24, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    We see a lot of cool stuff. One of my customers is getting really busy. Apparently there is a huge demand for 4-wheel drive monster wheelchairs http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j130/227757523/IMG01440.jpg

  8. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Scott, same guy who was repairing wheelchairs for the needy?

  9. scottw March 24, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Same guy. Charity work doesn’t pay the bills though, monster chair sales are allowing him to continue.

  10. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Good morning and WAKEY THE HELL UP!!!!

    Thanks, Scott!

    Sounds like maybe the business has prevailed, though, from what you say.

  11. scottw March 24, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    If that green machine had a cup holder and a place to strap golf clubs it would serve MCPO well.

  12. Dick March 24, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Well that was a short-lived golfing expedition.
    Dad chickened out, which I don’t really mind at all considering his condition.

  13. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Dick, I’m going to take a dump now. I thought you’d probably want to know.

  14. Dick March 24, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    Chief, don’t hurt yourself with that drill.

  15. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Sorry your dad isn’t up to it, Dick.

    My anniversary is on Saturday. I shall be spending it watching a movie.

  16. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Dick, I applaud your Dad for thinking he might even WANT to golf. He decided he didn’t want to and that was his choice. I’m so glad you gave him one.

  17. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Aggie, before your movie, do you want to have dinner with all of us? We’ll light candles and everything and be with you here. We can celebrate your anniversary and MCPO’s, since they’re celebrating Saturday night also.
    We just need to synchronize our watches.

  18. Dick March 24, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Aggie, wish there was something Kel and I could do to make your evening better.

    PA, we’ll give it another try next week, maybe.
    I’m not real sure he’ll ever play another round again, but he wants to.

  19. Dick March 24, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I off to the Garland brickyard and other scenic spots.

  20. GMLand March 24, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    I drove 2,132 miles for this?

  21. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Even if your dad can’t play a whole round, Dick, you think he might be able to do a hole or two on one of those nine-hole mini courses? It’s not mini golf, but the courses are SHORT and easy, and you might be able to work a deal with the course manager so you don’t have to pay for a whole round. Dad might be able to get the satisfaction of playing a hole or two without the stress and effort of a full-blown 27-hole course.

  22. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I drove 2,132 miles for this?

    Is this a trick question???

  23. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Aggie, before your movie, do you want to have dinner with all of us?

    That sounds way cool, PattyAnn!!

    *synchronizes watch*

    *damns Brighton to hell for its tiny watch numbers*

  24. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Jazz, that’s an awesome idea, too. I should try that for my neighbor. She loves to golf, but can’t get around much.

  25. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    *looks around the blog*

    *feels lonely*

    *cries in her coffee*

  26. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Thanks, Aggie! I don’t play often, but those are the ocurses I like to play. I played one in Detroit that had power lines right in front of the tee on the third hole. I shanked a ball right into them, and the ball dropped right in front of the women’s tee. How the hell I hit a 1/2″ power line with a 2″ ball at 60′ is beyond me, but I can’t believe I was the first. There are reasons those courses are cheap! 😀

  27. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    There are reasons those courses are cheap!

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

  28. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Dear Reuters, You Must Be Kidding

    http://tinyurl.com/4sejpu4

  29. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Jamie Gorelick for Director of FBI? HAHAHAH – not so fast, you stupid liberal fucks.

    http://tinyurl.com/6c7ac58

  30. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Trump’s birth cert commentary resonates with The View’s liberal audience, which should give the President pause.

    http://tinyurl.com/6kbye44

  31. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Jim Treacher on the hypocrisy of Howard Dean.

    http://tinyurl.com/6jvgf8t

  32. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Ann Althouse and her husband, Meade, on the frustration of democracy in Madison, WI.

    http://tinyurl.com/4rr62l5

    I like Meade much better than Althouse, BTW. What craven, rationalizing poseur.

  33. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    “[T]he main reason for Detroit’s decline is the greed of the industry’s main union, the UAW, which priced the Big Three out of the market.”

    http://tinyurl.com/4me3l5n

  34. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    I own the recent commments!!@!

  35. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Dear Reuters, You Must Be Kidding Are a Bunch of Abetting Assholes

    Jamie Gorelick for Director of FBI KGB

    Trump’s birth cert commentary resonates with The View’s liberal fucktardically twatwaffly audience

    Fixeted a lot, Jazz 😉

  36. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    To evensuggest that any of those trannies (Elizabeth excluded of course)who occupy the couches on The View have twats is to insult twat owners worldwide!

  37. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    ^Not for long

  38. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Insert above space between those two words if you must.

  39. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Twatwaffly?

    I’m telling NOW on you. 😛

  40. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    My “Not for long” referenced “I own the recent commments!!@!”

    Just wanted to be clear.

  41. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    CB, I said the audience was twatwaffly 😉

    Jazz, you should totally turn me in to NOW. Then I could have me some fun 😉

  42. Car in March 24, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Afternoon everyone. What’s up?

  43. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    CARIN!!!!!

    You doing ok? I had to do the Wakey today and everything!!

  44. Car in March 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Alhouse voted for Obama. Never forget her posts on election night.

  45. Car in March 24, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    I had a ton of cleaning this morning.

    Then school.

    Sorry no wakey wakey.

    Of course, perhaps it will be timely for xbrad?

  46. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Hi, Carin, I must now muster the wherewithal to get my ass out of the house and head to the gym.

  47. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Alhouse voted for Obama

    So I heard, but my question is, did she do it because she truly believed in the Hope and Change™, or because she felt it was better to have the water boil fast, rather than let it simmer slowly so the frogs wouldn’t notice?

  48. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I would have gone earlier but I felt the need to epically piss off all my progressive/liberal FB friend … which I’m fairly certain I accomplished at near Academy Award winning levels today. *Self satisfied sigh uttered*

  49. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Alhouse voted for Obama. Never forget her posts on election night.

    I don’t. And she’s unfailingly unrepentant about it. She holds no esteem in my eyes.

  50. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    So I heard, but my question is, did she do it because she truly believed in the Hope and Change™, or because she felt it was better to have the water boil fast, rather than let it simmer slowly so the frogs wouldn’t notice?

    Did Dahmer eat his victims because he was hungry, to satisfy some deviant urge, or to make a statement?

    It doesn’t matter.

    Althouse voted for Obama, and there’s no rational reason that she (or anyone else) has espoused that mitigates her atrocious decision.

  51. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    *writes Althouse off*

    *pencils in Jazz’ soon-to-be blog*

    😀

  52. Car in March 24, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    There- found it Althouse – November 4th, 2008 :

    10:00: CNN projects Obama as the winner!

    10:01: I’ve been sitting here feeling completely cool and calm all evening. But that announcement — that Obama has won — gave me chills, made me almost cry. Something big has happened.

  53. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    lol!

    I despise her. She’s entirely too impressed with herself and her academic credentials, and she can’t admit when she’s wrong. She’s just tedious.

  54. Car in March 24, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    She said at the time she was mostly voting against McCain.

  55. Car in March 24, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    She has long posts about what was wrong with McCain.

    Whatever.

  56. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I voted FOR Sarah Palin.

  57. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Awesome post by William Jacobson on the state of WI’s new fiscal sanity/union busting law: http://tinyurl.com/4wbulsu

    Looks like there just might be trouble in Madison city.

  58. Jay in Ames March 24, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Can we start a “Palin is unelectable” fight here too?

  59. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    They need to try harder.
    Obama locked out of White House

    http://www.newsnet5.com/dpp/news/national/president-barack-obama-locked-out-of-white-house

  60. Jay in Ames March 24, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I have new respect for you lawyer types. I just read that Legal Insurrection post, and I want to jab my eyes out.

    You do this for a living? My hat’s off to you.

  61. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Can we start a “Palin is unelectable” fight here too?

    J’Ames, you know we love you. You can start any fight you want 😉

  62. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I have new respect for you lawyer types. I just read that Legal Insurrection post, and I want to jab my eyes out.

    You do this for a living? My hat’s off to you.

    That’s the kind of shit I LIKE, J’Ames. The stuff I do now is tedious and boring. There’s excitement in them thar rules!!!

  63. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    So, Sumi is preventing the law from being made??

    GAH!!!!

  64. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Kinetic Military Action = KMA = Kiss My Ass

    They’re becoming too transparent

  65. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Kinetic Military Action

    PAGING GEORGE ORWELL!!!

  66. Jay in Ames March 24, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Meagen McCain had just totaled her car in a horrific accident. Miraculously, she managed to pry herself from the wreckage without a scratch and was applying fresh lipstick when the state trooper arrived.
    “My God!” the trooper gasped. “Your car looks like an accordion that was stomped on by an elephant. Are you OK ma’am?”
    “Yes, officer, I’m just fine” the blonde chirped.
    “Well, how in the world did this happen?” the officer asked as he surveyed the wrecked car.
    “Officer, it was the strangest thing!” the blonde began. I was driving along this road when from out of nowhere this TREE pops up in front of me. So I swerved to the right, and there was another tree! I swerved to the left and there was ANOTHER tree! I served to the right and there was another tree! I swerved to the left and there was ….”
    “Uh, Ms. McCain?”, the officer said, cutting her off, “There isn’t a tree on this road for 30 miles. That was your air freshener swinging back and forth

    Posted by: Shecky Rimshot at March 24, 2011 01:02 PM (NtXW4)

  67. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    That was your air freshener swinging back and forth

    That’s a true story, isn’t it?

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!

  68. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Sumi should be impeached. Her son works for the unions and her husband is a Dem fundraiser. How she got on the bench in the first place is a fucking travesty.

    Oh yeah, fuck lawyers. They wouldn’t know “justice” if it jumped up and bite them in the ass.

  69. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    So, Sumi is preventing the law from being made??

    Sumi is preventing an elected state officer from fulfilling the ministerial duties of his appointment. The last stage of implementing a new a law is publication, and that act is part of the legislative scheme. By preventing the SoS from completing his ministerial duty, the judge is interfering in the legislative process, and the question the court of appeals is wrestling with is whether the courts have the authority to interfere in the legislative process at all. The way the issue is framed leads me to believe Sumi’s decision is in big trouble.

  70. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH! Chief thinks the legal system is about justice!

    This’ll be really funny – now make an observation about a court being a forum for the search for truth and fairness!!@! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!

    /I was sorely disillusioned and rather despondent for a while after I figured this all out

  71. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I really shouldn’t make light of Chief’s comment. The fact that it’s true still fucking bothers me, even though I KNOW the landscape now.

  72. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Jazz – I’ve known it for many years. It still makes me angry that the whole thing has been so severely perverted and very few of your profession seem to be bothered by the fact.
    They accept it, say, “It’s always been this way.” and rationalize their actions. It’s a fucking sham.

  73. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    We’re all small cogs in the machine, Chief. Individually, not one of us can make a big difference. Collectively, though, if my confreres actually focused on the quality of their work, things could change. I try to do my part to make things better – I don’t take crap cases, and I counsel my clients on things other than their rights, like being aware of the emotional toll litigation takes on a litigant (sometimes sleeping at night is worth more to the client than the retribution it seeks). It does suck, though, if one retains the belief that the courts are all about truth and justice.

  74. agiledog March 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Can we start a “Palin is unelectable” fight here too?

    Bring it!

  75. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Bring it!

    *serves popcorn, chips and queso, salsa, and onion dip, beer, ales and stouts, hotwings with blue cheese dressing, and petit fours*

    What? Who doesn’t like petit fours???

  76. Dick March 24, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I love Palin. You guys suck and I’m gone again.

  77. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    That whole shitstorm at the other moron blog over Palin was rather idiotic.

  78. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Concerning same, it’s interesting to me that you cannot even get a mention for Michelle Bachman there. I just don’t get it.

  79. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I think maybe it’s that the folks on the perimeter of our country simply don’t yet grasp the actual size, scope and support for the whole tea party/real conservative vs. RINO movements that is so evident to us in the vast portion of the US the coasts have long called the flyover part of the US.

  80. GMLand March 24, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I love Palin. She tells it like it is and that offends the politically correct right… and all the left. Fug that PCness. I think she is better to us as a fundraiser at this time though. I’m considering throwing the hat in with Herman Cain though, I’m picking up what he’s puttin’ down.

  81. Dick March 24, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Which site are we speaking of? Ace?

  82. GMLand March 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    yes, AoS

  83. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I’m feeling very July 13, 1789, Paris-style.

  84. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    I like Herman Cain. I like Michele Bachmann. I like Palin, although not so much as a candidate this time around. I think she’d do a fine job as CinC and El Jefe, but there might be too much baggage this cycle for her to make a decent showing. I’m open to some others, too.

  85. agiledog March 24, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I would have called it eye-opening, Aggie. I find it very interesting who chimes in when Palin comes up.

  86. Dick March 24, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I’m feeling very July 13, 1789, Paris-style.

    I’ll grab some rope.

  87. Dick March 24, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Not enough people know who Cain is. He lacks star power.

    We need somebody who’s gonna come out swinging and never stop.

  88. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Rush’s audience knows who Cain is. I’d wish that Cain could stop the meme that we’re a bunch of raaaaaacists, but you know they will call him an Uncle Tom or an Oreo.

  89. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    it’s interesting to me that you cannot even get a mention for Michelle Bachman there

    Well, you hardly get to hear about her in the northeast, so there’s that.

  90. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    I like Palin, Bachmann, Cain…hell, anyone who isn’t establishmentarianistic.

    I find it very interesting telling who chimes in when Palin comes up.

    Fixeted 😉

  91. Dick March 24, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I like Bachman a lot. Love Palin. Would prefer Mike Pence over both.

  92. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Good choice, Dick.

  93. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Driving. Have a good night, y’all.

  94. Jazz March 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Pence? He’s my first choice, but he’s not cooperating.

  95. Dick March 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Roamy, that’s the problem. I listen to Rush every single day, and I still don’t know anything at all about Cain.
    Let me rephrase that. Not enough to vote for him.

  96. agiledog March 24, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I’ll grab some rope.

    You’d need a guillotine to truely fit in, Dick.

  97. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Herman Cain turned Godfather’s Pizza around to make a profit again, knows how to run a business and what it means to try to make payroll despite the best intentions of the guvmint to take it away from you, tells the race-baiters to kiss his ass, told Clinton to his face that he didn’t know WTF he was talking re: health care, and kicked cancer to the curb.

    I like him.

  98. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    I think Michelle Bachman is mentioned so seldom by RINOs and MSM and Democrazies because she is feared, perhaps above all others. Just one guy’s opinion.

  99. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Bachman is often the smartest person in the room. I feel that way about Gingrich too. In both cases, I think a lot of pundits, politicians and so called experts blow off their chances of being elected because they’re hoping they don’t run. As far as Gingrich, I don’t think any of that crap about his marriages makes a tinker’s damn of difference to the average voter. If that were the case, Bill Clinton wouldn’t have won twice and no Kennedy would have ever won.

  100. Dick March 24, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Gingrich is a genius, no doubt, but I’m out on him simply because of what he said about tea partiers.
    We ain’t good enough for his blue blood ass. Fuck him.

  101. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    I have this feeling Ann Coulter was right when she said we either nominate Palin, because if we don’t, Romney will win and we’ll lose.

  102. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I wrote Newt off when he sat next to Pelosi on that fucking couch.

  103. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Well, that’s okay, Dick. Let’s go with Bachman/West then.

  104. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I’m ready to get me some Archer on tonight.
    Last night’s episode of Justified was one of the more unusual episodes.

  105. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Dick, I get that same vibe too!!!

    Romney is positioning himself to be the next McCain.

    Fuck that on a stick with sauce.

  106. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Concerning Romney … I’d think Scott Brown would be all the Mass. “Republicans” the average informed voter can tolerate.

  107. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    And I WAS a Romney guy last time, but I just cannot see him getting the nomination despite Ann’s concerns.

  108. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    I cannot envision another fucking Northeast “Republican” getting the nomination … No, No, NO>

  109. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Other than Chris Christie, of course!!!

  110. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Chris Christie, even though he is a good fiscal conservative, is pro gun control. That may work in Joisey, but not the rest of the country.

  111. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    I’ve never liked Romney. Too fake and can’t ever give a straight answer. (Of course, that’s 99% of political hacks, not just Romney)
    West is okay, great even, but I want to see more outta him before I give him the keys to the nukes.

    For me, I think it’s down to Bachman or Palin. They both make Libs’ heads explode, which I find ever so charming.

  112. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Christie has kind of worn on me of late. He’s figured out just how popular he is and now he’s gonna use it to his advantage.
    And any politician talking gun control is fair game/no bag limit in my field manual.

  113. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Agreed about Bachman and Palin making ALL libtards and closet libtards heads explode. Probably about all the real qualifications we need to ponder. Neither appeal to the squishy middle, not that I think appealing to the squishy middle helps someone other than Barry S. get elected.

  114. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Ahh, the Independents… Like that fucking overpaid idiot, Ann Althouse.

  115. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    And it’s like the Chief said upstream. I didn’t vote for McCain, I voted for Palin.

  116. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Pence/Cain 2012!!

  117. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    What happens when you are middle of the road?? 😉

  118. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    You get run over from two different directions, aggie.

  119. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Aggie, technically, I’m middle of the road considering I don’t believe the government should have any say in abortion and I think fetal stem cell research is bitchin’.

  120. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    If fetal stem cells worked, the companies involved wouldn’t need taxpayer money for R&D.

  121. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    I forget who said it, but it was something along the lines of “The good Lord in Heaven did not intend for us to make human omelets to validate Michael J. Fox.”

  122. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Dick – I don’t think the federal government should have a say in abortion either and DON’T SPEND MY TAX DOLLARS TO SUPPORT IT!

  123. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    There is much that I think the federal government should have no say in ………………………………..!

  124. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    There is much that I think the federal government should have no say in

    Toilets
    Lightbulbs
    Washing Machines
    Dishwashing Soap
    Car Mileage
    etc, etc, etc.

  125. clintbird March 24, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Education
    The Internet
    Energy
    Commerce other than the very narrow original intentions of our founding fathers
    The Fed
    Fanny Mae and Freddy Mac

    How long a list can we post?

  126. Dick March 24, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    If fetal stem cells worked, the companies involved wouldn’t need taxpayer money for R&D.

    How do you know they don’t work? Check out how long they been working with adult stem cells compared to fetal stem cells.
    Compare and contrast at scientific sites as opposed to the politically slanted ones, then get back to me.
    And you are right about the fact that they don’t need government dollars.
    And Roamy, kids do not have to die to gather them, which is just one of many convenient republican lies.
    Science, Baby! Not genocide.

  127. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Anything with Freon
    Housing
    My cholesterol level
    And I’m beginning to think…space

  128. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    They should stick to building roads, taking out the trash, and blowing shit up.

  129. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Damn. It sucks to give up something you love.

    Tell Pops that that damn yankee attorney you know was disappointed to hear that his good walk was spoiled.

  130. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    And I’m beginning to think…space

    My dad thought so back in 1970.

  131. roamingfirehydrant March 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Dick, you know I am a scientist (well, an engineer, close enough). I’ve seen some of the research. They could harvest fetal stem cells from umbilical cord blood, but they don’t. Why?

  132. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    It sucks to give up something you love.

    Tell me about it…

    *shakes fist at Lent*

  133. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    The placenta is better from what I understand. There’s a keyword that I need to pry from Kelly’s mind (molecular biologist) and I honestly don’t know it.

    http://sweetness-light.com/archive/scientists-create-fetal-stem-cells-without-killing-embryo

  134. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    In other news, Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!
    They should throw rocks at his sorry ass.
    http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2011/03/bart-stupak-a-year-after-health-care-getting-bitched-out-in-airports-how-the-deal-went-down-and-more/72938/

  135. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 24, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    “[T]he main reason for Detroit’s decline is the greed of the industry’s main union, the UAW, which priced the Big Three out of the market.”

    DUH! And I had a front row seat for most of that tragic decline and fall. But you still can’t tell the people responsible, because their opinion is still “GM owes me!”.

  136. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Wow…. April 24th looks like it’s years from now.

  137. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    The perfect reason dumb asses should stay out of the jungle.

    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=d4a_1300965225

  138. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Oh yeah, fuck lawyers. They wouldn’t know “justice” if it jumped up and bite them in the ass.

    Justice is a little bird that chirps in the morning sunshine. And the truth doesn’t matter one whit in the courtroom. It simply comes down to what you can prove, as I was reminded in court today.

    The tragedy is not that attorney’s don’t recognize justice. They do. The problem is that the courts continually make it harder to obtain it.

    The whole idea of a civil trial is to provide a medium to settle disputes based on a system that provides a preductable result (that’s the whole point of statutes and caselaw, is to be able to say “If x and y are the facts, then according to the law, the result should be z”)
    The problem is that we ask the courts to do so much more than they are equipped to do. When I was a small child, you could still believe in the myth of a general practioner, and we could impose the requirement of so many years in practice as a general practioner before you were elligible to put on the black robe. In many places, that is no longer true, but we still expect judges to hear all manner of cases, so you could have a judge who was an labor law attorney before the bench now hearing familiy law cases, commercial law cases, and criminal cases, even though their last brush with the subject matter was decades earlier when they were in law school. I think this does justice a HUGE disservice.

    Add to it the fact that there are an exponentially greater number of cases working through the courts, straining judicial resources, and in states like Washingtonistan, the state takes the speedy trial rule for criminal defendants very seriously, so if there is a spike in criminal arrests and charges, civil cases get pushed to the side, even if they have been scheduled for months. I had one commercial case delayed four separate times (3 to 6 months every time) before it was heard. After the 2nd time, you’re gonna have trouble with having your witnesses available. You’re clients are going to get pissed because they are never getting their day in court, and that’s after you get over every hurdle put in your way these days by court rules that are designed to prevent you from actually getting in front of a judge.

    It’s very difficult for me to tell some clients that they have to hold on and not persue “self help remedies” when these things drag out for YEARS.

    As you can see Chief, I’m NOT happy about these issues. I flat out despise at least a third of the court rules, and view at least another third as a waste of time. Unfortunately, I see no answer other than splitting the courts into different jurisdictions, then adequately funding and staffing them, which you and I both know is NOT about to happen. Especially in this economy. It frustrates the Hell out of me, but at the same time, I have bills and have to make a living, so I do the best I can for my clients, and will continue to do so until I get that paying gig that makes my life an endless train of gravy.

  139. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Dick, that Stupak story made me laugh and laugh… 😀

  140. Dick March 24, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Aggie, I hope that sorry fucker pays until the day he dies, and then I hope he burns in Hell.

  141. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Excellent comment, BisW. we tend to forget how judges are pretty much thrown into a job without training wheels.

  142. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    BiW – I empathize with your concerns. Tort reform would go a long way in reducing the ridiculous case loads that you spoke about, non? And yet, the Trial Lawyers Association spends millions, annually, to defeat commonsense reform, both nationally and in individual states.

  143. Dick March 24, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Chief, did ya see that sailor got killed on the deck of the Enterprise?

  144. MCPO Airdale March 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Dick – Yeah. Pretty unusual in this day and age. I’ve been looking for the particulars, but nothing yet. I will wait until they release the JAGMan investigation results I guess.

  145. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 24, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    BiW – I empathize with your concerns. Tort reform would go a long way in reducing the ridiculous case loads that you spoke about, non?

    I’m not sure that’s true, at least around here. I recall that the local superior court did an analysis a few years back of the caseload, and torts didn’t dominate. In my experience, many of the tort cases don’t go to trial…at least here. Many of them get settled because insurance companies can see where the issues of fault lie, and would rather make a settlement than lose at trial. The tort cases that do go to trial are fairly complex, and have quite a bit for judges and juries to decide.

    Here in Pierce County, the Criminal caseload is primarily what effects all other cases. And in the remaining cases, there is a pecking order, with family law and probate/guardianship calendars coming next because either you want to get the divorces done to keep the domestic violence calendar as small as possible, or because guardianships have to be reviewed and accountings submitted annually, and when they don’t, BAD THINGS HAPPEN™, like money disappears, and the dependent get state aid/more state aid.

    And yet, the Trial Lawyers Association spends millions, annually, to defeat commonsense reform, both nationally and in individual states.

    I can agree with that in principal (and I don’t consider myself a trial lawyer…I’m a transactional lawyer who tries cases when doing so becomes unavoidable), but the damage caps that are often proposed are often presented as a one-size-fits-all remedy.

    An example? The anestesiologist for your surgery fucks up, and you end up unable to speak, unable to eat without drooling everywhere, and you can’t carry a coherent conversation if it is nailed to your back.

    This is not the same value in damages based on different victims.

    Victim one the guy in his fifties who is the janitor at the local manufacturing plant and is close to retirement age.

    Victim two is the high school honors student who just scored the full ride scholarship to MIT to study nuclear physics.

    Victim three is the married mother of three children aged 3,7 and 12. She used to work to contribute to the household, and now is only able to accept work as a doorstop.

    Do you think that the damages for the same injury are the same for each of these people? Do you think that they are the only people who have lost something that can be attributed to the injury?

    And if we develop a cap system that takes into account the fact that these injuries may be worth more to different people, what do you think that matrix looks like? (Hint, have you ever looked at the federal sentancing guidlines? “letssee….second felony, ok, you had a gun, so that is an agrivating factor adding 16 months here, and you did this on a Tuesday, so that’s another 18 months…)

    If it is going to recognize the difference in damages, its going to be more complicated, not less. And if it doesn’t recognize that difference in damages, is it justice?

    I ain’t Solomon. I don’t have the answer, but I’m not sure that the proposal is the right answer either.

  146. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere March 24, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    Off to Heir No. Two’s birthday party.

  147. Dick March 24, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    Heh… You just know Charlie’s wandering around with a permanent boner once he heard about this.

    http://gizmodo.com/#!5785522/air-force-names-its-death-machines-after-charlie-sheen-and-battlestar-galactica

  148. LC Aggie Sith March 24, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    LMAO, Dick!!!

  149. PattyAnn March 24, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Funny, but I hate to think C.S. will think they are rewarding him.

  150. Dick March 24, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    PA, that’s the Air Farce having a sense of humor.

Comments are closed.

